We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Port View Seafood Village
Ranked #187 of 567 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
BINTULU
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Love the seafood but quite overpriced - the service is good from the local waiter & waitresses. Attentive. Not really like the atmosphere, a bit dirty.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NURY888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    42
    30
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
218 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
“Not the best choice in town”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I have eaten at this restaurant a few times in the years since 2008. Its location, size and prominent lighted signage make it look respectable. A few sad dining experiences there tell you otherwise. Staff are listless, slow and sometimes even surly. The seafood choices, while often fresh or even live, are not nicely prepared. Prices are high and the atmosphere is something like a noisy messhall. Nearby Ocean Village Seafood is much better. Port View is best avoided, particularly given the panoply of dining choices in downtown KK. And if you are after Malay cusinine, don't limit yourself to restaurants on the promenade: look a block or two into town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank csundseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Avoidable”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Patronised this restaurant because it was on the boardwalk and assumed it would have been good. The menu details the dishes cooked using frozen seafood but no mention is made of dishes using fresh seafood. Tried the chilli prawns( frozen) and was recommended the fresh local fish steamed. The former tasted like rubber and the latter while cooked well was extremely over priced . This venue has a food court type of atmosphere and should be classified as such

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

One of the better restaurants in town if you want fresh seafood. Went there first week of January and it took about 25 mins before the food was served. Staff was very attentive and the service is great. So much talk about the soft shell crab but we did not really enjoy the dish, however everything else is tasty enough. People commonly say that Seafood is cheap in KK but this is not so applicable anymore.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seria, Brunei Darussalam
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh seafood, pricey, disappointing”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We were very much looking forward to a live seafood dinner. Normally we would go to ocean seafood, where we have enjoyed a very nice dinner at different occasions. Unfortunately ocean seafood was closed, and we tried the nearbyport view seafood restaurent.
We ordered from the live seafood tanks lobster, clams and fish. Lobster was cooked with buttermilk and remaining parts were served in miso soup. The dish was ok, but missed inspiration and more intricate flavours. The clams were ordered with black bean sauce but seem to be cooked in standard hoi sin sauce, too salty and overpowering. The fish was steamed but was missing the normal ingredients, good light soy, ginger, and some more. It was swimming in a watery pool of soy and was missing taste. The simp,e accompanying dishes, fried rice, fried glass noodles and sabah veggie with belacan were lacking taste as well. They restaurent had a ok wine selection. Wine remains expensive in malaysia. The overall experience, paying a whacking bill of 900 rm, live seafood being badly cooked and served at a very high price. We should have checked references before we went. We will certainly not return, or recommend the restaurent to others. Upon our complaints we were simply told that this is the way it is being cooked. The restaurent can simply not stand up against its competition in kk, let alone the live seafood restaurents in kl.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port View Seafood Village also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Port View Seafood Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing