We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Boutec Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Boutec Hotel
Ranked #64 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Very, very strange shower unit. Requires quite a bit of fiddling to get the water actually running. Air-conditioning took a while to cool down the room. Staff were okay, cleanliness and amenities very basic. Strategic location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis_9Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    110
    67
    25
    10
See reviews for
12
28
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Booked in KL. Deluxe Room with sea view not ready at 3.30pm. Went to town and came back at 5pm, room just completed housekeeping.
93 rooms in one floor on the 7th floor of a shopping complex. Reception staff not friendly, do not how to smile, poor spoken English at conversation. However, the female staff are better that the male staff wearing tie and blazers.

Lighting and bathroom ok but at bath, the was this very funny looking shower unit that has hand held with poor power of spray. Like mentioned by others who stayed there before me, the body and shoulder spray is not necessary. Yes, it took me until departure day (day three) to get used to the shower, which turn (two knobs with right and left turms for water spray and the other types of spray) hand held or body spray from the wall mounted unit. I have to wear spectacle to read the instructions but every time I turn the knobs, my glasses get sprayed wet.
The air conditioner was cold for a while but at the writing desk only, but throughout the night the bed area was not cold at all. I slept without a shirt on but I used the blanket. At around three in the morning, water started dripping to the floor. I was in need of sleep as I have to stand the whole day conducting a training (my job). So the night was a sleepless and horrible night.
The bed was ok but my head sank in all four of the pillows The double bed was made up of two single beds.
The second night, I was too tired to call for assistance, so I placed a used towel on the floor to collect water and prevent dripping noise. Again sleepless.
The wired wifi (lan cable provided) was fast. 4 of the 8 tv channels were clear, the other 4 snowy.
The view was good because the windows were to the knee level.
The bathroom supply was adequate including daily newspaper.
The housekeeping is a bit shoddy.especially when guests checked out late.
Facilities provided were ok except they don't have a coffee house. Only set breakfast was available at RM10.00. But I got a buffet spread of two types of fried noodles, coconut rice, fried chicken, fried eggs and fruits. Bread with a toaster in service, butter, jam and cofee and tea in all.
For that price, it is better than going out to look for breakfast.

There are four hotels of the same class just next door, right and left, with prices slightly higher but within reach, affordable. .

Just cross the road and there's wet market, fruit market and at nght 2 food markets by the sea. There's the Indonesean and Filpino markets. There is contraband on sale everywhere and illegal fags too.

At check out, I spoke to a "Manager on Duty" about my grouse and he agreed that in the past most guests complaint about the shower and air conditioner, yet it has been (5) five years and nothing has been done. If they do not buck up , nextdoor Klagen will swallow their first time guests like me. For a few Ringgit more, I'm game the next trip.

What do you game for:- price, quality or quantity ?

Room Tip: Seaview is noisy, by the roadside, but good view. Ask to change the room if you are not completely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

good location! about 5 mins walk to the market that sells souvenirs. The waterfront was just opposite. Lots of good food outside the hotel- western, Chinese, they have it.
Breakfast provided was miserable but with so many choices around the hotel, you won't mind that.
staff was helpful although the service was slow. No towels when we checked in and took them a few reminders to deliver to our room.
room was small and needs maintenance. some of the lights were not working. water pressure was low and the shower is not working properly.

To conclude, I will choose this hotel for the location only.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvstotrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

- great and strategic location. just few minutes walk to Night Market selling souvenir, brooch etc at bargain price
- opposite shopping complex
- got taxi drop to airport and nearby places down at this hotel
- located at 7th floor of Warisan Square but once you get to the floor it is really pleasant and welcoming as if you feel it is located ground floor
- just nearby waterfront, heaven and nice place for dinner
- very friendly staff
- rooms condition was good but electrical appliances upon request

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balkidzhunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Level Contributor
134 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

this hotel situated at 7th floor of a shopping complex. the structure is very complex though! confused as there is no proper signage regarding the hotel. only in the lift mentioned about the location at 7th floor. this hotel occupies only one floor, the 7th floor but organized well.

check in was fast, efficient. booked a room via internet booking. got room 1013. facing the sea as per requested. the room is a bit on a smaller side, but clean n comfortable enough. the toilet are a bit small.

the thing i don't like is the shower. the heater unit is ridiculous! don't know how to operate it as there is no manual on how to use it

otherwise, no complaint about the location. cheap and efficient.

Room Tip: deluxe room numbered 1000-1XXXX are the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank az412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have a business trip in early September 2012, with my Business partner from Australia , very bad impression , poor maintenance .... Air-Cond leaking, very dirty on bath room , floor was chip off same as the wall .. wifi service is poor , room 707 & 708, The lobby located in the 7th floor without a sign on the ground floor, I have a business trip in early September 2012, with my Business partner from Australia , very bad impression , poor maintenance .... Air-Cond leaking, very dirty on bath room , floor was chip off same as the wall .. wifi service is poor , room 707 & 708, The lobby located in the 7th floor without a sign on the ground floor,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samsauber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

this is my second time staying in this hotel.
things look better compared to the last time.
Staff are very helpful and approachable. we requested to get the staff help to buy ice and we got it.room is clean and the furniture is in good condition.
House keeping service is available every day.
So ,i feel got nothing to complain .

Room Tip: choose room facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Choosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Celyn City Hotel
Celyn City Hotel
#53 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
D'Borneo Hotel
D'Borneo Hotel
#55 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#31 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Switz Paradise Hotel
Switz Paradise Hotel
#78 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Boutec Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Boutec Hotel

Property: Imperial Boutec Hotel
Address: 7th Floor Jalan Puri Warisan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Boutec Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Boutec
Imperial Boutec Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing