We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really one of the most average hotel I've been to”
Review of Ixora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ixora Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Perai
Reviewed December 5, 2011

It's one of the newer hotel of the bunch in the area (where there are not many hotels anyway)! The place looks clean and new!

Pro: 1. Very new and clean at the reception area. 2. Staff are pretty quick with checking in. 3. Close to a shopping centre and hence eating out is pretty convenient.

Cons: 1. Basics such as in room sandals are not provided upon check in in the room (miraculously appear the next day after their first housekeeping) 2. Newspaper arrives at only about 9AM (which is shockingly late). Furthermore, requested for English newspaper upon check in but was provided a Chinese one instead. 3. Breakfast is really average and unappealing. 4. No amenities like pool or gym.

It's okay for me on a short biz trip but other than that, don't see any good reason for the hotel!

Room Tip: Not sure if there is any good room but never book late... Even how bad I feel about the hotel, it se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wil23low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sze Li N, General Manager at Ixora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Ixora Hotel and many thanks to your valuable feedback.

As for the sandal issue which you mentioned that it appear suddenly the next day, I will follow up with housekeeping again as this is not acceptable to me.

In normal circumstances, whenever you check in, there is already sandal in the room. As for the newspaper issue, we had informed the vendor to send all newspaper before 7am daily , but unfortunately on that day there were logistic issue that caused some delay in delivering the papers.

My sincere apologise. With regards to breakfast issue , we will look into giving more varieties or more spread in our breakfast.

Kindly allow us to serve you again and you may contact me directly via my email winston.toh@ixorahotel.com.

From: Winston Toh - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 236 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is a new hotel in the area. Just opened few months ago.

Located just round the corner from the Megamall and other food, commercial and entertainment shops. Also within short walking distance to public bus hub. Very ideal for those who need a place to stay for business trips as the hotel is also near to all the Industrial Estates.

Room rates are a little steep for the area but worth it compared to the nearest other hotels which are older. The room is huge with standard furnishing, everything is brand new, carpets are clean. The bathroom is huge with separate shower area (rain shower). Hotel staffs are friendly and helpful.

Free internet (wired and wifi). As the hotel is new, there are certain amenities still not complete, for example no waste paper basket in the bathroom, no soap dish, comb and cotton buds, small things which I gotten used to when staying in a hotel. We are currently staying in the superior room.

The hotel is still under minor construction on the basement car park and entrance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missylee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sze Li N, General Manager at Ixora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Ixora Hotel and we thank you for your valuable feedback .

As for the soap dish, cotton bud and dustbin issue, we had already rectified and my sincere apologise.

Please feel free to contact me via email winston.toh@ixorahotel.com.

From Winston Toh - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses P, Manager at Ixora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Vivian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses P, Manager at Ixora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syapejai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses P, Manager at Ixora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank angel142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses_Poon, Manager at Ixora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled on business
Thank 司馬健次
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses_Poon, Manager at Ixora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perai
1.2 mi away
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya
3.4 mi away
Iconic Hotel Penang
Iconic Hotel Penang
#1 of 8 in Bukit Mertajam
119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Orient Hotel
Grand Orient Hotel
#4 of 4 in Perai
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Light Hotel Penang
The Light Hotel Penang
#1 of 1 in Seberang Jaya
234 reviews
5.1 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#19 of 88 in George Town
610 reviews
1.4 mi away
E-Red Hotel Sunway
E-Red Hotel Sunway
#3 of 4 in Perai
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixora Hotel

Address: 3096 Jalan Baru | Bandar Perai Jaya, Perai 13600, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Seberang Perai District > Perai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Perai
Price Range: $46 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ideal Place for Private Functions, Business Events & Corporate Activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ixora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ixora Hotel Penang/Perai, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing