We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Putrajaya Shangri-La
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Putrajaya
KL
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Spa retreat”
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Stayed at this hotel as a spa retreat.
Came with a discount on the spa package (don't really remember if it's 30% or 50%, I think it's the latter). Spa is really nice, comes with attached "outdoor" shower (enclosed but with no roof) and toilet, also attached jacuzzi. The infinity pool is lovely too.

The bath is glorious, with the wooden louvre windows opening out to the room. Layout is very luxurious. Loved the desk.
Room service came quick but portions somewhat small.

Downside, found a dead lizard on the outside sill of the full height window (attached to balcony door - balcony opens out to Putrajaya skyview) . And my stay also coincided with a party at the restaurant..the PA was so loud, I couldn't wait for the night to end.

  • Liked — Room, spa, pool and quiet
  • Disliked — Confusing directions and road signs - Far out on a hill but that makes it more private. Food is limited.
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kicking_asphalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    248
    91
    40
    16
See reviews for
142
136
35
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

This is a little boutique hotel well situated in the not-yet-thriving (dead) town of Putrajaya. The property itself is quite distinctive being situated inside a small park and with panoramic views of the developing skyline (which is actually very beautiful).

The problems start with anything to do with service including:
Getting a drink at the pool
Ordering room service
Having a decent meal at the restaurant
Checking out

It is not worth going into the details but I had serious difficulties trying to do each of the above. In every case they either they did nothing or did something wrong.

I am actually a supporter of the Shangri-la chain. It is a decent hotel. In this case, I think they have either under trained the staff or are not well-positioned to offer appropriate service in a boutique hotel (<100 rooms) environment.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCM-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

I stayed at the SL for 1 night. This hotel is located in Putrajaya - an area south of KL that has been developed into the principal administrative center for Malaysia over the last few years. Specifically I was visiting "Cyberjaya" the government subsidized technology area- and the SL is convenient for this. Being a government developed/controlled area it is very clean and uniform and also quite boring. Stay at the SL if you need to take care of business in the area, don't stay there if you want to immerse yourself in Malaysian culture. The hotel tries hard to be top class but misses it on the details. For example - the closet doors don't open properly (collide with the air vent), the shower doors leak, in the dark you can't tell where to press the light switch, the sinks don't drain properly, etc. On the plus side the hotel is relatively cheap by US standards. 330M$/night + 40M$ for breakfast. Certainly if you had that deal at this price at a US hotel you'd be very pleased.

  • Liked — Reasonable price/quality.
  • Disliked — Poorly executed room design.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Deadsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2007

I love everything about the hotel. It is definitely one of the loveliest hotel i have ever stayed in. It has such beautiful architecture and this place is definitely very unique. Food wise, the room service was just so-so, while the breakfast is average. The view from my room is breathtaking. I enjoyed the spacious and unique room immensely and my 9month old crawls happily on the clean floor. Overall its a wonderful unique boutique hotel with such friendly and likeable staffs. I would love to come and stay there again

  • Liked — the scenery and room
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetalingJayaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2006

We just came back from a weekend at this hotel and enjoyed our stay immensely. We had our 2 young children (4+ & 1+ yrs) with us and they were treated equally well as my husband and I was.

We stayed in a ground floor room (113) with its' own personal & private courtyard area, pond & fountain instead of a balcony overlooking Putrajaya for higher levels. Good area for the kids to play around in. Note: We did however have to request housekeeping to sweep away the dried leaves from the patio and the carpet grass needed a manicure.

The room itself was decently sized (about 40 sq m.) and the sliding doors between the bathtub and bedroom somewhat extended the space for our kids as they found it "fun" to go in and out of the bathroom via the access next to the bathtub.

We can see the slight normal wear & tear of the room but the beds & linen (and also towels & robes) were still very comfortable. Surprsingly to us, the bathroom looks more new than the bedroom. It helps that housekeeping does a good job to keep it nice and clean.

Our room was located next to the hotel's internal courtyard with pond. The comment made by another member on the smell of sewage, unfortunately was also smelt by us. I believe it may have been because they were cleaning out the internal pond area? Well fortunately it didn't last long....

Hotel service was excellent, personal (first name basis), and very attentive. All staff, especially the porter cum security was helpful when my hands were too full with kids and stuff. As a local, it was nice to know that we were treated just as well as foreign visitors / tourists.

We had our meals at the ground floor cafe, which again, we found the service to be very good and food choice more than decent enough.

The only complaint that I made to the hotel mgmt. is the condition of the infinity swimming pool & baby pool. It definitely needs to be renovated & refurbished. The pool floor was grimy and visibly dirty with black dirt at the bottom. There were rust stains and mold in between the tiling....

After I made my complaint, I was told that the hotel is in fact planning to upgrade and redo the whole pool area. This is scheduled to begin on 18th Dec '06 and expected completion in Feb '07. Hence the pool area will be closed during this time.

Overall, we had a great time here and living in KL, would certainly come back to this Shangri-La for an easy getaway. In fact, this is the only hotel located smack in the centre of Putrajaya. Other choices are Cyberview Lodge & Marriot, on the outer part of Putrajaya.

  • Liked — Service & Relaxed Ambience
  • Tips/Secrets — Request for room upgrade or package inclusive of breakfast
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2006

Architecturally, this is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. The rooms are lovely with great open plan (via a sliding screen) bathrooms, and balconies overlooking Putrajaya. The public areas, including the pool, are equally beautiful.

The downside is the service: well meaning but painfully slow checkin, an hour long wait and repeated reminder calls for an iron, surly waiting staff (serving dreadful food) in Azur Restaurant, unhelpful concierge staff. The only positive was a very helpful and dignified waiter in the lounge bar.

I'm guessing the service problems are largely related to the fact that the hotel, due to it's location, is deserted for most of the year. It's a shame, because the potential is there to be one of the best hotels in Asia.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms and architecture
  • Disliked — The terrible service
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank andrewlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2006

We stayed a couple of nights in October. The hotel is very nice, peaceful and smart. There are great views as you walk out of the hotel and into a public park. Putrajaya is a very spread out town so you need transport (car / taxi) if you want to see anything, it's also convenient for the airport and KL. It would be a very good stop if you are doing a car tour, so much easier than KL. The food is good, especially breakfast.

I had an accident (not hotel's fault) whilst there and the staff were wonderful, caring and really professional. They have regular training for emergencies. You don't expect a problem, but it's good to know you that you have Shangri-La level of support if you need it.

In summary a very nice hotel with friendly staff. Use as a base for exploring and perhaps plan your itinerary a little.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Putrajaya
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien Putrajaya
Le Meridien Putrajaya
#1 of 9 in Putrajaya
176 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pullman Putrajaya Lakeside
1.9 mi away
Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
#2 of 9 in Putrajaya
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Everly Putrajaya
The Everly Putrajaya
#4 of 9 in Putrajaya
405 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dorsett Putrajaya
Dorsett Putrajaya
#6 of 9 in Putrajaya
199 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cyberview Resort & Spa
Cyberview Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Cyberjaya
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Putrajaya Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Putrajaya Shangri-La

Property: Putrajaya Shangri-La
Address: Taman Putra Perdana, Presint 1 | Wilayah Persekutuan, Putrajaya 62000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Putrajaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Putrajaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Putrajaya Shangri-La 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Putrajaya Shangri-La, the exclusive address for business or leisure, is an intimate, stylish city resort committed to personalized service. It is strategically located on a green hilltop enclave overlooking the heart of Putrajaya, Malaysia's 21st century garden city which houses the new Federal Government, close to the Prime Minister's Centre and the majestic Royal Palace. By road, the Hotel is just 25 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) and 30 minutes away from the city of Kuala Lumpur, all within Malaysia's Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Putrajaya Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Putrajaya Shangri-La Hotel Putrajaya
Shangri La Putrajaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing