We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Novotel.KK”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Klagan Regency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Klagan Regency
Ranked #56 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    288
    207
    94
    60
See reviews for
205
193
55
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2013

A bit far away from the KK city, you can take free shuttle provided by the 1Borneo Mall, but need advance booking as the bus is always full. Breakfast is okay but coffee is bad. No wifi at room and the cable internet sucks...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ricky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Ricky T

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback.

First and foremost thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to bring this issues to our attention. Your comments are very constructive and we will surely work on areas that needs immediate improvement.

Again we truly appreciate your feedback and we do hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
126 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and here are my main concerns regarding this place : location is not good, it s located 20 minutes from the city center next to a big shopping mall Borneo1. The rooms are small, not perfectly clean and our bed was not well done. The room was old and the bed linen were poor quality (you sweat at night) not to mention that the bed itself was not comfortable. The breakfast is not good and for those who want to enjoy the fitness center you have to go to a gym club in the mall, that can be used from 10 am ... as an accor club member, i was very disapointed and if i was from accor hq, i would close it or at least make some seriou renovations. Last but not least,the swimming pool is just a hole in a rooftop, they could at least paint the floor in white to make it look better...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyCParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear BabyCParis,

First and foremost thank you for staying with us recently.

Thank you for taking the time to bring this issues to our attention. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve the quality of our products and services to better meet the needs of our guests.

Again we truly appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We are a family of 4, kids age 5 & 8, Americans who live in KK. We wanted something nice for Christmas Eve and found this buffet info online. It was lovely. The decorations glowed, the staff were friendly & attentive, and the food was great. Variety, quality, presentation, all were lovely.

We have also stayed at this hotel, and enjoyed it a lot. The rooftop pool, while chilly, is designed to be both chic and fun. The staff are great, and the rooms are fine-to-above-average for a luxury type of hotel. The rooms vary greatly in size.

The one issue is that the "free" parking they offer is nearly impossible to use, and parking overnight gets costly. To use the parking, you have to park illegally to go get the parking pass, convince a staff member to ride with you (going the wrong way down a ramp) to get to the right area, and then do it again to return the parking pass after check-out. And they only have a few passes anyways. It's crazy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Greetings Wendofish!

Thank you very much for the high rating of the hotel and wonderful compliments, happy to know that you've enjoyed our Christmas Eve Buffet Dinner and the swimming pool at our rooftop. It is always encouraging as our guests’ satisfaction is our primary concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo in the very near future and in the meantime, if we may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for 4 night.

Location: a bit far away from downtown and ~30min ride by a cab (30 MYR) is expected. Shuttle bus services available but it is always full so be prepared to take a cab. Connected to the 1 borneo hypermall which is large with large varieties of food choices and shops.

Services: just so-so. Staff are not pro-active.

Room: spacious room and comfortable bed though in room facilities are a bit wear out. Generally clean. Room are serviced daily but may be in a rush as towels are not refilled one time. In room wifi is not available but free LAN connection so a small travel routet will solve the problem, or else you have to go to hotel lobby with free wifi available.

Breakfast: average breakfast choice but nothing special. I suggest those without breakfast in their room package to have breakfast elsewhere.

Swimming pool: pool is large but dirty with turbid water.

Conclusion: average service and room for a short stay

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear hkdrjack,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review.

I personally do take your comments in regards to service and swimming pool and will take action in regards to our customer attention, I sincerely apologise on behalf of the team. The quality you experienced does in no way reflected our usual high level of service.

Again thank you for your patronage and do let us know should you require any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I didn't expected much as it was the National Holiday in Malaysia and it's not easy to find a room. It's right next to the largest mall in Borneo, so I guess it's a great location for them but it's not the best for other travelers who want to explore the tourist KK. The reception was very slow. I was there earlier, at 1100, the check in time was 1400. So I agreed to just return at 1400. However, when I returned at 1400, the reception told me that there was no room and asked me to return 2 hours later. I refused as I saw another couples refused to go (for the same reason and they got the room shortly after). The room was just ok but I expect cleaner room (it seemed that the hotel was very busy and they cleaned the room in a rush). The breakfast was a joke. Go there only if it's included in your room price. The morning before I checked out, I asked the receptionist to please pre-book a taxi for me and she replied that I could just got one outside. I asked her because I saw a long queue outside and I was not quite sure about the taxi / taxi driver situation as I was new to the place, so I wanted to entrust the hotel to do so. I ended up waiting for 15 minutes outside the hotel. ok hotel with disappointing services (both the reception and the restaurant).

Room Tip: Don't pay for breakfast unless it's included in the room price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear T L,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review.

We sincerely apologised for the unpleasant experience. I have briefed the relevant departments to take action to improve and ensure that such incident does not repeat itself in the future. I share your frustation in regards to our customer attention and details.The quality you experiences does not reflect the usual high level of standards of Novotel.

We thank you for your patronage and should your require any assistance, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#67 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
354 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
304 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#48 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
413 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
420 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Regency

Property: The Klagan Regency
Address: Tb-00-01 | 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia (Formerly 1 Borneo Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Klagan Regency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 25-minute drive from the Kota Kinabalu International Airport, The Klagan Regency offers exceptional comfort and value in Kota Kinabalu. The hotel has direct access to 1Borneo Hypermall which houses a selection of over 300 shopping, leisure and dining outlets. The Klagan Regency is also an excellent venue for any events with the capacity to hold up to 1,800 persons. It's close proximity to many corporate and government offices as well as several tourist attractions in Kota Kinabalu, making this the preferred hotel for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Klagan Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Accor Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Novotel
The Klagan Regency Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing