We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Perai
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is by far the best hotel in the area. Location is just brilliant! 3 minute walk to a nice big mall, food haven, Nasi Kandar, Victoria Station and many bistros... just walk across the road and you'll find them. The staff are all helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iskhandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear iskhandar,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to note that you had enjoyed the services rendered by our staffs as well as convenience on our location. We look forward to welcome you back to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya in the not too distant future.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 274 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

Since it is not the first time in this place it is a bit hard to add on to my previous reviews. It is sometimes impossible to get a room in this hotel because of ongoing conventions, etc. However, this time I managed to get a room on the club floor again - and I did enjoy my stay here.
Check-in and -out was efficient and fast, the room was comfortable and all amenities are provided.
House keeping is maintaining the rooms in good condition, so does engineering.
Breakfast in the lounge as well as the afternoon tea (coffee :-)) was enjoyable, and coffee served was always a fresh breed one, which pleases me quite a bit, especially in the morning.
Sleep quality is perfect and - as mentioned before - in case of anything one might need to shop for, a few 100 meters away id the Sunway Carnival Mall, where they also have plenty of restaurants.
Will be back again.

Room Tip: Would recommend the club floor, the rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetalingJayaHans47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear PetalingJayaHans47,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you again for choosing to return to us again and providing us with another great review. We are delighted that our staff’s services and arrangements on your recent stay met your expectations. We shall share your compliment with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya for another memorable stay in near future.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I rated this hotel rather high in term of comfort, cleanliness and location. Rate quite pricey, but if you seek for 4 star kind of hotel, this the place you should consider. Nothing extra 'wow' about this hotel comparing with the price you pay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear sarahazi,

Greeting from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Whilst we see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, we have noted your feedback on our rate. Please contact us at mktgsvcs@sunwayhotels.com, we shall discuss your future traveling needs and will accord you a corporate rate accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya for another memorable stay.

Thanks You

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Quite happy and impressed with newly refurbished rooms. Very Clean, New beds and Pillows. The mini bar was free of charge. Nice, helpful and friendly staff. Would stay again for next upcoming business trip.

Room Tip: Had a pleasant stay here. Service was Thumbs Up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VickyDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear VickyDev,

Greeting from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you for your recent review. We are glad to read that you and your partner enjoyed our newly refurbished products, facilities and the services rendered by our staffs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya for another memorable stay.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here one week in last January. Hotel rooms are specious & well furnished. Staff is also courteous and friendly.
I think there is a room for improvement in breakfast. Menu is bit limited. But they made some changes upon our request as we stayed little longer period here. in rooms you will be provided with free snacks & drinks. @ 14th floor speed of wifi was not satisfactory. Hotel is close to two shopping malls.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thilan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear thilan c,

Greeting from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you for your wonderful review during your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you found our rooms and staff’s services met your expectations. In the meantime, we will certainly look into the area of concern and improve further.

Thank you for your kind support and we look forward to welcoming you back here again.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The rooom is comfortable, large and well equipped. You can see nice view from the room and the hotel service is excellent. Free snack and drinks are provided in the room. The hotel location is strategic, it is near the shopping complex and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wahidah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Wahidah M,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you for staying with us and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities, services as well as the panoramic view. Your compliment is indeed appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya in the near future.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Very convenient (near the Sunway Carnival Mall and near Penang Bridge and the ferry). Only grouse is the complimentary buffet breakfast.... why only free for one guest when it is usually breakfast for 2? There's also room for improvement in the menu for breakfast, there hasn't been much changes in its menu since the first time i put up in the hotel which was about 5/6 years ago? tv receptions for vision4 is also very annoying as it is very very grainy.

Room Tip: the views are not very important as long as the room is clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bspoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear bspoh,

Greeting from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you for your feedbacks on your recent stay with us. We have acknowledged your comment on our breakfast and facilities and we will certainly look into the area of concern and improve further.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya in the near future for a better stay.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perai
0.1 mi away
The Light Hotel Penang
The Light Hotel Penang
#1 of 1 in Seberang Jaya
227 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ixora Hotel
Ixora Hotel
#2 of 4 in Perai
235 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Iconic Hotel Penang
Iconic Hotel Penang
#1 of 8 in Bukit Mertajam
114 reviews
11.8 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,754 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya

Address: 11 Lebuh Tenggiri Dua | Pusat Bandar Seberang Jaya, Perai 13700, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Seberang Perai District > Perai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Perai
Price Range: $42 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya is strategically located at the intersection of the North-South and East-West highways, and conveniently accessible via a 30 minutes drive from the Penang International Airport and Penang Island's main attractions. Situated in the centre of a vibrant hub, the hotel is within close proximity to the fireflies cruise at Nibong Tebal, which is mother nature's own mesmerising light show, St Anne's church, bird park and many other attractions. Within walking distance from the hotel is Sunway Carnival Shopping Complex with over 160 specialty stores, food and beverage outlets, cineplex and an amusement centre. Located on the upper floors of Sunway Carnival is Sunway Carnival Convention Centre. The largest pillar free convention facility on mainland Penang, offers event planners 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, accommodating up to 1,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Hotel Prai
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang/Perai, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing