We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good food!!!”
Review of Salsas

Salsas
Ranked #610 of 929 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Penang
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretty good food!!!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Was there on my birthday. Quite nice atmosphere. Sitting indoor by the street. We ordered their signature mushroom soup as starter, soup was fantastically delish!!! Not prepared from canned soup but prepped from fresh & raw ingredients. Wife had smoked salmon. Fish was fresh, vr well prepped by the chef. I had steak. The beef was juicy and chef had it well done as per to my par. Price wise, unbelievably reasonable. It's quite a classy restaurant, appropriately dressed customer service personels, cozy environment and most of all, peaceful place to dine.

The sense of western taste is there. The X-factor is there. Do give it a try, nice place for dates, family gatherings and even for corporate dinners. I will definately go back there sometime.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IanBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“One word : "Delicious"”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Visited this cozy restaurant twice for lunch and dinner as well. Satisfied with the quality of the food with the price paid. Must try the grilled half salmon head if u are visiting salsas during the day, and the lamb shank during the night. it is hard to find a restaurant that serve western cuisine that suit my month......and salsas is one of them

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PenangLangLWZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
506 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Cheap and Good”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This establishment is located in the Continental Hotel at Upper Penang Road. The buffet is a good spread and a reasonable price. Ala Carte is just as good and not that pricey.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perai, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value for family meal.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This has become a regular family restaurant on Sunday. We normally go there for their set lunch. The price is affordable for a family meal. Food selection and quality is excellent for the price we paid. Service is always excellent. Keep up the good standard.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jefflow242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The restaurant was close to the hotel (hence the reason for the visit as it was not far to walk back to the hotel) and was quiet when we arrived so no atmosphere. The food was average but ok as the prices were reasonable. Didn't really like the fact that people walking past can watch you eating if you are seated at the windows. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travellingscot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsas also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Salsas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing