We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“aging hotel with little to offer today, just average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Putrajaya Shangri-La
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Putrajaya
Reviewed March 30, 2013

a pretty boring hotel with little to offer, lets start with the best thing about shangri la putrajaya, quiet and not a busy or over crowded hotel, the abundance of trees and greenery is top notch, sit down relax and read a book would be great, not so much for family. however, food is horrible, one of the worst buffet around town and its not cheap. malaysian cuisine ruined by the cooks here, tourist please go out and try proper malaysian food, definitely not in this hotel. best avoid, breakfast, its the same, just as bad, reach at 9am, nothing left, once again, go out and eat proper msian food, if you want a cup of coffee and some bun, its ok, or else, best avoid. Room, aging, no flat screen hd tv, some part of the floor kina rotted, the rest pretty ok but compared to the contemporary ones, lacking in many ways, need some renovation to keep up. don't expect any welcome drinks when you arrive...nope, nothing. honestly, just average, shangri la kl definitely serve better food than putrajaya

Room Tip: always pick room facing the prime minister office or the mosque, the back end face a boring hill wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 638 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Overall comfort of hotel, rooms, facilities, restaurant were lovely. Restaurant staff were exceptionally pleasant and very helpful. Food was good - nice variety - only confusing was on Sunday dinner - there is no buffet, only a la carte - which seems like the room service menu - dessert was free but there were only 2 desserts for the entire restaurant. Good service in terms of hotel transfers and point to point arranged by the hotel - were on time and reliable - we felt safe. Upon arrival though, room was not ready, front desk staff were not helpful and never gave us their full attention - seemed to want to move on quickly and we were a little confused by this. Its about 30 mins from KLCC - which makes taxi fare expensive. Overall, a good stay though.

Room Tip: Standard room and Deluxe room was no different - except Deluxe has a balcony - not worth the increas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in March. The grounds are beautiful, attached to a very well kept park, but the building is tired. The staff are generally very helpful, the bed was good and the rooms were clean but the restauant was best avoided. Very mediocre breakfast spread - plenty of variety, but none of the quality you expect of a 5-star hotel. We had the buffet dinner one night and could eat very little of it - we turned up only about 10 minutes after it opened but already the dishes were cold and the small tea-lights were just not sufficient to keep any of the food warm, let alone hot. We complained, and were promised that the bill would be discounted by the restaurant staff, but when we checked out there was no record of our complaint and the full amount was billed. Not somewhere I could recommend because of that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Service is still good. Front office staff still friendly. We had dinner at the restaurant but the order got mixed up-the waiter didn't understand Malay nor English well. The rooms used be great but now kinda run down. Overboard switches are now holes at the bed board , but they still function. Used to have iron and ironing board in each room but no more. No more weighing scale in the room too. Our room also didn't have the guest directory- to order room service with. Also had difficulty communicating with the housekeeping staff as they too don't understand Malay nor English well. Went to the gym. Towels were not replenished, otherwise the gym has more than enough equipments. Overall, the hotel is still good and nice to stay when visiting Putrajaya.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drhattasabah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have to say that I stayed here more for its proximity to the airport than its facilities. I was however, very pleasantly surprised with how nice it was. I think the hotel is definitely aimed at business people but would be ideal for couples looking for a quiet weekend away. The rooms were very nice if a little outdated but that seemed to add to the charm of the hotel. The bathroom was really nice with marble fixtures and a lovely deep bath. The swimming pool was definitely my favourite bit of the hotel. You can swim in a very generous sized pool overlooking the hills and mountains of Putrajaya. Also it was very quiet so we had the pool to ourselves. I think the only complaint I could have is that because it was so quiet some of the hotels restaraunts weren't staffed. We sat in the lobby lounge for lunch and no one came to assist us. We eventually took the hint and went to the palm cafe which was very pleasant. There were also free busses into KL and a nearby shopping centre for those who wanted to get out and about. Overall was really glad I chose to stay here. We had a lovely last day in Malaysia and was nice and close to KLIA for our early flight the next day!

Room Tip: Remember that Hill view rooms will get the sunset view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdodd1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Whilst the hotel is a little older, the staff our outstanding with their customer service. Upon our arrival we saw that they had high tea. Only with a few minutes left they allowed us to eat and only charged an appetizer price. Overall the staff have a great human touch, they do not just treat you like a paying guest. You really appreciate their customer service especially when you have travelled around Europe. Miss Angeline is wonderful and extremely helpful. I would recommend to stay here when visiting putrajaya.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saman_Kerryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Myself and a colleague stayed here on a recent business trip to Putrajaya. Overall the hotel was ok, the rooms comfortable and spotlessly clean. However I would say that the hotel is long overdue an overhaul as it is looking tired, it probably hasn't seen a paintbrush since opening which I'm guessing would be about 10 years ago? The staff were helpful, although unusually for this part of the world were a bit slow on the uptake, finding ourselves having to ask to be served rather than offered. There are some new hotels currently being built in this area so I think the Shangri La may have to smarten up their act if the are not to lose out to new competition.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucksWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Putrajaya
1.9 mi away
Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
#2 of 9 in Putrajaya
822 reviews
2 mi away
Le Meridien Putrajaya
Le Meridien Putrajaya
#1 of 9 in Putrajaya
249 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pullman Putrajaya Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Dorsett Putrajaya
Dorsett Putrajaya
#6 of 9 in Putrajaya
240 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Everly Putrajaya
The Everly Putrajaya
#3 of 9 in Putrajaya
435 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cyberview Resort & Spa
Cyberview Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Cyberjaya
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Putrajaya Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Putrajaya Shangri-La

Address: Taman Putra Perdana, Presint 1 | Wilayah Persekutuan, Putrajaya 62000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Putrajaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Putrajaya
Price Range: $67 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Putrajaya Shangri-La 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Putrajaya Shangri-La, the exclusive address for business or leisure, is an intimate, stylish city resort committed to personalized service. It is strategically located on a green hilltop enclave overlooking the heart of Putrajaya, Malaysia's 21st century garden city which houses the new Federal Government, close to the Prime Minister's Centre and the majestic Royal Palace. By road, the Hotel is just 25 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) and 30 minutes away from the city of Kuala Lumpur, all within Malaysia's Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Putrajaya Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Putrajaya Shangri-La Hotel Putrajaya
Shangri La Putrajaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing