We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sure will consider other property in the chain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #26 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sure will consider other property in the chain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Nothing much to expect when you paid on Less than MYR 50 for 2 night stay BUT is a wow when mall is easily accessible for food, shopping is just 5 min walk from the Hotel itself. Staff have a big smile although is just a budget hotel. Convenient store just next to the reception. Drinking water dispenser also located in the hotel lobby itself.

Just the entrance to room in 2nd and 3rd floor located in a real strange place .... Public Toilet ...OMG

Room Tip: Choose room same row with 232 . Nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvinthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tune Hotels and for the review.

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and we look forward to welcome at our other properties

See you again.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    177
    119
    42
    26
See reviews for
90
107
68
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We booked for one night because of the location in 1 borneo shopping complex. We stayed in room 225 for only the 1 night thank goodness. I have no complaints about the size of the room it is very small, I was prepared for this and that is not an issue - the sheets were clean and the bed relatively comfortable. That is it. The window didn't close properly the plaster was coming of the wall and was what appeared to be moldy. The bathroom wasn't really very clean lots of mold. Check in was OK but the keycard didn't work when we went up to the room so I had to go all the way back down to reception. No real apology got a new card. Was extremely tired by this time. The room was not nice, patched holes in the walls not very clean. Yes it was convenient and cheap but I wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Check your room - apparently there are "good" ones but ours was not. It is noisy at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbughasbitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize for all the shortcomings you have experienced during your recent stay.

Your feedback has been brought to the attention of the hotel manager who will be rectifying all the areas you have pointed out in room 225.

We hope to have to opportunity to welcome you back and provide better service.

Thank you for highlighting this to us.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

I had stayed in tune hotel KK for 6 days 5 nights and the price was reasonable. But I have one thing to highlight about my room 116. The drainage system in room 116 really needs to fix it immediately. The bathroom was flooding whenever I took a shower. Hope the management can fix it soon.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Desmond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayan Lepas, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Pro :
Near to 1Borneo
Short drive to KK town, and cheaper a lot compare to KK Town Hotels
Clean
Convenience

Con :
Lack of car park (very expensive if park in 1 Borneo)
Path way to the hotel room might not be very secure

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabricaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandakan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

I choose Tune Hotels because it is attached with 1 borneo shopping mall. Well, we do not have to move a lots in finding restaurants and entertainment. You can cut cost for your nights, and spend more with your shopping and having fun to the nearest islands.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We are happy to find that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

I choose to stay at Tune Hotels whenever I visit Kota Kinabalu because it is within 1Borneo Shopping Mall, East Malaysia's largest shopping, dining & lifestyle mall. So it is easy to shop, dine and find public transports. There is a 24 hour 7-Eleven convenient shop and a tour desk in the lobby. The rooms with windows are more comfortable. Even though the beds and bathrooms are clean but the housekeeping and room service are quite poor. They did not cleaned our rooms for about two days as we stayed here for 6 days and 5 nights. Some of the cloth hangers are missing and one of the air cons in our rooms was not in good condition.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sainfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed here for 11 nights so have a good account of our stay here.
When you book a tune hotel stay, it is stated clearly everywhere that most things are extra so we had a good idea of what we were getting for our money.

Really for the price its not that bad, sure the décor is a bit patchy and the aircon is not really that efficient but we found that if you have the aircon and the fan on at full blast it does bring the temperature down to tolerable levels within 10-15 mins.
The hallways on the other hand are really quite stuffy with no ventilation whatsoever.

We found the housekeeping ok doing their work at reasonable hours, i.e in the afternoon when we were out, not knocking at the door in the mornings. They were also reasonably competent, refilling anything that was needed and quite clean.

Remember you are paying near backpacking prices here so please adjust your expectations and you will just be fine. If you are expecting Hilton hotel quality please do look elsewhere and extend your budget to match.

The staff at the lobby are great, nothing is too much of a problem for them.
We just asked what we needed and always received a informed answer.
Dave at the front desk is a mountain of local knowledge and always has a smile for you and has loads of tips on the buses and where to eat.

We thought the position of this hotel to be great . You don't even need to walk outside to go to the mall it is interconnected to the hotel and here you will find everything you need from a food court to a cinema, even a supermarket and all the shopping you will ever need.

If you need to go to kk all you need to do is walk over the flyover and catch a bus. All it costs Is 1rm per person and there is a bus every five minutes . Just remember where you got off and when you need to get back just catch the return bus from the opposite side. Easy

We found doing this saved a lot of money over taxis which is pretty much of a ripoff.
I'm sure everyone who uses tripadvisor is savvy enough to do their planning before they come and not adverse to a bit of travelling by bus.

The big downside is there is a disco beside the lobby at the hotel and the music IS pretty loud. We stayed on the top floor and could hear it quite clearly so god knows what's it like on the first floor. So ask for the highest floor you can get.

There is also a tour rep at the lobby and the prices for excursions are in line with everywhere else. But they do transfers to the airport which is cheaper than getting a taxi that also seats six or seven. I don't know if they do pickups but if they do and you have a big family maybe it is an idea to phone up to ask to save on getting two taxis from the airport to the hotel.

All on all , a hotel that is thoroughly in line with my expectations to what I paid for.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hamish88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#62 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#79 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
#35 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#48 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
6.0 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#22 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Property: Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Address: G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall | Jalan Sulaman, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing