We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A GEM IN GEORGETOWN”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
1 Bedroom, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
George Town, Penang Island, Penang

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JohnD1080...
1 review
“A GEM IN GEORGETOWN”
Reviewed March 17, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The Boutique Guesthouse was all we hoped for and more. Located in the heritage district of Georgetown, it is close to everything a visitor heading to Penang would want. The host of the guesthouse, Calvin, is a pleasure to communicate with. He was helpful in all aspects. We had such a fun time staying in a heritage house, and we would go back in a heartbeat!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhi Hui M
1 review
“Simply clean, comfort and feeling like being at home!”
Reviewed February 25, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We loved our stay at Lorong Chulia. The house is a beautiful and stylishly done up Penang shophouse, it looks even better than the photos. It's clean and comfortable and It is really well located, everything is close by, about 15 mins walk to the ferry, street hawker food and restaurants, cafes and bakeries are just around the corner, its a short stroll to little india about 15 min to Prangin mall. Calvin looked after us. He was very helpful and gracious, waiting up late for us when we arrived and extra early for us to check out. He was easy to contact and responded immediately. All in all if you're thinking of staying here we recommend you do. Its great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suannk112
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Has potential but needs improvements”
Reviewed February 11, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The place really isn't quite as depicted in the photos as it is quite run down. The wood was rotting and we didn't even dare to use the kitchen because it was quite dirty. The toilet was also dirty and we had to wear slippers to the shower. The top floor where we slept was properly cleaned but everywhere else was quite dirty when we arrived. However, the owner was kind enough to get the maid to clean another round when we complained.
The place really has potential but it could do with some refurbishing or else it is not worth it for the price. Plus point is it is pet friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Dirty
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aisyalah
Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute and perfect!”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed for 4 days and 3 nights and was sorry to leave! All linens are provided and air con throughout, clean, comfortable and the owner was an angel when the power went out in the whole street at 3am. He immediately came round, found out what the problem was and found me a place to wait it out and then took me back when it came back on at 4am! As a lone female it was incredibly reassuring. Using the buses, which route ran past the end of the road and are cheap and easy to figure out, I found Cold Storage on the first day and stocked up the kitchen with basics and snacks, ate out in the morning and was more than happy to spend the evenings safe in this cosy little old house! The surrounding streets are bustling with coffee shops, hawker stalls and market stalls and the obvious history in its buildings and way of life was a pleasure to see. All in all, I'll definitely be going back, more than once.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in an historic building
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing