We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for a rejuvenating rest if you have a long lay over in KLIA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Putrajaya Shangri-La
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Putrajaya
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a rejuvenating rest if you have a long lay over in KLIA”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The vagaries of Air Asia flights meant that we arrived into Kuala Lumpur at 5:30 am with a flight the next day at 6:30am. We didn't want to pay for two nights accommodation but were exhausted when we arrived at the Shangri La at around 6.30am. The hotel were excellent. They offered us showers and a choice of cool places to rest until the room became available. They were also really helpful answering our queries before we arrived.

Others will have noted that there's not much to do in the area. Putrajaya is best seen from the edge of the Shangri La's infinity pool, but a taxi ride to Alamanda shopping mall yields an adequate food court and a supermarket.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pho-Trappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    243
    85
    38
    16
See reviews for
140
130
35
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Hotel personnel were helpfull and offered help even without asking , which is for a stranger is more valuable.
and regarding the Hotel it deserved each star he gained
and its very releifing environment there

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Ala A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Not my top pick if you're the shopping kind

My company hosted an event here...and strategically great if you want to keep everyone together.

There is a mall nearby, Alamanda, where Shangri-La provides a shuttle service, and also to Shangri La in the city or Cyberjaya

Very quiet area isolated from the city. I gathered from people around there that the place is very popular with the government people holding meetings there. The Prime Minister's residence is also nearby.

I'd wish there was a nice bar to watch football and a larger pool but other than that it was a nice experience.

Travelling to the city via a cab would cost around MYR100-150

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWNYsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Putrajaya Shangri-La is a very good hotel to stay in if you have some business in Putrajaya, or your intention was to spend few days in a secluded remote place away from the bustle and hustle of KL. Situated at the heart of Putrajaya, on the top of a hill and surrounded by lush green landscape from all directions, the hotel provides amazing panoramic views of the city. The downside to that, is the lack of any services and transportation that tourists may need, the nearest shopping mall is a 25 minutes walk, and there are no nearby restaurants or shops. However, there is a frequent shuttle service from the hotel to the nearby Almanda mall, KL Shangri-LA and the convention center located in Putrajaya.
The hotel is very clean and the service is superb. The stuff is very friendly and attentive, as you would expect in any Shangri-La. I liked their breakfast buffet, even though it is bit limited and somehow heavy for a breakfast, but I love Asian food and enjoyed what they offered (unlike my friends who didn't).
The rooms were spacious and spotless and l loved the fact that they have included many of the things that I don't find in other hotels (hair blower, tooth pastes and brushes, hair combs, shaving razors and creams...etc.). The only drawbacks is the outdated bulky TV and the very limited, Malaysian focused, channels, and the inefficient AC.
I stayed there for only a couple of nights so I didn't get the time to try all the facilities like the Jacuzzi and the gym, but I loved their infinity pool, and the view you get from there while swimming is to die for.
Generally speaking a good hotel.

Room Tip: Given the amazing views, I think the higher the better. All sides will provide good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarekessam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giza, Egypt
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

SHANGRI LA is one of the best hotels i have ever been to ,The hotel is set in a lovely location surrounded by gardens over a green hill,rooms are big and specious with great and spacious bathroom , really liked it,it was amazing to shower all day lol,the staff was so friendly and respectful ,nothing much to do around the area ,if you want to go out there is a bus stop near by the hotel just walk out the restaurant and keep walking down the hill,or just call for a taxi to putrajaya central station where you can move from there to any place in kl .

Room Tip: room 407 or any room in the 4th floor ,has a great view over the garden hill and putrajaya bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Shangri-La certainly didn't disappoint. Lovely, clean room with comfy beds. Bathroom as big as the bedroom itself with top quality toilettries (replenished every day!) and bathrobes. If I had to sleep in the bathroom, I would. Service was prompt and efficient, not to mention generous - requested for an extra shower gel and got the whole toilettries' set!
However, don't expect anything too scenic from the 'hill view room' (Room 433) - for me it was just a lump of grass. There appeared to be no basement parking so cars (guests' and visitors' alike) were parked either at the open car park (limited) about half a minute walk from the lobby, or along the road going up to the lobby. Apart from these minor gripes, Shangri-La Putrajaya is pretty amazing and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpicyOlio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel is set in a lovely location surrounded by it's own garden parkland and the interior of the rooms and public areas are spaciuos and well maintained. The staff are super friendly and very obliging but sometimes things get mixed up in the translation of languages as my wife found out when ordering a jamiesons irish whisky and diet coke. She originally received a can of normal coke which we sorted out but the waiter advised that the jamiesons was still being "made" ,which seemed strange at the time but everything became apparent when an "Irish Coffee" arrived at the table. The menus are quite varied and give a good range of selections even if some choices do not make it up to pre-conceived expectations. The "authentic french onion soup" didn't do it for us but that was about the only disappointment. The local selections were excellent especially the "beef rendang" and "prawn sambal", both on the list at the buffet breakfast and really set the day off to a firey start. Putrajaya is, we've been told, Malay for "new city" and has been built to house government departments so is a little like Canberra in Australia but with absolutely fabulous architecture. One of the mosques looks as if it has been made of stainless steel, it glitters in the sun, amazing. Most of the other buildings are very unusual and a credit to the planners. It's well worth a couple of nights stop over between flights as its only 30 minutes or so from KL airport so you don't have to travel all the way into KL City and get caught up in the frenzy if you don't want to.

Room Tip: Rooms all seem good, maybe one looking downhill towards the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkertons0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Putrajaya
1.9 mi away
Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
#3 of 9 in Putrajaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pullman Putrajaya Lakeside
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien Putrajaya
Le Meridien Putrajaya
#2 of 9 in Putrajaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dorsett Putrajaya
Dorsett Putrajaya
#7 of 9 in Putrajaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cyberview Resort & Spa
Cyberview Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Cyberjaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Everly Putrajaya
The Everly Putrajaya
#4 of 9 in Putrajaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Putrajaya Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Putrajaya Shangri-La

Property: Putrajaya Shangri-La
Address: Taman Putra Perdana, Presint 1 | Wilayah Persekutuan, Putrajaya 62000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Putrajaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Putrajaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Putrajaya Shangri-La 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Putrajaya Shangri-La, the exclusive address for business or leisure, is an intimate, stylish city resort committed to personalized service. It is strategically located on a green hilltop enclave overlooking the heart of Putrajaya, Malaysia's 21st century garden city which houses the new Federal Government, close to the Prime Minister's Centre and the majestic Royal Palace. By road, the Hotel is just 25 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) and 30 minutes away from the city of Kuala Lumpur, all within Malaysia's Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Putrajaya Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Putrajaya Shangri-La Hotel Putrajaya
Shangri La Putrajaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing