We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Perai
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noise”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed during a business trip on a weeknight.Hotel rooms have been nicely renovated and were clean, modern and comfortable. Internet is fast.
However, the noisy night took away all the positives.
The music from the Freez pub across the street was directly in the room. Bang bang bang. Could not sleep. Had to call reception at 3:00am for a room change. Staff were helpful to assist.
But,.. left me bitter.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank idemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you for taking time to write this review and sharing your thoughts with us.

We are pleased with your positive feedback on our newly refurbished room but nevertheless we have noted the discomfort you have encountered during your stay. Be rest assured that we will bring this matter up to the local council and authorities when we next meet up with them soon.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya in the not too distant future.

In the meantime, may we take this opportunity to wish you A Happy & Prosperous Chinese New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    145
    54
    7
    9
See reviews for
41
20
13
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
PJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Still can't book directly from the hotel website ...
Back again on last Dec 28. Room was fully renovated with better facilities and bath room. Although the material used was mostly below average quality, but can feel the fresh air instead of old carpet smell. However, the shower area need additional shelves for other stuff.
There is no much improvement on food quality, especially the juice quality and the management should look seriously on the cleanliness as well.
Overall worthwhile with this price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank resotech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya.

Thank you again for taking time to write this review and sharing your thoughts with us. Whilst we see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, we have noted your feedback regarding our hotel condition. We are pleased to inform you that the hotel is currently at its final stage of refurbishment and will be ready after Quarter 1 of 2013.

To facilitate us to address the online booking, we would appreciate if you're able to email us directly your contact details at marcomsj@sh.com.my to enable us to communicate with you directly.

Thank you and looking forward to the pleasure of being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Even though I did write a review in June this year, I would like to add on a few comments after my recent stay In Sunway Hotel two days ago.
In the meantime the club floor rooms as well as the club lounge have been renovated and are fully functional.
There is still some renovation work ongoing in some lower floors, but that is happening during day time, when you usually are out for meetings anyhow.
The club floor rooms are definitely spacier compared to their normal rooms - i.e., if on business trip I would recommend to choose the club floor, simply because if you need to work in the evenings these rooms provide more space to place your computer and files and do your job in peace - beside the fact, that the club lounge offers coffee/tea throughout the day (guess until 22:30).
One can also have a decent breakfast in the club lounge which saves you the trouble to wait for the lift - and the variety of breakfast spread is good enough.
And the new rooms have new electrical fittings, i.e. the aircon is really adjustable.
All in all, I have enjoyed this time even more than on previous occasions - nicer room, more amenities - and I like the shower in the bath room.
Will be back !

Room Tip: if you don't want to eat in the hotel, there are plenty of choices around the corner (local smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetalingJayaHans47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed at the Club floor 12th floor. Booked thru agoda.com.

I choose this hotel because of the location (near to the work place next morning). But its quite hard to find the hotel & need to see the map because its not near to the main road. My 'check in' experience was good. Even when i have arrive late at night & i had booking problem which sorted out the next day. It is just walking distance to nearby shopping mall.

The breakfast was terrific at 14 floor (if i'm not mistaken) till 10am. The breakfast place only cater club floor. Breakfast was simple but great.

The bedroom was cosy & modern look. The bed was nice & comfortable. We even ask for extra bed & baby cot which was sent immediately. The bathroom was beatiful & nice.

My wife ordered room service & it was nice. She ordered for spagetthi & mushroom soup. But u need to pay cash.

Pros : Room is A+

Cons : During the visit some of the floor was closed for maintainance & its has a disturbing working sound. (during the day up to evening)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is a great business hotel. The location of the hotel is ideal. Near to industrial areas & also shopping & entertainment outlet. There is quite a big shopping mall nearby called Sunway Carnival Mall. It is just a mere 5 minutes walk from hotel. One can get food there as well. Lots of choice. The hotel is under renovation & I bet the service quality would be upgraded even further after the renovation is completed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliah_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We like its location, really so convenient.
It is next to shopping mall and the hotel is modern in design.
The room is really huge, bright and clean.
The bed and pillow are so comfortable.
Its free wifi in rooms is really convenient for us and we would like to come back to this hotel for its convenient location, and would recommend it to all travellers to Seberang Jaya.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Superb hotel in Seberang Perai. Very modern hotel with great rooms and bathrooms. very modern and chic design and excellent view. Excellent location next to the Sunway Carnival Mall. Good service and amenities. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Secretadmirer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perai
0.1 mi away
The Light Hotel Penang
The Light Hotel Penang
#1 of 1 in Seberang Jaya
203 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ixora Hotel
Ixora Hotel
#2 of 4 in Perai
235 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Iconic Hotel Penang
Iconic Hotel Penang
#1 of 8 in Bukit Mertajam
98 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
11.8 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya

Property: Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya
Address: 11 Lebuh Tenggiri Dua | Pusat Bandar Seberang Jaya, Perai 13700, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Seberang Perai District > Perai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Perai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya is strategically located at the intersection of the North-South and East-West highways, and conveniently accessible via a 30 minutes drive from the Penang International Airport and Penang Island's main attractions. Situated in the centre of a vibrant hub, the hotel is within close proximity to the fireflies cruise at Nibong Tebal, which is mother nature's own mesmerising light show, St Anne's church, bird park and many other attractions. Within walking distance from the hotel is Sunway Carnival Shopping Complex with over 160 specialty stores, food and beverage outlets, cineplex and an amusement centre. Located on the upper floors of Sunway Carnival is Sunway Carnival Convention Centre. The largest pillar free convention facility on mainland Penang, offers event planners 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, accommodating up to 1,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Hotel Prai
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Penang/Perai, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing