We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uplifting hotel perfect for recovery.”
Review of Bellevue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bellevue Hotel
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I came to the Bellevue quite on a whim. I expected the rate to be well over what a budget traveler could afford. To my surprise it was quite reasonable and turned out to be just the respite I needed to recover from what had turned out to be an otherwise disappointing vacation.

The hotel is a charming world heritage building. It is surrounded by beautiful gardens and a bird park. RM5 to visit, but free to guests staying at the hotel. It is also near the nature trail, and not too far a walk from the trolley that goes up the mountain. There is no air con in the rooms, but the mountain is cool enough at night that I didn't even notice.

The hospitality and attentiveness of the staff was world class. I would highly recommend this for any travelers wanting a quiet get away.

Room Tip: The hotel is small, only 11 rooms, so it might need to be pre-booked during high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJ_Lune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2008

I came to Penang Hill while the cable car line was down for repairs, so I was actually the only guest on the Tuesday night that I stayed, and the service was very good. I would definitely recommend the hotel for a romantic getaway, or a quiet retreat. The hilltop location is absolutely unique on Penang island; the rooms do not have views per se, but the restaurant has the best view on Penang island. My room was large and very clean, with adequate towels and seating, but the carpet was somewhat worn. The hotel is somewhat more expensive than similar properties in Malaysia, but there are no competitors on Penang Hill. The prices will probably go up when the cable car comes back into service. Hotel guests get free admission to the impressive aviary exhibit, with 20 or more exotic birds.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mstepz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We love Malaysia and this is the first time I've been moved to post a warning on a Malaysian hotel.

Penang Hill is a delightful area and one we wanted to stay. The Bellevue is the only hotel: it has an excellent location on the hill - central and convenient for walking and the funicular railway. The rooms are a good size. The lawned garden is attractive with nice views over the city (no views from the rooms).

BUT BUT BUT sadly it has to be one of the dirtiest and most sloppily run hotels. We prepaid three nights but gave up and left after two. What did we dislike?
- filthy carpet in the room. OK, we can wear slippers.
- discoloured and dirty paintwork throughout. This room hadn't seen a coat of white paint in many years. OK, don't look.
- one small old threadbare towel each. Ok we carry towels.
- very very old badly discoloured bath (enamel all peeled off), no water, only cold from a shower hose. Old insanitary loo.
- no soap. OK, we carry soap. BUT a sign saying "treated water no soap needed". Doesn't work, not true!

The thing that turned it from unpleasant to unacceptable was the fact that during the three days NO-ONE came into the room EVEN ONCE, to clean, make up the bed, the usual. By Malaysian standards this is quite an expensive hotel (easily ** equivalent) - certainly not sold as a fleapit or an unserviced room rental.

It's a shame because, given its location, this place should make a fortune. Mind you, given they seem to spend nothing on cleaning or maintenance they have minimal expenses so it probably does make a fortune!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank yogayogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Ton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ChenYenTing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
1.1 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#16 of 87 in George Town
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.5 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#14 of 87 in George Town
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 87 in George Town
3,817 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#25 of 87 in George Town
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#23 of 87 in George Town
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Hotel

Address: Bukit Bendera | Penang Hill, George Town, Penang Island 11300, Malaysia (Formerly Bellevue The Penang Hill Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Price Range: $74 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bellevue Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bellevue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing