We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Yaho(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Grand Borneo Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
The Klagan Regency(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveler rating
93
183
123
45
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
183
123
45
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar pricepower showerunder one rooflargest mallcomfortable bedother hotelscomfortable stayhypermalltoiletriesdryer
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 471 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

As for 1st night, i sleep in room with fan and without window only and can feel the cooling conditions. On 2nd night, I did not take the air-cond add on so I request for room with window but ended it's very hot air coming in the room. Bed are extremely nice & all are clean but some of the lights are not working well. However, the entrance door can be enter using our room key when other guest enter, they left the door open wide and here, no security are around the clock as on the outside part, it's so quiet and in the dark (on night) and no security is on guard 24hrs, quite scary and no safety environment. Hotel should provide cheap transport special for traveller from airport to hotel as it's very faraway.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BumiLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Tune is a charm for the ones looking for good value for money. We take pride in providing the 3c's ; comfort, cleanliness, and convenience. We want our guests to enjoy our 5 star beds, the soothingly powerful shower.

We have always endeavoured to provide the best within our service concept and fulfilling our promise of wonderful slumber experience.

Thank you very much for choosing us and we greatly value your continuous support

Warm Regards,
Sharon De Silva- Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at Tune Hotels 1 Borneo, Kota Kinabalu: they always smile and be patient . Good efficient work.Safe environment.
Downstairs is a big wisma .good to eat and shop.
But it is far away downtown.if you want to nightmaket.maybe you can take shuttle bus ,it is free charge .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

PLUS Side:
It meets Tune Hotel concept we read from the website:

1) 5-star beds - YES
2) Power showers - YES - but shower drain possibly blocked. Shower room flooded after few minutes in use.
3) Central & convenient locations - YES
4) Clean environment - YES - but a bit run down and crack on the wall visible here n there.
5) 24-hour security - At midnite yes. Not sure during the day.

Improvement Side:
1) Air cond leaking all the way (although there is a sticker not to put any electronics there in case there's any leakage) but there's also a socket underneath it where we'd probably want to charge handphone etc?
2) Air cond spits out ice.
3) I'd probably skip the tv and breakfast add on next time :)


All in all, i'd say, it's a good stay due to strategic location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keyboardhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

We have adopted a minimalistic approach throughout our hotels worldwide. Providing the basics; bed and shower.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Tune Hotels requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay. Our concept and pricing typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.

Thank you for tuning in and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Do not stay here if you drive as parking fees can cost you a lot more. It is RM6 per entry so if you travel in and out 3 to 4 times a day, that you have to prepare to pay RM20++ for parking fee. Hotel does not provide parking lot as it is budget hotel, they do not expect their guest can afford to drive.
Room a/c not cool even thought after numerous complains. No hot water facilities so if you are bringing families, be ready to get yourself a electric kettle.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericlew1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review

Tune Hotels requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay.

For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, tea and coffee, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price. The benefit of this efficiency is passed on to the consumer providing excellent value for money and low prices. As such this explains why car parking facilities are not part of the Tune model.

The Tune Hotels proposition appeals to a very broad set of customers and is particularly targeted at the value-conscious consumer which is a growing segment of the market.

This compares favourably with the rates at other budget hotel brands and reflects in large part the impact of the space and cost efficiency of the Tune concept.

Again, we are sorry that we missed the mark on your stay and we truly hope for the opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.

Warm Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Guests are at liberty to choose facilities and services needed according to their wishes and choices. Those who , like me, are advised not to get exposed to air conditioning could opt it out and save physical discomfort and room charges.
Those who like to use their own towels can also opt out towels provided by the hotel.
Those who do not care about TV could do the same. Those who could use their wifi elsewhere can make their own choice.
The hotel is 5 km from downtown but 1 Borneo provides free shuttle service.
Try to make use of promotion offers or offers made for loyal long term guests.

Room Tip: Choose a room with window but the downside is you had better have air conditioning so that the window is closed to keep away from traffic.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pierrehsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews