We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hostel out of our whole asia tour”
Review of Red Palm Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Palm Hostel
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

well where do i start....booked 2 nights to stay here paid for the first night first because needed to go to the atm to get some more money out then when we paid for the next night she said we hadnt paid the first as we didnt have a reciept but we went straight to bed as soon as i gave her money so we didnt have one and out of all the hostels we have been to we have always paid the night we stay so we knew we had paid so in the end my girlfriend gave her the money again!
Its a weird setup the rooms open onto the living/dining/reception area and they had their kids there sleeping on the sofas during our stay which was awkward to say the least!
the morning of us leaving we woke up and got showered etc (showers and toilets are also onto the same big area so you can hear everything the other people do in the toilets if you catch my drift :-/ yuk) then made a tea while we packed our bags by this time it was 8.30AM and we asked where she had put the breakfast stuff (breakfast of toast and jam etc is included) was and she said extremly rudely breakfast was over?!?! so i got the bread and jam out the fridge anyway and we had our breakfast (that we ha paid for) and then my girlfriend went to make a cup of tea and she said she cant have a tea shes already had one so we said we would buy one to which she replied its not for sale!?!?! AVOID THIS HOSTEL AT ALL COSTS THERES LOADS IN THE SAME AREA WHERE WE MET PEOPLE THAT SAID THERES WAS NICE...its had no reviews for a couple of years for a reason its a joke of a place!!! be warned!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 23 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2011

I stayed at this hostel back in Christmas and New year in Dec 2008 to Jan 2009. I had a wonderful time and a great experience staying here first time round, that I decided to come back again this time in May 2011.

In spite of some of the bad things I previously heard on both hostelworld and tripadvisor about how this hostel had gone downhill, I still decided to check it out for a night or two to see how things went. I had heard bad things like the staff just "staring" at the guests and being very rude, lack of English, ants crawling all over the place, and even rats!

Yet on my second visit here, I never experienced any of the above. The current management have only been at this hostel for one month, and they actually know the management who were running this hostel when I was here in 2008/2009. So I am hoping that business will pick up once again for the Red Palm.

I found the hostel once again to be very clean, the staff were very polite and friendly and spoke reasonably good English. As I mentioned, I planned only to stay for two nights, but I had such a nice time that after one night, I booked up the remaining four nights to extend my stay in this hostel. The place was practically empty when I first arrived, but it quickly got full after me staying one or two nights there.

So once again, I would certainly recommend this hostel to anybody who stays in Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PerthBigAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Bit weird, this place. Like living at home with a live-in maid!. Very clean and convenient, free internet and very convenient. Not much socializing with other travelers though..

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
2  Thank Aussieflicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

It's located in the city center. There are many restaurants and shops in the area, near the entrance there are some bars where you can drink beer. We had triple room without bathroom. I think that shared bathroom was only one disadvantage but it was clean. Room was clean and quite ok for this price. Staff was friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pqwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShiangYu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazshi1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed April 27, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
3.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,503 reviews
9.4 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Palm Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Palm Hostel

Address: Lot 130, 1st Floor, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $14 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Palm Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Palm Hostel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing