We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Supertanker hawker food (Fried oyster is a must!)
Ranked #375 of 929 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Pancakes”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I did not try the food in the hawker centre but the pancakes by Aki Pancakes is worth mentioning. With more than a dozens of fillings to choices from, it's a popular stall amongst the locals.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank yoononn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    21
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Large food court”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

To find food at here, you need not worry as there are lots of varities to choose. From local cusiner to western to anykind, they could be found at here! There is a large car park available. However be early, as the pack starts from 7.30pm onwards

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flowerymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wide selection of hawker stalls”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

For a good selection of local Hawker food in an authentic setting, this is well worth a visit. Try the duck stall on the corner, for delicious roast duck with hoi sin sauce and rice.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bew11000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for variety of local food.”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

In my first visit to this place was far more cleaner and well organize than what is shown on the picture above. Maybe this is because I'm not "penang lang", and just pay my first visit just few months ago, they may have probably moved or renovated. The place is quite pleasant, variety food to choose. Haha.. Especially Thai cuisine, the fried fish with sweet and sour sauce and balacan fried rice amaze me the most, for the taste of the fish was so appetizing that I can help my saliva for dripping and the rice which rich of the balacan fragrance. Not to miss also the fried oyster which is one of the most favourite dishes, the combination of egg and corn starch were just perfect. Another tidbit that is my father's favourite is the balacan fried chicken which is crispy from the outside and soft from the inside, the taste of balacan was so iresistable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Food_loverPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great variety and great value!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

There are so many different types of food at the supertanker hawker mall that you fill up so quickly getting just a little bit from each place. I recommend going with friends so you can order more dishes and share a wide variety of foods.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NorCalDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Supertanker hawker food (Fried oyster is a must!) also viewed

 
Penang Island, Penang
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Supertanker hawker food (Fried oyster is a must!)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing