We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Hawkers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Garden Food Paradise & Night Market

Red Garden Food Paradise & Night Market
Ranked #10 of 821 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Hawkers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

It was next to our hotel so we went there like 3 times. Nice Hawkers with a decent choice. It's also the place where Anthony Bourdain had the oyster omelette on No Reservations Penang. She has the picture on the wall for you to see it :) Don't over look the indian place in the corner, I was in no mood for Indian but my friend got a Vindaloo curry from here of all things!! But have to tell you ......... it was good!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    721
    293
    76
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wide varieties with OK prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This food court is always packed with tourists. Anyway, what I don't like about this food court is the management blocked certain tables up and these are only used for patrons who order a certain number of buckets of beers. Later in the night, they have live singing on stage.
Anyway back to the food, we ordered the Mutton Briyani (RM7.50) which in my opinion is very good and the mutton pieces are just tender and nice. Also order the Fish and Chips (RM11.80) that came with a small portion of spagetthi too. Overall presentation is quite good and the fish tasted fresh n nice. Also ordered a small bowl of local Chicken Herbal and Intestine soup that came with a bowl of white rice (RM9.50). For the price it is not worth it and the portion is very small. Not recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SengKwong Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
113 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Convenient night food market to sample a variety of food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I really enjoyed eating here twice. It is very lively and packed with locals and tourists. There are many different food stalls, so its a great way of trying out new things. You find a table, memorized the number on the table and then off you go to different food stalls ordering food and giving them the table number. Be prepared to wait a the table. You pay at the table when the food arrives. They also have bands on stage. It all makes for a fun and easygoing atmosphere. I would go again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CrisPini40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really great cakes at Nellcis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

When you have had your dinner at the Red Garden Food Paradise stop at Nellcis cakes and take a couple back to your hotel to have the next afternoon with your cup of tea! Nellcis offers the best in freshly made homemade cakes and the banana cake is scrumptious. Hubby liked the mint chocolate but all of the cakes looked lovely.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thesuggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
180 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“good location and variety”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

i went there several times with different sets of friends. i tried their grilled seafood, it was good. the filipino shop is nothing filipino except for the names adobo and lechon paksiw. seafood tomyum is so-so. japanese food was good. i loved the braised pork, it just melts in your mouth.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank waget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Garden Food Paradise & Night Market also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Red Garden Food Paradise & Night Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing