We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grubby but tasty”

Hameediyah Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 893 Restaurants in George Town
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Malaysia's oldest nasi kandar restaurant, the 107-year-old Hameediyah Restaurant in Penang.ESTD.1907
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Grubby but tasty”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a grubby, crowded place, but serves up tasty and unusual (turkey curry!) Malaysian Indian food. We got a pile of food carry out then ate it in our hotel.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MWBollom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    114
    51
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
496 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Recipe for Success”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is one of the oldest Indian-Muslim restaurant in town. It's a household name and a taste of the food is testament in itself. It's reasonable and tasty. Head upstairs where it's air-conditioned but be prepared to have the smell of curries lingering around and within you long after you're done eating.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I Think This is the Place That Does The Soup”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

If so, OH MY GOD YES! Some of the best soup I've ever had. Quick tip: go as late as you possibly can (3am isn't too late) because they keep the soups bulbbling all night long and the longer they cook, the more intense the flavours become.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Elliot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terranora, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food at a very reasonable price”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This is my second vist to Hameediyah this year. I had to go the first time after listening to Rick Stein's description of the beef rending. It was indeed delicious. Was this because of my prior expectations? No! The rendang was as good as mine! This time I tried the mutton murtabak, with a couple of pieces of beef rendang, 3 sambals and rice. Total price $10 RM!
Sensational value for an equally sensational lunch. Luckily I still have 8 more days in Penang, so I'll be visiting Hameediyah, again....and again!

Helpful?
Thank Glenbrae9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A ripoff! nothing fancy!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I would not go back to this restaurant. Why? First, the service was poor. Secondly, quality of food was just so-so. Nothing so great to boast. Then, the famous fried chicken, well, meat was tough. Moreover, food was very expensive. Two packets of ayam briyani, 2 pieces of thighs, 4 pieces of old lady's fingers, 1 piece of mutton: RM25. The mutton and chicken were small pieces. I would expect maximum RM20.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KelvinPg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hameediyah Restaurant also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Hameediyah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing