We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the new look of Sunway hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Perai
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“the new look of Sunway hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

i have been there long time ago but in october 2013 when i step in the lobby i was so amaze with the new look after the renowation done it look so difference from those the new ID are all white and green it so contempary . it look very nice and the rooms are all new it very nice it more to lime wash white the carpet are new even their bathroom are so much nicer that before
the service are great the buffet breakfast is good with wide spread of international and local the conciere are very helpful supplies us with hotel umbrella during heavyrain to the open car park and water pressure are very strong i stayed there for two night and i am so impress with the new look and the services rendered to us during my stay there . good job well done to the management and the team .

Room Tip: higher floor to have nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zack352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you for your amazing review. We are really glad that our newly refurbished look was impressed you and that you enjoyed the services rendered by our staffs. Your acknowledgement of our staff’s service is deeply appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya in near future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    140
    54
    6
    9
See reviews for
40
18
13
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have been staying in the same hotel i.e. Sunway Hotel, Seberang Perai for at least 8 years and I enjoy every minute of it. It is the staffs that make you welcome and feel at home. With internet facilities, though I am outstation, I still feel like I am in my office. The food is halal and varieties. The renovation is very futuristic and the environment is marvelous. What the hotel needs is a garden with colorful flowers.

Room Tip: corner room is more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank omar k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you for your continuous support and the positive feedback. We are delightful to hear that you loved almost every aspect in our hotel especially our Internet facilities, newly refurbished rooms and the environment. Your encouraging review is indeed very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you for another memorable stay with us.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We came across the hotel from agoda website.
We book the hotel as it is very near to the customers we are going to visit next day!

It turned out that the hotel is only 10minutes to my customer factory, really a plus for me!

The room was comfortable and breakfast was good.
It is also conveniently located in an area where we could find good seafood.
In addition, it is also close to NS highway which really worked best for us as we are driving to Perlis next morning!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EMChong2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found our location convenient with easy access to many areas as we are indeed situated in the centre of a vibrant hub.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in your next business trip.

Thank You.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

1) MISSING CONCIERGE
When the taxi from the airport dropped me off, there was nobody to greet me, and nobody to carry my two luggages up the stairs to the lobby. Thankfully the taxi driver assisted me.

2) SMOKING NON-SMOKING ROOMS
I enjoyed the room I stayed in, comfortable bed, all amenities in order. Clean (besides dirty phones which has stale saliva stench). However, to get to this decent non-smoking room, I had to request for a room change TWICE. First, I was given a non-smoking room in a non-smoking floor that stinks (very obvious that a guest had smoked in the bathroom), and then I was led to another room on a non-smoking floor where the corridor STINKS of smoke. The third room which I accepted simply because I was tired, was comfortable, though it was situated close to the end of the corridor away from the guests lifts, and at this end, it did smell of smoke, which left me thinking, do staff secretly smoke in the service lift area???

3) POOR QUALITY OF BANQUET STAFF
I used to love Sunway Hotel at Seberang Jaya, and every time I had to be there for work, I was thrilled, simply because I had the assurance that the banquet staff would be in tiptop shape and everything I need would be provided to ensure a successful event. However, in my last visit (Nov 8-10), I had to go to the event floor THREE TIMES before the room was opened for use, and there were NO PHONES on level 2, where the room was, and I had to go to the lobby to ask for assistance. When I went to the lobby, I asked that the room be unlocked and ready by the time I finish my breakfast. It was still locked when I finished breakfast. Frustrating! On top of that, the banquet staff was sleepy and missing in action most of the time. Cups and plates were not cleared immediately during tea breaks as the banquet staff was missing. The room was not refreshed during lunch and tea breaks (despite one reminder).

Nonetheless, there was ONE very helpful banquet staff who unfortunately was on duty only in the evening, and he refreshed the room for the second day of my event very well.

4)OVERALL
Generally frontline staff are trained to be courteous and friendly, especially those in the dining area. Yet, again, friendliness can't compensate efficiency and quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yensmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you for the detailed review you had written to us. Please accept our apologies for the shortcomings experienced during your recent stay with us. Your feedback indeed helps us to review our process internally in order to further improve our service.

Meanwhile, we appreciate for your kind understanding and patience with us.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Very accommodative and friendly Front Desk staff.
Breakfast was good with wide variety of food to choose from.
Room condition was good and bed very cozy.
Had a mini bar and the drinks and other tidbits were free to be eaten.
Friendly conceirge who made taxi booking hassle free for guests.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Juflyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you for your positive comments of your experience at our hotel. We are glad that you found our services and facilities up to expectations. We will definitely share your kind notes with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya in the near future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Overview:
I've been here several times, after the renovation, it become a nice and cozy hotel, room is clean, bathroom clean also, had a major change in decoration, its much brighter now.

Room:
room is clean, decoration is good and cozy,
only the bed that is not so good for my back, too soft.

Food:
Food is good and has lot of variety.

Convenience:
near shopping mall and lot of place for dinner.
taxi stand always available and can book earlier, this is very good.
its not in penang island which make weekend travel a bit costly, especially if you use taxi.

Facility:
no swimming pool, that's all

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ArcTRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

We are delighted to read that your overall stay with us met your expectations and it is always wonderful to hear of guests enjoying our newly refurbished products.

Once again, we thank you for your continuous support and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Business hotel, good shower / bathroom, good beds and clean. Easy to reach from highway.
Service is very good. Could use some more international TV channels like HBO, Super Sport etc.
Near to big shopping mall and plenty of restaurants, pub etc.
Not family hotel as there is no swimming pool. Spa has been closed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank johan129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are delighted that you recent stay with us went quite smoothly and that you found the location convenient. Please be assured we are continuously working to improve our facilities and service levels.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in near future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perai
0.1 mi away
The Light Hotel Penang
The Light Hotel Penang
#1 of 1 in Seberang Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.2 mi away
Ixora Hotel
Ixora Hotel
#2 of 3 in Perai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
10.9 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang

Property: Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang
Address: 11 Lebuh Tenggiri | Pusatbandar Seberang Jaya, Perai 13700, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Seberang Perai District > Perai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Perai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, a prominent business and leisure hotel is strategically located at the intersection of the North-South and East-West highways, and conveniently accessible via a 30 minutes drive from the Penang International Airport. Situated in the centre of a vibrant hub, the hotel is less than half an hour to the fireflies cruise at Nibong Tebal, which is mother nature's own mesmerizing light show, St Anne's church, bird park and many more attractions.The hotel is just a walking distance to the four-storey Sunway Carnival Shopping Complex which is one of the biggest mall in Penang mainland with 160 specialty stores, food and beverage outlets, cineplex and an amusement center.The Hotel's Sunway Carnival Convention Centre, is the largest pillar free convention facility on mainland Penang, offers planners 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. It can accommodate a variety of events from productive meetings to creative incentives in sizes up to 1500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Hotel Prai
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang Perai, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing