We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For venue location and other amenities ... not for value ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Perai
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Definite ease to find cheaper and better alternatives within 5km radius ...

Good location for shopping and exhibition venue or perhaps banquet functions ...

Room condition, value for money and service quality are not strengths of this hotel.

Unlikely to visit again by choice preference ...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherK226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecommerceshsj, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya!

We greatly appreciate your valuable time taken to share with us your feedback during your stay with us and also suggestions for improvement.

Thank you for your kind understanding and we value your support. We look forward to be of service to you again in the near future.

Thank you


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 278 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Had stayed here for few times already, the last time was last march and it was under renovation. Eventhough, the breakfast was good. We opt to stay here after a hectic day in the island or as a pit stop after travelling far north. And yes, they provide extra bed!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Mama_Piko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write to us. We are glad to acknowledge that your overall stay had been an enjoyable experience despite the on-going renovation works. We are appreciative of your support and positive feedback. Meanwhile, please be informed that the renovation works are almost approaching the completion stage by May 2013. Upon the full completion, we are confident that your future stay here will be enhanced in terms of comfort, style and our standards of service. We look forward to providing you a memorable staying experience on your future stay with us soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was in the area for work and stayed here for one night. The whole lobby/reception area was under construction so everything was boarded up. They moved the reception area to the 2nd floor. The staff was very friendly and my room (club) was nice. Breakfast was really great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you for taking your time to write to us. We are glad to acknowledge that your overall stay had been an enjoyable experience despite the on-going renovations works. We are appreciative of your support and positive feedback. Meanwhile, please be informed that the renovation will be completed by May 2013. We look forward to providing you a memorable staying experience on your future stay with us soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Usually when I travel, I stay at the Island, this time I was visiting for short visit and had meetings lined up immedaitely after I land, had to chose this hotel in mainland.

Offcourse the booking voucher indicated the construction related information so was expecting the same. Booked a limo through them and the person was waiting near the baggage belt itself with name card.

I guess I met the Hotel Manager at the under construction lobby and he apologised for inconvenience. The check in was swift. Room was refurbished and new but could aready see peeled formaica on furniture and chipped tiles in bathroom, breakfast was just ok, no live counter (may be because makeshift breakfast area is created in a meeting hall), check out was quick too. Location is the key for this hotel, near by shopping mall and market area provides quick access to everything.

Good - Location, Room and Bathroom Space. They are apologizing for inconveneince and offer some basic complimentary stuff for the same

Can be better - Breakfast and tarrif

Not staisfied- Quality of material used to furnish the room, there were two lifts but seemed slow

Out of all room I guess only 9 of them were occupied. Overall look and feel as well as cleanliness is nice but I guess there are much better options available on island side for same rate.

Room Tip: Go for front side rooms, no specific view but you may see part of Penang Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDPharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you for taking time to write to us and sharing your thoughts. We truly appreciate such feedback from our guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and your constructive comments will further enhance our standards of service.

We would like to inform you that we highly appreciate your support and looking forward to welcoming you to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

well the hotel is newly furbished and the lobby is a mess in construction and scary lifts....well rooms are presentable but sadly the deluxe, premier rooms and club rooms are of same design and has no difference except for rates.

deluxe rooms has no free mini bar provided.

premier rooms has mini bar free.

club rooms has mini bar, and evening cocktails free on the club floor and no other club floor access.

basically the rates you pay and for the services you get are ridiculous.

the premier rooms has no club floor access - weird for premier rooms rates.

the club floor serves only cocktails - unlike other hotel dont think of getting 24 hour access or free flow drinks etc for what you pay 400 +++

so for the rates you pay and the facilities you get...ixora or pearl international or the garden hotel is a better choice unless you have a function or spend time at sunway carnival...

Nice new clean rooms but there is nothing special for rooms...no tubs for rates you pay...smilar room size for deluxe and premier rooms...

and overall except free wifi its disappointing for a sunway hotel brand name

consideration to services should be consider for rates given...

yes there is no cartoon network or fox movies...limited astro and the dinosaur vision four with old school programs.

the food is nice but order a menu for lunch and you would like it and order the same thing for dinner and what you get is not like what was served earlier....totally inconsistent...

Room Tip: just get the deluxe rooms cos for premier rooms the only thing you pay for is 4 cans of drinks and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmfaizan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

First and foremost, thank you for sharing your valued input on our hotel.

In spite of our every effort to ensure our guest’s comfort and convenience are taken care during on-going renovation works, there are still some inevitably challenges in meeting our customer’s expectations. On this note, we sincerely would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused on your recent visit.

Every room category has its privileges and benefits. We are indeed delighted if you can share with us your comments on our room amenities and areas of improvement of our services in particular with Siti Fatimah, Marketing and Communication Manager at sitifa@sunwayhotels.com.

Lastly, we are pleased to inform you that the hotel is scheduled to finish its renovation end of April 2013. We certainly hope that your recent experience will not deter you from visiting us in your future plan to Seberang Jaya. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Even though there was construction going on at the hotel (Updating Lobby plus other areas), the hotel was very nice. Rooms were very nice, clean. My only issue was the bed was a little to hard for me, other that that is was great. The staff was, always making sure everything was okay. Breakfast had a large variety of choices, which was top notch. I did dine in one night ans the food came up hot and as ordered. I actually stayed for two week, but left for one weekend. Hotel kept my bag for me which was great, and when I came back, there was an issue getting into the room with the key card and the staff was all over this. They tried a second set of key card, which did not work and the next time they came up, it was with a new set of key cards to a different room. They went way out of the way to make sure I was happy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great hotel in a very good location. Friendly staff, rooms spacious well furnished, newly decorated and exceptionally clean. Good breakfast selection. Plenty of restaurants and bars in walking distance. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hagghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perai
0.1 mi away
The Light Hotel Penang
The Light Hotel Penang
#1 of 1 in Seberang Jaya
234 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ixora Hotel
Ixora Hotel
#2 of 4 in Perai
236 reviews
4.4 mi away
Iconic Hotel Penang
Iconic Hotel Penang
#1 of 8 in Bukit Mertajam
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Orient Hotel
Grand Orient Hotel
#4 of 4 in Perai
4 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.2 mi away
E-Red Hotel Sunway
E-Red Hotel Sunway
#3 of 4 in Perai
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya

Address: 11 Lebuh Tenggiri | Pusat Bandar Seberang Jaya, Perai 13700, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Seberang Perai District > Perai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Perai
Price Range: $42 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya is strategically located at the intersection of the North-South and East-West highways, and conveniently accessible via a 30 minutes drive from the Penang International Airport and Penang Island's main attractions. Situated in the centre of a vibrant hub, the hotel is within close proximity to the fireflies cruise at Nibong Tebal, which is mother nature's own mesmerising light show, St Anne's church, bird park and many other attractions. Within walking distance from the hotel is Sunway Carnival Shopping Complex with over 160 specialty stores, food and beverage outlets, cineplex and an amusement centre. Located on the upper floors of Sunway Carnival is Sunway Carnival Convention Centre. The largest pillar free convention facility on mainland Penang, offers event planners 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, accommodating up to 1,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Hotel Prai
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang/Perai, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing