We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #27 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

its good,can have lower room rate and good for an average hotel,,,if you want the best just go to 5 star hotel but if you want to have an average hotel yes tune hotel is your hotel,,,see you soon on my next holiday,,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    177
    118
    43
    26
See reviews for
90
107
68
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Stay away-it will ruin your stay in Kota Kintabalu. Much better to stay in the centre of the town at the same price. The hotell will also charge you for nights you haven't spent, if you have reserved room.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Olavhetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Tune Hotels requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay.

For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, tea and coffee and hairdryers, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price. The benefit of this efficiency is passed on to the consumer providing excellent value for money and low prices.

Apologies for the inconveniences you have encountered.

Considering the progress and dedication our hotel team has displayed over the past; our team works very hard to connect with all of our guests and provide the best within the limited service concept.

In any case we apologize sincerely for this unpleasantness marring your stay - Thank you.

Regards,
Sharon- Cus Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

butterworth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

It can be ridiculously noisy, as if you haven't closed your door. Good thing we brought earplugs, although they were actually intended for the flights. The hallway is tiled, not carpeted, and even shoe walking noise is very loud and intrusive. Crying kids and babies are another thing, although its not their fault.

The elevators are in a darkroom, lights not working, far away from check-in desk back in the mall. Weird. No parking either, had to pay for the mall parking.

We did not expect 5 star quality as we just want to sleep before continuing our discovery of the city. Probably should have paid a bit more and get a better place for better sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boogiemk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments.

If you consider returning please do not hesitate to let us know that you prefer a quieter room and we will work you to make sure your needs are met. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arau, Perlis, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

A comfortable stay, with option to shopping inside the hotel compund and outside. Free shuttle service to town centre and come back. I'm glad because of my early booking through the net. It cost me not more than RM 500 for 3 days and 2 nights stay with a trip to Kinabalu Park, Kundasang and Poring Hotspring. Also expereience the canopy walk. Tired and exhausted but so much fun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Fathil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review .I am happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly.

Compliments are always wonderful; it makes us motivated to be acknowledged while we take great effort in seeing into each and every need of our guests.

I am glad that we have met your expectations; making your stay a warmly memorable experience.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

It is a cheap place that is worth paying for if you are in a bind and need a place to stay for the night or part of the night. The room is clean and spacious. You do have to pay extra for air con (for a fixed number of hours), towels, even TV. Unless you do without all these "extras", a few RMs more gets you the Courtyard next door, much nicer.experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QandY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

We have adopted a minimalistic approach throughout our hotels worldwide. Providing the basics; bed and shower.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Tune Hotels requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay. Our concept and pricing typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.

Thank you for tuning in and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

If you're planning to stay near 1Borneo, I would suggest you to stay at Tune Hotel Kota Kinabalu. From the lowest and basic fare, you can still add on to breakfast, wifi & TV, aircond etc which at the end you'll get almost a complete package like staying at the ordinary hotel. The room facilities are great and the really meant a 5 Star experience. The basic one with just a fan would also the best if you're looking at a very low cost.

You are connected to the mall, of course. And if you are planning to go to the airport, seek for chartered van which cost you for only RM40. Taxi is about RM40.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms are the same. There's 2 unit of power adapter in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notaAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hualien, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

As soon as we reached KK. We walked in and request a room with window but the reception staff said it was fully occupied so we got a room without window with the rate rm100++ per night with add on toiletries with the hired towels & air con 24hrs for 2 days (a bit expensive if no pre-booking). We stayed at the 2nd floor and the the room is really small without window even though it was compact a medium and a large wall mirror. The air con unit is above the shelf, its difficulties to adjust the blower, no much hanging line and some fittings were awkwardly placed like the only one was too high, no convenient especially for Asian room guests like us. While the room was tidy enough, but the air in the bathroom was no better, there was a lingering stale smell about. The room with no window make us feel we are inside a small room and facing the painted wall.. and we feel suffocate no fresh air flow in if rest inside the room... It was a bit noisy at night with door banging noise whenever other guests closed their doors and kids laughing, knocking the wall, stomping the floor… Bed and pillows on the other hand were very comfortable, the ceiling fan was powerful. Besides that, the room was secured with safety security room system, just bring along the key card so we can entry to the hotel premises from the mall. Overall it was not what we expecting more beside shopping in 1 borneo here...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ameiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments. I was of course concerned to learn of the areas which left you to feel disappointed.

This review has been shared amongst them and I hope we would live up to your expectations when you come by next.

In any case we apologize sincerely for this unpleasantness marring your stay - Thank you.

Regards,
Sharon- Cus Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#65 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
6.1 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#26 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#79 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
7.2 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
#35 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Property: Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Address: G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall | Jalan Sulaman, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing