We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Naza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Naza Hotel
Ranked #61 of 77 Hotels in George Town
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It was a last minute booking. The whole place looks run down.The carpet in the hallway must have seen better days. The white towel was actually black, the bed sheet and pillow case were old and stained. Balcony offers an incredible view of the sea but the hot air coming out from the air con makes it uncomfortable to sit. However I find the staff pleasant enough. Food was er....o.k. Perfect excuse to eat out at the food court nearby which offers a good variety of local fare plus beer.The Chinese Swimming Club (about 5 min. walk) offers excellent food at a good price.A pity though, the hotel certainly needs more maintenance. Management must improve! I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone but it's o.k if it offers a huge discount !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 646Jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    74
    76
    28
    18
See reviews for
43
60
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My friend and I stayed in this hotel last March 5 (staying for 3 days and 2 nights).. Front office staffs are very approachable and smiling. Safety and security need to pay attention and should have a spacious parking area for guests. Buffet breakfast and guestroom cleanliness could be done better. Add more amenities in the room so guest would be glad and could say that it is a value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mae Princess E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

For the price you pay, you get a hotel with a good location, far from crowded beaches and next to a big food centre. You can also catch a public bus easily from the bus stop 5min from the hotel. Rooms are standard and has a sea view. Wifi is free only in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a high floor, facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carplaneshiptrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Renamed Naza Tallya Seaview Beach Hotel. Stayed for 2 nights in Mac'13. Good location at the seafront. Room size adequate, comfortable bed, nice view of the ocean but somewhat dated. The ceiling was stained and require fresh coat of paint. Could have provided with better towels too. Choice of breakfast adequate. Lobby was basic but all-in-all worth the price paid for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hasmil Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I booked on Agoda and got this at a price I thought was good, and overall I was satisfied.
The hotel is on the sea, and if you got a cheap room you are probably back from the sea and can only sea it if you get out on the balcony. However the room itself was fine, except there was no plug in the sink to hold water to wash clothes. One of us carries a bit of duct tape and that worked. Now I also travel with a stopper with a small base and a huge cap that fits all sizes!
Problem is its so easy to leave that as you don't notice sometimes that's YOUR stopper. I now buy them several at a time....get em while I can.

The carpets were worn and tattered in hall, but im writing this a year after I stayed so who knows now. Room was not carpeted. I thought breakfast was good! Nice outdoor terrace and a view of the sea. People serving me then were nice and helpful.

There is actually a bus, public bus, like 4 ringitt, that goes from the airport all the way here. Good for those on a budget or not with a lot of bags. It takes like 2 hours though with all the stops. Taxi is about 55 Ringitt. Tell bus driver Tanjung Tokong and watch out the window. Its not long after passing the big Tesco you cant miss. Hotel sits back away from the road but now that you have seen what it looks like if you pay attn. you can see it from the bus.
If you cant see it for some reason, exit soon after the Tesco anyway as your quite close. Maybe trees have grown. People can walk to Tesco from here or go there to eat, shop, etc if they so choose. it has indoor places to eat...several choices--for those that love a/c.

There is also a huge open air local eatery right out in front of this hotel If your not familiar with that, tables are all in the middle. Know your table number. Then walk around and look at what everyone is offering for sale. Make your choices. They ask your table number, SO KNOW IT.
They bring food to your table when ready and you pay on arrival.

There is also beer avail here!! Carlsberg from Denmark seems to be the one here. So everyone that partakes (most locals don't) is drinking that. Not sure if alcohol was served at hotel.

There is a pool but its a busy place, lots of kids and old leathery old goats, but you can walk down these steps and go into the ocean too! There is a place to wash off sand as you come back to reenter pool area. I vote for the ocean. PLENTY of space down there. Bring a towel to sit on. Water was nice.

The choice on Penang is busy city or by the ocean, and where do you want to be close to. This sits between the city and the tourist places out to the west like butterfly farm and spice garden. So I found it to be acceptable. If they are still discounting it heavily, go for it. If its priced like an upscale hotel though, forget it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

- Stayed for 3 days and 2 nights here. Very nice ambiance and scenery. The important think was the price is cheap.
- Nice breakfast served here. So much of choices.
- Quality of sleep. NIce mattress and pillow.
- Nice Beach in front of hotel.
-Really enjoyed on Sunrise. Good for photographer shooting.

Overall Penang trip at Naza Hotel was awesome.

Room Tip: - Choose suite rooms. Nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mielong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Given we had paid close to RM200 a night for a room, we were extremely disappointed to say the least, with the condition of the hotel and its rooms. The charges were hardly reasonable in view of the poor condition of the hotel and its lack of amenities.

The rooms were small, and to top it all, we were presented a room which had a horrifying smell of durians lingering inside and along the corridor. Thankfully, we were able to change our room. Nonetheless, the room that we eventually got still had a musky smell.

We were horrified to see stains on the "clean" towels which were provided, they almost looked like bathroom mats!

It was hardly possible to even watch a decent TV program as the reception was extremely bad.

Breakfast spread was decent but the quality of the food was poor. Most of the food were hardly edible. Even what we considered a safe choice, the "curry chicken" served as part of the Nasi Lemak dish option tasted like they were soaked in curry powder. We resorted to toast and jam.

The only thing part of our stay was the breakfast view, that is, if you choose to have your meal outdoors by the pool area. The view was good in that the pool area overlooked the beach.

It was one my own worst experience, by far. We will definitely not be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mccheah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
#1 of 1 in Tanjung Tokong
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
#32 of 77 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#30 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Straits Quay Suites
Straits Quay Suites
#51 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
1.0 mi away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#3 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
3.0 of 5 stars 648 reviews
4.0 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#52 of 77 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naza Hotel

Property: Naza Hotel
Address: No.555, Jalan CM Hashim | Tanjung Tokong, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 77 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com so you can book your Naza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naza Hotel Georgetown
Naza Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing