We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the bus station to Mt. Kinabalu!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borneo Adventure Centre & Lodge
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Near the bus station to Mt. Kinabalu!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The room is clean and safe yet the reception area is dusty. Wifi at the lobby is good, no wifi in the room but its okay since the price is cheap. And its near sedco square where the seafoods are flooding. And the best part, its near the bus station to Mt. Kinabalu...just few steps away. But when I visit KK again, I will definitely not staying here. I will find other place to stay, there are lots of choices near the area...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dysanregidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Losheim am See, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

if you need a room for your own for a night, this lodge is a real good choice. cheap and clean, spacious rooms, friendly staff.local tv in the room and a cheap local restaurant downstairs. located in a quieter part of kota kinabalu next to the local bus and taxi stand. no music or other annoying sounds at night like in other parts of the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannesdewald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Basic but clean rooms at a nice location in K.K., about 10 minutes walk to the night market. The big plus of this hotel is it's staff; very friendly and helpful. We stayed there twice and both occasions were very enjoyable. Very good (and free) Wifi.

Room Tip: Ask Lilly for the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloem17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

This hostel is fairly priced, but you don't get too much of an experience out of it. It's shared area is spacious and includes a large table, tv, reception, slow computer and a view on the neighbourhood. The rooms are accesible by electronical keys (1 per room, not so convenient). At the time of booking, this hostel seemed to be the best option pricewise for private rooms with bathroom in this town. In the six days we've been here we saw 4 cockroaches in the building . This sounds bad, but is actually quite good considering the circumstances (old building, humid). The neighbourhood is on Kota Kinabalu standards on the rough side, but it never gets real dangerous or even unfriendly. 5 minutes walk to the boulevard. This hostel is an option if other more recommended ones are fully booked.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vloepk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2009

The real adventure started once we reached Borneo Adventure Centre & Lodge in Kota Kinabalu!

At the reception desk, we noticed, for 24hrs AC (which is a necessity given the intense humid and hot climate there), we would have to pay extra! They only provided AC for 12hrs from 6 in the evening till morning 6! When we told them, that this was not mentioned in the website (Hostelbookers) through whom we had booked, we were rudely replied that they were not responsible if Hostelbookers did not update information, and hence not their problem!!
We wanted to talk to the owner, hearing which they said, they did not know where he was, only to tell just a little later that he was out of town!
Next came the shocker..
BED BUGS!
Though the room was okay and clean, I was royally bitten by bugs and needless to mention, could not catch a wink the whole night!
Next morning, I told them so, they had never heard something like this (bugs complain) before!
We obviously shifted to another room, and this time luckily did not find any more intruders!
Overall our stay has indeed been a memorable one here, and I definitely do not intend to recommend it to anybody who is likely to be going to Kota Kinabalu!
We are not 'fussy travellers'..but this one has been one big disappointment!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tora22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Brilliant hostel, very clean, spacious, good A/C and above all...the staff were very helpful and friendly. Central location by a night market. Although it's perfectly safe the neighbourhood is a bit rough.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The neighbourhood
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Wah May Hotel
Wah May Hotel
#72 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#16 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Park Lodge
City Park Lodge
#59 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Check Inn KK
Check Inn KK
#42 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
4 reviews
0.4 mi away
Refarer Hostel
Refarer Hostel
#12 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
PODs The Backpackers Home
PODs The Backpackers Home
#6 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Adventure Centre & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Adventure Centre & Lodge

Property: Borneo Adventure Centre & Lodge
Address: 1 Lorong 1 Tingkat | Jalan Hj Yaakub Kg Air, Kota Kinabalu 88805, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Borneo Adventure Centre & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Adventure Centre And Lodge
Borneo Adventure Centre Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Borneo Adventure Centre & Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing