We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #22 of 89 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Bayan Lepas, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

It's a good choice for budget travel. I booked the room online and it only costed me about USD10 including the towel and air-con. The room is pretty small but it is very reasonable for this price. It is located beside a big shopping mall so it is very convenient to get food, entertainment or shopping. However, it would be costly if you are travelling by car or have rented a car as the car park fees around this hotel is quite expensive. Make sure you check with reception on how to avoid the costly car park fees.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jyshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Comfortable bed and power shower makes Tune is a charm for the ones looking for good value for money.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We wish to receive you again amongst us for another amazing experience.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    172
    118
    40
    25
See reviews for
87
107
67
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Tune hotel is a good choice for a short trip. The price is reasonable , stay is nice . Besides the location is inside a shopping mall . Is easy to shop eat and relax . There is room service everyday and you get easily Get to town area. There is free shuttle bus to town.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joycelexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, null, Brunei
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Small room but big enough for 2 persons. No breakfast provided. You must 'buy' the amenities. Check their website for more info. By the way, to buy the amnesties, 24 hours does not mean, per day. So, depending on how much you will stay at the hotel, do not buy the aircond for more than 24 hours. (I bought the 24 hours package, and I had 4 hours extra because I did not spend most of my time at the hotel). If you wanna save budget and save cost, don't buy the TV service. (I'm sure you can spend a day or two without TV, right? :p)

It is located in a building of One Borneo Shopping Mall in which it is easier for you to shop. 24 hours convenient stores are available. They provide airport transfer in which you can discuss about it with them. Check in is fast and staffs are nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nurul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi There,

Our rooms are space-challenged but they're impeccably clean and perfectly adequate as "crash pads"

Our location is normally a strong positive for our guests. As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics, a 5-star bed and hot showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly. Thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
De Silva- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

travel at ease without haste.It is a wonderful place to relax here,food and transport are convenient.Shopping too for those who like shopping.The people here are friendly ,helpful and they will give their peace of mind if seek.Young, and energetic people can go mountain climbing,go by speed boat to visit islands,to see the fish, coral and the sea creatures, can go swimming and diving and scubaing.Sea food are reasonably charged for those who like sea food.Plenty of handicraft to buy as souvenir.

Room Tip: room with facing the main road and with a twin bed on 2nd and third floor so that it is less noisy e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimguan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi There,

hank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Tune is a charm for the ones looking for good value for money. We take pride in providing the 3c's ; comfort, cleanliness, and convenience.

Thank you very much for sharing with us about your stay experience and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon

Thank you.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The front office staffs were very polite, friendly and helpful and ever ready to assist me with my needs. One particular guy was exceptionally good with his PR. I did complement him for it.
The room was very clean with clean bedsheets and a nice washroom with hot water. Have nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edwcecil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay.

Compliments are always wonderful; it precisely makes us motivated to be acknowledged while we take great effort in seeing into each and every need of our guests.

We are glad in making your stay a pleasant experience.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

房間乾淨.涼爽.床很好睡.免費的巴士也很方便.(不過一小時只有一班車).酒店旁的百貨個人覺得比市區的百貨好逛.超市採買用品.水.也便宜.超市販售新鮮切好的水果也比市區便宜.冷氣又涼快.逛累了.隨時可回房間休息.或是放東西.適合輕鬆的渡個小假
不過吃東西還是市區比較多特色小吃.The room was clean and cool and a good bed to sleep is also very convenient free bus (but only one train). Department store next to the hotel personally feel that visiting the department of urban supermarket to buy supplies water cheap ultra-sold fresh cut fruit is also cheaper than in urban areas and cool air conditioning. feet get tired at any time back to the room to rest. put things for a relaxing crossing a small false
But eat more urban characteristics snacks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mama0939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Cheap & simple, room small but clean. RM 90 queen size comfortable bed with window but no view. Located in 1 Borneo shopping mall with cinema, about 7 km from city, from city to 1 Borneo rm 30, to airport 15 km, by taxi rm 50.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christinaang64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us as a preferred choice for stay.

Am pleased to read your appraisal of our hotel and certainly my team would be happy to know that they have made your stay a pleasant one.

Once again, thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
5.1 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#39 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#19 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#53 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Switz Paradise Hotel
Switz Paradise Hotel
#67 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#80 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
6.0 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#21 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Property: Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Address: G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall | Jalan Sulaman, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing