We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It may not be a Hilton, but its a nice place to be”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ixora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ixora Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Perai
Kuantan, Malaysia
1 review
“It may not be a Hilton, but its a nice place to be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Its my second stay here. Situation has improved since the last time I was here. The room is spacious and tidy. The breakfast is sufficient. Location is well placed from the highways and the Bridge. The only downside is the gym is still in progress. I hope they can sort it out since I'll be returning here quite often in future for a biznez trip.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kacman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    112
    48
    14
    11
See reviews for
50
19
5
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Good experience on this hotel but the breakfast buffet is a disaster during peak hour [8am~9am] as the tables are not cleaned fast enough and can't find a seat at all. Good rain-type hot shower, LCD tv but the channels are of bad selection, wired and wireless internet, nice bed but the pillows 100% too soft, coffee maker, safe but not working. Found that the plaster ceiling already have water leaking marks from the fire-sprinkler system. Need to rectify and do periodic maintenance or else after 2 years this hotel will be like a run-down.

Room Tip: all the rooms will have loud sound from the AC unit. should choose 3rd floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poker_face521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Bad experince. Room was good but not the toilet. Have a short stay. The Supervisor In-Charge did not want to entertain to our complaint. He rather hide himself behind the office door when we demanded from the front desk person to see him.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alquyub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IxoraHotel, Owner at Ixora Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Ixora Hotel, very sorry to know that you had not been served well during your stay with us.

In order for me to trouble shoot further, kindly furnish me your room number and when did you check in and check out so that i can get to the bottom of this issue. Please email me winston.toh@ixorahotel.com

Thank you for your valuable feedback and looking forward to your reply soon.

Yours in hospitality
Winston Toh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perai hotels

melbourne
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

modern functional furniture, flat screen tv..... great bathroom with his and hers basins and quite luxurious rain type shower...well placed near shopping mall on the mainland side of penang.... walking distance to a couple of restaurants etc .... more orientated to the business visitor requiring good and functional facilities.... all works well, and yes yes yes, free internet either wired or wireless... average buffet type breakfast could be a little more inspiring but did the job..surprisingly no ironing facilities in the room.... parking for guests under building easily accessed...

Room Tip: no real advantage or dis advantages in any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bfgstk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

i like the hotel. overall it was a pleasant stay.
breakfast was good. But, i think the waiters should be well-trained. they didnt ask for permission to take away the plates.
other than that nice bathroom, nice bed, but i dont like the pillow. very soft it doesnt support my head.
room was beautiful with the pop up color couch. i like the couch very much.
the shower.. the hot water was very2 HOT i cant stand it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haneem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Kembangan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I never heard about this hotel before. We had a wedding to attend in Parit Buntar, Perak. But we chose to stay in Penang because we wanted to have a "thumbs up" mee udang at Kampung Juru (Restaurant Jamu Selera). After we had the mee udang/mee ketam, we started to search for a hotel in Perai. I knew one hotel, named Pearl View. But the hotel was closed for renovation, i guess. So, we ended up staying in this hotel Ixora. This is a new hotel. everything looks new. Luckily there was only 1 room left for us. And we got a very reasonable rates at corporate rate. Thanks.
The room:
The room is very clean and simple. modern furniture. no decoration on the wall. I found it difficult when i want to make some order from the F&B. because there is no In-Room Dining Menu. but it's okay. The operator made it very easy and smooth.
The bathroom: Simple and clean. I like the shower. :)
The breakfast:
We was given 2 free breakfast. The choices are just enough. I enjoyed the breakfast.
Check-in and out:
The check-in and check-out process are easy.
The staff:
I think in overall, the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fMY13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

My team and I were happy when our company booked us rooms at a new hotel. I had high expectations. 

We checked in as usual and presented the letter of undertaking from our company.

The room is spacious and nicely decorated with modern design. The bathroom is also spacious, complete with his and hers sink. 

However, it wasn't well maintained. The towel railing came off and the shower drainage was clogged. Water overflowed from the shower area onto the middle of the bathroom. Something I never expected from a hotel that was launched just 2 months before. 

There were 2 different groups from my company that happened to check in the same hotel on the same day. The other group arrived close to midnight. And that's when the hotel made the most unacceptable mistake. 

The hotel checked some of them in our rooms (we took 3 rooms). Since the other guests were also issued the room keys, they simply walked into the room!

Whatever the mix up, how could the hotel not detect that the rooms were already occupied? 

Very, very disappointing indeed.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tee_v3789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IxoraHotel, Owner at Ixora Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a horrifying experience as your anxiety and comfort is at stake. Thank you very much for the feedback posted. I am just as disappointed as you and can understand how you feel.

In order to trouble shoot and ensure such "undesirable" incident that had happened. Could you email me directly in detail when you check in and which room number you stayed? Your full name please, so that I can revert to you soonest possible for a well deserved explanation.

My email address is winston.toh@ixorahotel.com. I will get to the bottom of this and will take necessary action.

Thank you and my sincere apologizes.

Winston Toh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perai
1.2 mi away
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya
1.1 mi away
The Light Hotel Penang
The Light Hotel Penang
#1 of 1 in Seberang Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
3.5 mi away
Iconic Hotel Penang
Iconic Hotel Penang
#1 of 8 in Bukit Mertajam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
E-Red Hotel Sunway
E-Red Hotel Sunway
#3 of 3 in Perai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aroma Hotel
Aroma Hotel
#4 of 11 in Butterworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Garden Hotel
De Garden Hotel
#1 of 11 in Butterworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixora Hotel

Property: Ixora Hotel
Address: 3096 Jalan Baru | Bandar Perai Jaya, Perai 13600, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Seberang Perai District > Perai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Perai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ideal Place for Private Functions, Business Events & Corporate Activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ixora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ixora Hotel Penang/Perai, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing