We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well maintained oldie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Putrajaya Shangri-La
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Putrajaya
Certificate of Excellence
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Well maintained oldie”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed a single night after arrival in Malaysia from Europe and chose the Shangri La for its reputation and convenient location between airport and city. Putrajaya itself is well worth a visit, packed with stylish government buildings. The hotel sits nicely on a landscaped hill over the city and is a good example for a oldie but goldie hotel. It is an older building but very well maintained. Room service and breakfast buffet were both great. Service was very good, too.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Quilmess76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    243
    85
    38
    16
See reviews for
140
129
35
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perak
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A quaint little Shangrila, tucked in the midst of the gardens of Putrajaya. We even extended our stay. That's how much we loved it. The staffs were nice, the ambience, the room, the food. The only downside was the parking. Which , for a family with toddler.. Is wayy out. It is just too far. But thank God for the valet service (however they weren't always there.. Another bad point). But all in all.. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kechik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights (with my wife, parents and two kids) from Dec 10. The first night that we stayed, we went down to the restaurant at ground level for dinner. I must admit it was one of the worst service that we'd ever seen anywhere. To begin with we had to wait for 15 mins before anyone walked up to our table. Then the menu card and then another 10 mins before we asked them to serve us some water. I had to get up and walk to the kitchen area and requested someone to come and take our order!
The food followed after nearly 30 mins of waiting! It was one of the most horrible food that we'd ever eaten. Rice was a thick hard ball that was not edible by any means! Bread was cold and inedible as well! We took the thick rice piece to the reception and showed it to the Manager. We had ordered 5 items but received only 3 (well, we were happy with that part!!)
Worse - The Manager did not even offer to refund us the dinner in spite of we telling him that none of us ate anything. Shangri-la was keen to only make money by charging us irrespective of what they serve!
Stay at your own risk!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haranfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

me loved it!!
although its hard to find the place, but its really worth it...
nice room, really spacious, nice view, excellent service, they send newspapers every morning, the swimming pool is nice
the bed really comfortable, i really had 2 night with good sleep... and because of the isolated place, its really quiet.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YouLeeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Superb hotel. Excellent service all the way from making your reservation right up to check out. No doubt for the value.
Only setbacks are the parking which is rather far away from the entrance. Don't feel really safe when coming back at night especially when this hotel is rather isolated. And of course being isolated, more than 2 nights would rather be bored unless if u have wheels.
Wifi works perfectly fine and it's free. Perfect for business meetings out of the congested town and romance weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Malaysia Putrajaya is near the government official office. You can imagine the price about RM500 per night. The room is very spaces and very nice design. Nice view from Balcony. Very quite as the hotel located on a hill. Surrounded with garden. You can talk in the lobby with a glass of beer or coffee! There is also a small swimming that can view the surronding scienery... The people are friendly and helpful. It a nice place to stay. The only thing I do not like is the "soft" pillow!

Room Tip: I think any room is nice! Especially with small balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Under-the-Sun88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just one night staying in Shangri-La Hotel during last business trip to Malaysia. It cost abour RM 500 include one Breakfast. Shangri-La Hotel is located at a hill in Putrajaya. From my room, I can see the nice view especially at night. A nice swiming pool at the other end of hotel. You can enjoy your drink and discussion with your customer near the lobby as good environment. In Shangri-La , the breackfast is nice especial the desert. .

Room Tip: I stay in Leve 4 , Room with small balcony and good view. Room design is very good. Good bathroom. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Putrajaya
1.9 mi away
Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
#2 of 9 in Putrajaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pullman Putrajaya Lakeside
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien Putrajaya
Le Meridien Putrajaya
#3 of 9 in Putrajaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dorsett Putrajaya
Dorsett Putrajaya
#7 of 9 in Putrajaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cyberview Resort & Spa
Cyberview Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Cyberjaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Everly Putrajaya
The Everly Putrajaya
#4 of 9 in Putrajaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Putrajaya Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Putrajaya Shangri-La

Property: Putrajaya Shangri-La
Address: Taman Putra Perdana, Presint 1 | Wilayah Persekutuan, Putrajaya 62000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Putrajaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Putrajaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Putrajaya Shangri-La 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Putrajaya Shangri-La, the exclusive address for business or leisure, is an intimate, stylish city resort committed to personalized service. It is strategically located on a green hilltop enclave overlooking the heart of Putrajaya, Malaysia's 21st century garden city which houses the new Federal Government, close to the Prime Minister's Centre and the majestic Royal Palace. By road, the Hotel is just 25 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) and 30 minutes away from the city of Kuala Lumpur, all within Malaysia's Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Putrajaya Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Putrajaya Shangri-La Hotel Putrajaya
Shangri La Putrajaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing