We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun”
Review of Kampung Nelayan

Kampung Nelayan
Ranked #251 of 572 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: In the year 1988, we first opened doors as Jaws Seafood Restaurant located on the 4th Floor of Gaya Centre. We served a fusion of Thai/Chinese Seafood Cuisine as well as Dim Sum. The restaurant also hosted banquet events up to 45 tables on a regular basis and soon earned a reputation purely by word of mouth. In 1997, we had a Vision to provide every Dear Guest with our slogan "Where very meal is an Experience". We decided to relocate and rebrand to something BIGGER and BETTER. Every aspect was painstakingly thought of from the Minangkabau -style architecture 'floating' on the lake in a botanical park, the 'floating' performance stage, the naming of the buildings, and to the menu creation. Hence the birth of Kampung Nelayan Floating Seafood Market Restaurant. Currently, we are the ONLY restaurant in Kota Kinabalu to present a NIGHTLY Cultural Dance Performance from 7.45Pm to 8.45Pm showcasing the Largest Indigenous Ethnic Groups in Sabah. Guests are encouraged to get up on stage to participate in some of the dances. We have also achieved a reputation of being one of the Most Unique Dining Experiences in Kota Kinabalu.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fun”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

ate fresh seafoods while being entertained by traditional dance routines. staffs were helpful & smiled a lot. enjoyed our family gathering there

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    22
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Pagadian City, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Father's Day Fiasco”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Everywhere else was full so we decided to go here. Bad bad bad idea. The food, there is nothing to shout about, I prefer the seafood at Ocean Seafood or Salut, albeit the distance. We ordered a 1.5ml of soft drink, thinking is comes in a jug and is refillable. They tossed us a large bottle of coke which you can get for RM3.00 at any supermarket. They charged us RM24 for that bottle. Bad experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Che_Che1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Good experience for tourists”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

A lot of seafood selection especially live fish and lobsters. Food is well cooked and presented. Good dining experience for tourists since there is a cultural show performed nightly where the audience is welcome to participate. A little pricey but worth it

Helpful?
2 Thank june1970_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerteh, Terengganu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner for two at Kampung Nelayan Restaurant”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The food was nice, the live cultural show was superb, but.... the total price of RM198 is quite steep for dinner for two, for me at least! We ordered 1 red snapper, some prawns and a sabah vege plus a couple of rice. They even charged us tidbits which never came! The snapper cost us almost RM100.00! The problem i see here for most couple is that almost everything on the menu has a minimum size order, its not so bad for groups of 4 or more since you can average out the high price. So just be prepared. But if you got somebody else paying for your meal, this is a good place to eat!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank matheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“got steamboat”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

kampung nelayan is located nearby waterworld theme park..after tired slimming at waterworld theme park..we can straigthly go to kampung nelayan for dinner...they'll serve us with steamboat and got many choices..

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank qisha11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kampung Nelayan also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Kampung Nelayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing