We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A total disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinabalu Park

Kinabalu Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.50*
and up
Kota Kinabalu Park and Poring Hot Springs Tour
Ranked #20 of 191 things to do in Sabah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Dominated by Mount Kinabalu, the park preserves tropical lowland forest and wildlife.
West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A total disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Its too far from the city and almost nothing to see.
Please please do not waste your time on this.
the hot water spring .. they advertise .. is literally worthless ...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sourav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    218
    102
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

From KK, easy to take a minibus (20MYR) back and forth. We did the 11:00am guided walk, which was OK (depends on your guide, obviously) and noon tour of the gardens (better). Definitely try to do one of the trails. They are all very well marked. Be prepared for rain.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 54austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Steamy rainforest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Interesting plant species. Take mosquito repellent and a mac or poncho as it often rains in the afternoon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland Heights, Missouri
Level Contributor
115 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Majestic Kinabalu Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I was part of a tour. Our guide was James, an ethnobotanist with 25 years experience. He was incredible, and made the tour so much better than it might have otherwise been. Mt. Kinabalu towers 13,400 feet. We started at the park headquarters (5,000 feet). From there, we hiked up into the rain forest, on a man-made trail. We saw a wide variety of trees and plants. James' commentary frequently included suggestions on how different plants could be used for treating specific medical conditions. Later, James took a smaller group of us further up and deeper into the rain forest. Now, we were on a natural path - wet, rooty, and rocky. It was an exhillarating hike, and the weather on the mountain was terrific. Upon return to the headquarters, we enjoyed a visit to their galleries which included models of indiginous insects, animals, and plants. Mt. Kinabalu is home to a wide range of flora, and is the highest mountain in southeast Asia. For those interested in hiking, I believe this would be a nice site to visit, even without a guide.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great to relax by walking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

So close to Kota Kinabali is this park that is very spacious and you can really relax there by walking in the nature. If you want you can stay for a few days and make a trekking. We just one for the day and had a lovely outdoor experience. The landscape is very varied; is definitely worthwhile the trip, even for a day,

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AMBBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinabalu Park also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Kinabalu Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing