We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Naza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Naza Hotel to your Saves list
Naza Hotel
No.555, Jalan CM Hashim | Tanjung Tokong, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 77 Hotels in George Town
1 review
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed there for a night . With the price I paid, I guess it was worth it. Room was alright but I think the hotel is a tad bit run down. Well maybe management would make an effort on a renovation. Felt a little deceived by the pictures online, its rather a small hotel though. But plus point would go to the beach which is right smack in front of the hotel. It was quite dangerous for guests to go down to the beach because the stairs were filmsy and really slippery. The swimming pool was nice , anyway. Could opt on swimming there if there were not many people occupying the pool. Honestly I would come back again, because the price is really reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephalucious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    74
    76
    28
    18
See reviews for
43
60
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Essex,UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed at this place in january for a week . To star with , great location. lovely beach which we used every day.. as it is very private and only used by the quests from this hotel mainly.
The other story of our stay is .... very disapointing place. The rooms could do with updating.... seeing pictures from 2008 ... oh well if thats what they show now on the internet and in their leaflets... they definitelly need to sort this hotel out so it looks like the pictures! Our room was ok, not as clean as you would expect -- the bed sheets had marks on,, the towels in the room just had it!Bring your own if you are fussy like we are. Reception people were very friendly and try to help.. but a second choice of our room ,,wasnt anything different... marks on the matrace,.... so back to our "lovelly" room. Finally we found the aircon in our bathroom needs to be turn off as we realised the dust hanging out in the unit above... would make things , bits did fall into sink. Fussy? maybe,,)) but more disappointed from the standarts. The breakfast is actually great,, if you stick to having an egg omelate and juices.. the rest is just so poor quality ,, you would not have it at all! Some guests didnt make the breakfast as they didnt fancy it. I have spoken to the manager of the hotel and made it clear of how badly the place is run. Run down.. The table clothes in the eating are are pinned to the table )) with marks on again.. The glass around the eating area could do with better set up. Glass around the restaurant havent seen window cleaner for ages.. same with the pool area . Pool could be great if they cleaned it properly every day and fixed some hazard isue for kids using it.. like hole in the middle and not been fixed. Going down on the beach great.. lets hope you got strong legs as the stairs colapsed and are very dangerous . Overall impression of the hotel. The staff is nice, polite. The rooms are ok. The breakfast is not ok at all! The standards and clean hotel is not ok all! It need someone who can actually run it properly and think twice before poor quality food ( in order to save money) and try to cut down on stuff ( which is important) to clean the place and tidy and run better. I got the feeling the staff is very ashamed of the way hotel looks. I hope someone will do their job 100%.Otherwise near by george town ( take a bus) which is lovely to be. Tesco near by if you need couple of things . also food market outside of the hotel which is great.... the rest you would have to find out on your own. Just dont expect anything great. thats all

Room Tip: Choose room on a side with sea view. . dont go for the rooms in front .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maik1Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

the hotel is tied needs abit off tlc,breakfast was so bad and i eat on the street out side there a food cout out side,the bedrooms are ok,bed linden need replacing,swimming is not cleaned,but could be nice,the beach is great,
staff are ok,i hope the manager reads the comments,we did talk too him too?
it could be a nice hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nellyotis62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

1) bookings are not tend to accordingly. Requested a king sized bed clearly during booking. But when arrived for check in, we were told that the room is 2 separate single beds. when i asked why, he told me that the beds can be pushed to join together. n i was told to DO IT MYSELF!

2) parking is not adequate. not enough parking? park at your own risk outside and at the roadside.

3) upon entering room, room are badly maintained :-
- Toilet seat is not fixed. Unsuspecting guest will just fall off the toilet bowl.
- Washroom wash basin water stopper is broken.
- power socket just beside the bed is damaged. Once you plug in (example) a charger, the power socket just dropped off from the wall!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IceyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

got a last minutes deal on 27 Dec 2012 standard room for rm200/night. clean and tidy room, beach front (only during low tide). limited car park available, non walking distance to main attractions. a nice non halal food court right infront of the hotel offering above average hawker food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank htyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

First of all, the price of the accommodation here are very reasonable. Only RM130 per nite with a very nice view from the balcony, with breakfast for 2, rooms with air condition, with free parking, with swimming pool. What else that u want? Come on... i kinda understand that the hotel is old but as long as it is clean. For me its acceptable. You cannot find any other hotel in that area with that price.
You can walk along the beach in the evening and relax yourself at the pool.
When you in travel. Don't attached your self with the TV. Be acquainted with the place. If you like so much to be in the hotel room, find the expensive one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AwinManja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My family and I have booked this hotel earlier and it comes with breakfast.The check in is a bit slow,it takes us about 20 minutes to wait there and as we get the room key,we soon head to it and our first opinion was a bit small room and small balcony,the TV was an old fashioned tube style,the bathroom was average and it's just clean.The curtain on the balcony doors were torn.But the most we enjoy here is the view and we got the best of both that is the beach and the mountains.There's no noise in the night while we were sleeping and it's a good night sleep after a tiring day of touring the city,Breakfast was good but not too many choices for us,but once again the view of the sea is nice with the pool that we can see from the indoor cafe,you can eat outdoor too.The swimming pool is small in my opinion and I think it needs upgrade.Overall a quiet comfortable hotel to stay with it's nice location and view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureTraveller_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
#1 of 1 in Tanjung Tokong
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#3 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
3.0 of 5 stars 632 reviews
0.6 mi away
Straits Quay Suites
Straits Quay Suites
#45 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#29 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
#32 of 77 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
4.0 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#52 of 77 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naza Hotel

Property: Naza Hotel
Address: No.555, Jalan CM Hashim | Tanjung Tokong, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 77 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com so you can book your Naza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naza Hotel Georgetown
Naza Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing