We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel 20 minutes from city”
Review of The Klagan Regency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Klagan Regency
Ranked #56 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great hotel 20 minutes from city”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in a club room and were thrilled with the amenities.At first I was disappointed how far we were from city but after staying here I was very happy with the value. With the Hyper mall so close it was very convenient for shopping and food and with 2 teenagers this was great. We caught the complimentary shuttle from the complex to the city often but for our dive trips we had to be at the jetty before 9 and the shuttle starts at 10am. A cab fare was 20- 30 Ringgit often depending on the time or wetness of the passengers. This hotel had great breakfasts,great pool bar,Club benefits included complimentary non alcoholic drink and nibbles between 5-7, Staff were friendly and helpful and stored my luggage for 3 days while we were on a side trip.

Room Tip: Club rooms are great , research prices using asiarooms.com and lastminute and hotel website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank magnolia439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear magnolia439,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for choosing Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo as your accommodation and for sharing your review on our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and that the hotel was convenient for your family . We are also pleased to read that you appreciated the help and friendliness of our staff.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    289
    209
    94
    60
See reviews for
205
194
55
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is clean and modern.It is a luxurious hotel with a lot of activities.The cafe at the entrance is delicious too.
Overall I advise you to go to this hotel if you want to have an luxurious European style hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Libeccio16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Libeccio16,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for choosing Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo as your accommodation and for sharing your review on our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and we are very humbled by your compliments.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in a club room at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had researched the hotel prior to arriving and were happy we got value for our money.

Staff were attentive and helpful.
It was disappointing to be told the pool was closed but they have to maintain the pool at some time.

Probably will not be back to KK but I would stay there again if I were.

The shopping mall attached to the hotel is probably the best shopping in KK
Special mention for the barman at the club area who kept us entertained during our stay

Room Tip: Tell the staff if you are not happy with the room. They are very helpful and will accommodate if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cop21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear cop21,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for choosing Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo as your accommodation and for sharing your review on our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are also pleased to note that you appreciated the attentiveness and friendliness of our staff especially Zul at the lounge, he is one of our superstars.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed with family for 8 nights. Service was poor with no information in room or from front desk eg room service menu had to be asked for, only discovered gym facilities available at end of stay, pool closed for renovations, no information about additional english speaking TV stations even when asked (found out at end of stay that TV can be upgraded at no extra charge even after enquiring why we could only get Chinese soap operas on first day), only discovered free shuttle service to downtown KK 2 days before end, toilet not cleaned on daily basis, dvd player not working, electrical plugs hanging out the wall, wifi only in lobby, parking is on a look after yourself basis with paid parking only as part of the ajoining shopping centre. The hotel itself is falling apart and it is difficult to find a chair or square metre of carpet that is not stained, the linen had ironing burn marks. On the one positive mark the waiting staff in the retaurant at breakfast is very smiley and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Bill J,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction during your recent stay. We would like to take this opportunity to highlight that we were in the midst of updating the information in the room service menu and swimming pool were closed for maintenance works.

On behalf of Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, please accept our deepest apologies for the inconvenience caused during your visit. Nevertheless, we are pleased to note your compliments on our service staff at The Square restaurant.

Rest assured that we have taken serious note of your comments and we will emphasize on training in these specific areas. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve the quality of our products and services to better meet the needs of our guests.

We hope this experience will not alter your confidence in Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo and that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again. In the meantime, if we may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Saratok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The best hotel that I ever stay before. The room is suitable for solo or duo travellers. Near 1B shopping are and everything is easy to reached. Hotel staffs also friendly and all are smile since you enter into the hotel. I am sure that I am coming again soon.

Room Tip: You can call the directly to the hotel or book simply from booking.com or other websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waltergg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear waltergg,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for choosing Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo as your accommodation and for sharing your review on our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and that the hotel was convenient for your purposes. We are also pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness of service staff.

It is feedback such as yours that enables us to adjust and better serve our guests and meet their satisfaction.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The room is large and clean. The staff are helpful and nice, but it is really far from the KK city. Though there is a free shuttle bus travel from the hotel to the city, it takes around 15-20 mins for it. The location is not convenient. Our bathtub is broken which is a pity.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sen_maggie_ip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear sen_maggie_ip,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for choosing Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo as your accommodation and for sharing your review on our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had a good stay with us and that you appreciated the help and friendliness of our service staff. Your comments on the bath tub have been communicated to the relevant department for their immediate rectification.

It is feedback such as yours that enables us to adjust and better serve our guests and meet their satisfaction.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed there 2 nights. I'd been given the worst room possible as a solo female traveller. It was next to the swimming pool so people were able to see my room. I had to close the curtains all the time, so it was dark. The room was too small and the decoration was exactly like an office, nothing cosy. It was like sitting in a waiting room.
Staff was not helpful at all. I arrived the hotel by my car and nobody showed me where to park. I had to struggle in order to get a free parking card. Nobody informed me there is a shuttle bus to the city. They hardly speak a word of english.
Wifi is available only in the lobby area and hotel is very far from the city, attached to a big shoping mall. I wouldn't stay there again, no way.

Room Tip: Hire a car if you want to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetekAtes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear PetekAtes,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with our service and facility. On behalf of Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, please accept our deepest apologies for the inconvenience caused during your visit. We would like to take this opportunity to highlight that wifi connection is available in the lobby and F&B outlets, whereas broadband internet access is available in rooms.

It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve the quality of our products and services to better meet the needs of our guests.

We hope this experience will not alter your confidence in Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo and that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again. In the meantime, if we may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#65 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
360 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
312 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#42 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
228 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
#18 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
430 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Regency

Property: The Klagan Regency
Address: Tb-00-01 | 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia (Formerly 1 Borneo Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Klagan Regency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 25-minute drive from the Kota Kinabalu International Airport, The Klagan Regency offers exceptional comfort and value in Kota Kinabalu. The hotel has direct access to 1Borneo Hypermall which houses a selection of over 300 shopping, leisure and dining outlets. The Klagan Regency is also an excellent venue for any events with the capacity to hold up to 1,800 persons. It's close proximity to many corporate and government offices as well as several tourist attractions in Kota Kinabalu, making this the preferred hotel for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Klagan Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Accor Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Novotel
The Klagan Regency Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing