We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ambience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edelweiss Cafe

Edelweiss Cafe
Ranked #13 of 870 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $27
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Cafe/Restaurant/Bar providing Swiss/German/Local Dishes. Special cocktails German/beers and a good selection of scotch/single malt whisky are available. We are operating in the medium price segment. We also supply tourist information for anybody who needs them.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great ambience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Several people had recommended this place to me before but i'd never made it there until recently. When we walked into the restaurant, there was some soft rock playing and there were folks sitting and chatting. It was really relaxing and i think it is a great place for drinking. I ordered the salad and rosti. The salad was really ordinary. Nothing special about it at all. Iceberg lettuce, carrots, tomatoes and dressing. The rosti was nothing special too. it was cute to look at as the chef had fried 2 eggs together to resemble the eyes and decorated the egg to look like a smiley face. The rosti was not to be seen hidden under the egg. The hair were made up of curly bacon and sauteed onions. Now, if i were a child, i would have been elated but i was looking for great food, so, the smiley face did nothing for me. All in all, i would go there for drinks and gathering with friends but maybe not the food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruisineat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    64
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A nice place for a leisurely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Had the pork sausage wrap, which was satisfactory. The fries was meant to be spicy fries but Like the ambient atmosphere.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JVS06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Humble Swiss restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Despite how small and rustic this restaurant is, the food here is just marvelous. Went here for my partner's birthday, and we love how retro this restaurant is. My partner ordered pork belly with sausage with sauerkraut, and when it comes, we looked at each other. It's huge! But you will never regret, the pork cooked to perfection with layer of goodness of juicy fat (i know). Served with mustard and ketchup that makes this dish perfect. I ordered pork sausage wrapped in bacon alongside with thinly-cut fries served with mustard and ketchup too. What else can you ask, sausage and bacon? Perfect meat attack. Feeling that we can't get enough of this restaurant, we decided to order dessert. We ordered bananas that have been marinated with cinnamon sauce served with vanilla ice cream and sprinkled with almond chips. The sweetness of the ice cream and the bananas jive perfectly with tanginess of cinnamon sauce. Will definitely come back to this restaurant for our next Penang's visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank beepbeepz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great little bisto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We found this by chance wandering around the streets of Georgetown. What a great little place. Excellent service, good food and a very nice glass of wine and cold beer! The toilets were also very clean.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debbie_williamswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stumbled across this bar / restaurant after spending hours walking round Georgetown. It was a very welcome relief to be able to sit down, relax and cool down, and the staff are very friendly. The strawberry milkshake is amazing and perfect for cooling down! We went back the next day just for another strawberry milkshake!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SK74Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edelweiss Cafe also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Edelweiss Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing