We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here if you drive!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #28 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not stay here if you drive!!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Do not stay here if you drive as parking fees can cost you a lot more. It is RM6 per entry so if you travel in and out 3 to 4 times a day, that you have to prepare to pay RM20++ for parking fee. Hotel does not provide parking lot as it is budget hotel, they do not expect their guest can afford to drive.
Room a/c not cool even thought after numerous complains. No hot water facilities so if you are bringing families, be ready to get yourself a electric kettle.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericlew1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review

Tune Hotels requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay.

For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, tea and coffee, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price. The benefit of this efficiency is passed on to the consumer providing excellent value for money and low prices. As such this explains why car parking facilities are not part of the Tune model.

The Tune Hotels proposition appeals to a very broad set of customers and is particularly targeted at the value-conscious consumer which is a growing segment of the market.

This compares favourably with the rates at other budget hotel brands and reflects in large part the impact of the space and cost efficiency of the Tune concept.

Again, we are sorry that we missed the mark on your stay and we truly hope for the opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.

Warm Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    177
    119
    43
    26
See reviews for
90
107
68
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Guests are at liberty to choose facilities and services needed according to their wishes and choices. Those who , like me, are advised not to get exposed to air conditioning could opt it out and save physical discomfort and room charges.
Those who like to use their own towels can also opt out towels provided by the hotel.
Those who do not care about TV could do the same. Those who could use their wifi elsewhere can make their own choice.
The hotel is 5 km from downtown but 1 Borneo provides free shuttle service.
Try to make use of promotion offers or offers made for loyal long term guests.

Room Tip: Choose a room with window but the downside is you had better have air conditioning so that the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pierrehsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I booked 3 double n 1 single room. Didn't specify which was single room upon check in. Then later realized there were no towels in the rooms even though its paid for. Had to call via handphone and they said they forgot to give upon checking in. Then later we realized that they gave us 1 towel shirt but we were made to pay for it.. Double room at rm94 could have been spent in a normal 3 star hotel !! Disappointed!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjachua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi There,

Thanks for staying with us. and for the review.

Reviews like yours help us determine our standards and continuously deliver superior service at great value.

I have picked up some of the areas that are in need for improvements and assure you that we’ll work on ensuring the needful is carried out soon.

We hope to be perfectly equipped in making your stay a pleasant experience the next time you come by.

See you soon.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

i bought my flight with air asia and book this hotel for my very first research or field work but a short trip. coming from the KKIA, was very scenic. blues ocean that i could see. i had no idea it was so far out of town.

the place was wonderful, i had a tv, room with a city view but no beach as i was on a budget. they provide guest with a shuttle down to warisan square. it was safe and the crew was great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivienateng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Tune is a charm for the ones looking for good value for money. We take pride in providing the 3c's ; comfort, cleanliness, and convenience. We want our guests to enjoy our 5 star beds, the soothingly powerful shower for a relaxing treat and our dedicated housekeeping team works their magic in ensuring rooms are clean and comfortable at all time

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We wish to receive you again amongst us for another amazing experience.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I love it!!!

Few times I stayed at Tune... Feels like home already!!!!

Good Hotel.. Cheap & affordable. But feels like 5 Star Bed.

Really close to Shopping Mall, Starbucks, GSC & easy to find cheap food.
Free Shuttle bus also available. That best!!! Easy to go to town area & to Jesselton point - Islands.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

That was my second Tune, after the Johor Bahru. It was quite surprise how different Tune hotels could be. Quite old building, ants and small cockroaches in bathroom common for that building. The rooms dated and required uplifting. We moved from one room where was a lot of ants to another big one. It was good room. The inside entrance beside toilet entrance. You will be able to see a lot of dated corridors on second floor before Tune entrance.
1 Borneo mall is a nice place to be and has a lot of utilities, food-courts, etc.

What was good:
1) Bed
2) Very Very nice view from two nice windows
3) A lot of space in our second room
4) Safe
5) Staff
6) Shower
7) Free transportation to the city and back

What was not very good:
1) Rooms required some uplifting
2) Small ants and cockroaches in bathroom
3) Very strange entrance

Room Tip: Ask for room in front with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DmitryP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for review

All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments. I have picked up some of the areas that are in need for improvements and assure you that we’ll work on them soon.

I’m glad you enjoyed other parts of the stay, looking forward with you staying with us soon

Have a pleasant day.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
228 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

More spacious as expected, although you need to spend time to and from town centre, you have free shuttle every hour. The price of the day tours quoted by the travel agencies in town centre is better than the Extra travel company at the corner opposite to the convenience store of the hotel. Yet you can arrange for transport there to and from town centre if you want to go somewhere else other than Warison Square and we also arrange for transfer service to the airport. Even if you don't go to town centre, you will still get everything you need at 1Borneo. The room we booked is RM48 a night with air-con that is extremely reasonable. Shower not so powerful but still acceptable. Only there were strange noises at night which was annoying and it was a pity that directions of the air from the air-con could not be adjusted.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosaHongKong_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#66 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
6.1 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#27 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#79 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
7.2 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
#39 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Property: Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Address: G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall | Jalan Sulaman, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing