We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but in need of an upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Perai
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decent but in need of an upgrade”
Reviewed October 1, 2009

The hotel is in a decent location if you need to be on the mainland. There's a mall close by, lots of restaurants across the road and it's not too far a drive to the bridge to Penang Island. But if you want to explore to island, stay on the island instead.

The hotel is clean but definitely in need of refurbishment. The design and decor is pretty outdated and the bathroom needs a serious scrubbing to get rid of the mould. At least the water pressure is decent.

The staff is pleasant, although we ended up carrying our own bags upon check out as the porter didn't show up! There's a lot of parking available so there's no problems there either.

And honestly, if you need to be in this area, this would probably be the hotel to stay at as I have no idea if there's any other hotel in this area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadiahkimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    146
    54
    7
    9
See reviews for
41
20
13
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Actually, this was not at all what the previous reviewers had prepared me for.
The internet is plenty fast, but wired, not wireless.
Good security, and quiet hallways.
My room was roomy and had good comfort features and water pressure.
I would recommend the 'Club' rooms, especially if you like a light breakfast in the AM, or
a quick beer in the PM (they are included).
I mean, its no J.W., but then again, its not priced like a J.W.
The adverts for the in-hotel food and beverage seemed a bit pricey, but, YOU ARE IN PENANG, PEOPLE....FORGET THE HOTEL, AND GO OUT AND EAT THE FOOD IN TOWN..ITS THE BEST.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

A nice clean hotel, unfortunately not long after I arrived there was a power failure in the hotel which meant no food so I was unable to sample the evening food. The hotel is situaited in an area that has a lot of eateries and bars all within walking distance of the hotel so the power cut was no bug deal. For some reason the bar is closed on a Sunday so no alcohol in the hotel on Sundays unless you use the Karoke lounge on the 1st floor. It is rated as 4* but not sure it is that good maybe a 3. There was also a problem with the wifi system the night I was there so cannot comment on that system.
Would probably stay here agin simply because of all the eateries giving plenty of variety and at good prices.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank industrial-gypsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

The location is good and there are a lot of pubs and restaurants around for all other things a rental car is needed, because it is nearly impossible to get a taxi, except the overpriced hoteltaxi. A very clean hotel with acceptable rooms. Brackfast according western standard very poor. Not recommended for any business traveller who needs an Internetconnection. Working possible from 2 to 4 am. I am a businesstraveller and never had a hotel with slower Internetconnection, even if it is free in Sunway. Receptionist friendly.

  • Liked — Cleanless, room
  • Disliked — Internet (speed) and Service
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2008

Bog standard business hotel. Ideally located for business travellers. Good level of comfort and cleanliness.

  • Liked — Not much - very average really.
  • Disliked — See above.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PercyVere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perai
0.1 mi away
The Light Hotel Penang
The Light Hotel Penang
#1 of 1 in Seberang Jaya
205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ixora Hotel
Ixora Hotel
#2 of 4 in Perai
239 reviews
4.4 mi away
Iconic Hotel Penang
Iconic Hotel Penang
#1 of 8 in Bukit Mertajam
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
4.8 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
4.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya

Property: Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya
Address: 11 Lebuh Tenggiri Dua | Pusat Bandar Seberang Jaya, Perai 13700, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Seberang Perai District > Perai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Perai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya is strategically located at the intersection of the North-South and East-West highways, and conveniently accessible via a 30 minutes drive from the Penang International Airport and Penang Island's main attractions. Situated in the centre of a vibrant hub, the hotel is within close proximity to the fireflies cruise at Nibong Tebal, which is mother nature's own mesmerising light show, St Anne's church, bird park and many other attractions. Within walking distance from the hotel is Sunway Carnival Shopping Complex with over 160 specialty stores, food and beverage outlets, cineplex and an amusement centre. Located on the upper floors of Sunway Carnival is Sunway Carnival Convention Centre. The largest pillar free convention facility on mainland Penang, offers event planners 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, accommodating up to 1,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Hotel Prai
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang/Perai, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing