We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and cosy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Putrajaya Shangri-La
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Putrajaya
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small and cosy hotel”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This shangri la is pretty small compared to the one in KL. There's also nothing around the hotel vicinity. It's looks more like a 4 stars hotel than a 5. There's still have this boxy type of TV in the room so it's kind of dated. Swimming pool is also kind of small. However, the sauna and spa was quite alright.

Like any shangri hotel, service is good. They also provide complimentary transfer to their sister hotel in Kuala Lumpur. We use that quite often while we were there.

Compared to the hotels in kl, it's not really value for money.
Though it's good if one wants to get away fron the hustle and bustle of Kuala Lumpur.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessTKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    246
    86
    39
    16
See reviews for
140
133
35
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boise
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Perhaps the best customer service I've ever experienced in all my years of traveling. The staff was always so incredibly helpful no matter what time of day it was or what your request was. Just an outstanding staff. Be sure to make sure you take advantage of the Happy Hour as well from 6:00-7:00 each evening. The restaurant downstairs had an amazing spread for breakfast and dinners were outstanding each night. The room décor was a bit outdated, with older TV's and a very unique place to have a hair dryer (in the desk). But, other than that....just an outstanding place to stay.

Room Tip: choose a higher level room that faces out toward the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spudbuc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

There were several people at reception who were exceptional in their service but the one that we must mention is Sven Lim. We travel extensively and have been to many countries, stay most in mostly 4 and 5 star accommodations and Sven made the establishment stand out in our memory in terms of the best service rendered. My husband in his tiredness had left his mobile in the taxi that dropped us at Shangrila and we were quite distressed. Sven went out of his way to trace the taxi, our previous reception at Westin and managed to finally track down the taxi driver who brought our mobile back! Sven was a real lifesaver! Apart from this act of kindness, throughout our two day stay, Sven was very professional, attentive and we felt genuinely caring. Both my husband and I are in the service industry and we know that it is possible to train someone in almost anything except genuine care and we felt that with Sven and almost all the staff there. The stella cast of staff are a real credit to the organisation. Apart from staff, facilities and location aren't the best; a bit limited. They do need to improve their breakfast and took part in their in-house survey to give them feedback. But if you are attending a conference in that area, or need to be in Putrajaya, will happily recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Jaya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My wife and I checked in around 1:30am and we were pleasantly surprised to be greeted by 3 members of staff. Our welcome package was already laid out on the desk and we were in our room within 10 min. The bonus was that we were here for the F1 race and we were too tired and forgot to think about arranging the transportation for the following morning. Without asking, the concierge asked if we were going to the races and if we needed help to arrange transportation. This saved us from scrambling around the next morning.

From reading other reviews, I was expecting a shabby worn down room but we could find nothing significant to complain about. The room kept up to Shangri-la standards as it was clean, tidy and the A/C worked well. Yes, the TV was old but this didn't matter to us as we would spend very little time in the room.

After a short but very restful sleep, we started our day at the breakfast buffet. Selection was not as great as other Shangri-las but the quality was just as good. Again, the service was impeccable with coffee/tea being offered upon seating and used plates quickly being removed from the table after the food was consumed.

The location is a bit far from everything, almost half way between Sepang race track and KL. Unfortunately the hotel is the only dining option in the immediate walkable area. I would probably stay here again if I were to come back for F1 but its not convenient if you wish to travel to KL and you don't have a car.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hohistuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The staff are great and attentive, however the hotel is looking past its best. The rooms are in need of an update, old TVs, poor quality pictures and content and no on demand movies, worn cupboard and bathroom doors. Gym equipment is old and worn and in need of replacement. No outside dinning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

If you are looking for a quick and quiet getaway from KL, then you would enjoy this hotel. The service by staff was good and efficient and the room was comfortable though the decoration in the room is a bit dated. Only one complain was that when we requested for a spare bed, the hotel attendant expected us to set it ourselves by leaving it at the entrance of the room. We had to request him to set the spare bed in the room for us as it was pretty heavy. The saltwater swimming pool was good for the kids. The TV in the room would be contemporary if we were still in the early 90s. Food in the restaurant was acceptable by hotel standards. In conclusion it is a pretty decent hotel for a short breakaway from KL. But you should have your own transport should you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gankor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Decided on this hotel as an alternative to the hustle and bustle of KL and was so happy that I did. This is a small boutique Shangrila with all the amenities and top class service of the bigger Shangrilas. Our room was big and comfortable, my only complaint is that they need to upgrade the T.Vs to flat screen hight def, but it wasn't a major distraction. The salt water infinity edge pool was relaxing and enjoyable as we had the pool to ourselves mostly for the entire trip. The staff is very friendly and helpful which is what I have to come to love about this hotel group.
The bus schedule to the nearby shopping mall is a little limiting, but it is easy to catch a taxi back to the hotel. There are not many local restaurants nearby so you maybe limited to hotel food. This hotel is a great alternative to the city if you have a stop over in KL. You can relax, unwind and enjoy the hospitality of Shangrila

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Putrajaya
1.9 mi away
Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
#3 of 9 in Putrajaya
730 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien Putrajaya
Le Meridien Putrajaya
#2 of 9 in Putrajaya
142 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pullman Putrajaya Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dorsett Putrajaya
Dorsett Putrajaya
#6 of 9 in Putrajaya
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Everly Putrajaya
The Everly Putrajaya
#4 of 9 in Putrajaya
392 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cyberview Resort & Spa
Cyberview Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Cyberjaya
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Putrajaya Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Putrajaya Shangri-La

Property: Putrajaya Shangri-La
Address: Taman Putra Perdana, Presint 1 | Wilayah Persekutuan, Putrajaya 62000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Putrajaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Putrajaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Putrajaya Shangri-La 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Putrajaya Shangri-La, the exclusive address for business or leisure, is an intimate, stylish city resort committed to personalized service. It is strategically located on a green hilltop enclave overlooking the heart of Putrajaya, Malaysia's 21st century garden city which houses the new Federal Government, close to the Prime Minister's Centre and the majestic Royal Palace. By road, the Hotel is just 25 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) and 30 minutes away from the city of Kuala Lumpur, all within Malaysia's Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Putrajaya Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Putrajaya Shangri-La Hotel Putrajaya
Shangri La Putrajaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing