We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$114
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/06/21
Hotels.com$125
Priceline$125
Travelocity$125
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,999)
Filter reviews
1,999 results
Traveler rating
927
757
196
58
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
927
757
196
58
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive floor shopping mall sea view kit kat complimentary ice cream free mini bar local food hotel lobby spacious room f b food court street food gurney gym xl minibar penang
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 1,999 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2019

The G Hotel is very well localized in the shores of Penang. Unfortunately view is totally compromised due to the renovations that are happening in the beach area.
Being located besides the shopping mall is an extremely advantage because you can just take the elevator down and go to the mall to sightseeing the shops of have a casual food.

Room tip: The suite is spacious and have 2 TVs with internet access
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattos_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney and posting your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

We flew into Penang from Singapore and used the Hotel G to have a look at George Town before moving to the Shangri-La resort the next day. Very good reception staff who checked us in and as we were a bit early took us up to the Executive Lounge for coffee and wait for our room. We booked an Executive Room with Club Lounge access. Our room was quite large with a good sized bathroom and a bath overlooking the sea. Only problem was you had to draw the blind as the neighbouring unit tower rooms can see into the bathroom! The bedroom also had great view of the re-claimed waterfront and my guess is that there will be a major development of high rises on the land in front and the hotel may lose its great views?

As others have mentioned the Hotel is co-located with a major shopping tower and has everything from a huge food market on the lower ground floor to dozens of high end stores including Parkson where I picked up some great bargains at 50-70% off.

You can have your free breakfast in the Executive Lounge but we opted for the bigger ground floor restaurant as it has a great range of food options and very good service. So efficient that we left two fruit juices at our table and went to get our mains and returned to find the table re-furbished for the next customer. They apologised profusely.

The Executive Lounge has free drinks and light finger food early evening and the food was quiet filling and good quality. Self-serve beer, wine and spirits flow freely. Very good staff and most helpful with general enquires particularly the Executive Lounge Manager. Plus I understand that you can’t also visit the G Hotel sister hotel lounge in Kelewia by shuttle.

As check out was not till midday we were about to shop till 11.30am and then checkout and taxi it to the Shangri-La.

Very nice stay and great location.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney and sharing your positive review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

I work in the hotel industry and I know that a sorry can solve a lot, but not everything. A hotel with a reputation like this should know that.

I wanted a day at a swimming pool. I called beforehand because I know it's not possible in every hotel if you are not an inside guest and I needed to travel a long way to go there. On the phone the lady confirmed I can use the pool if I order a drink or food. My friends who did the same a few days ago told me the same. I asked the lady if I need to go to the reception first. She told me I can go to the swimmingpool straight and I asked if I needed to bring a towel and this was not necessary, they provide towels.

Once I arrived I had to go to the reception and tell the story again. I showed them I called 35 minutes before I arrived. I had to spend at least 100 MYR before I was allowed using the pool.
After my complain the answer is: I will report to the manager.

Good that she will report but this is not helping me while they gave me wrong information and I travelled 30 minutes to come here and now go back without doing anything.

As you can see. I normally write positive reviews because I think small mistakes can happen and can be solved. But the service in the hotel is not what it should be. Thank you to G Hotel for this big disappointment today.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Nadine0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I was sorry to read of your experience however I would like to strongly highlight the commitment we have to all of our guests. As you also work in the hotel industry, I believe that you would understand that a 5 star hotel swimming pool is usually exclusive for in house guests and gym members however as we are fortunate enough to have a very large pool and pool area, if the usage permits, we do offer the facility to outside guests however this does come with certain terms & conditions and a suitable cost. The amount charged is a minimum of 100 RM which is equivalent to 20 USD which can be utilized for Food & Beverage via the Pool Bar which we believe is very reasonable and justified. I have checked with our Call Center, Front Office and Concierge who are all aware of our pricing and the terms and conditions of pool usage by non-hotel guests.

Kind regards

Michael

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2019

I stayed at G Hotel Gurney in July 2019. Was attending a medical course which was organized in this hotel. The hotel is located in a very strategic location in Gurney Drive between 2 malls mainly Gurney Plaza and Gurney Paragon. Those who like to savour delicious local Penang food can head to the food court which is located very close to the hotel
I had a warm welcome on arrival at the front desk. Was served delicious ice- cream(yam and vanilla). Thanks to the friendly and polite receptionist, Ms Harvender(if not mistaken). Rooms were large, spacious and cozy. Beds were very comfortable
Breakfast buffet was very good and tasty. Variety of food available at breakfast buffet
Also had a visit to Danai Spa situated at Level 3 of G Hotel which was very good
Overall, an enjoyable stay. Will definitely visit in the future

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you were impressed with many aspects of your stay, especially the excellent services rendered by the Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another memorable experience.

Kind regards

Michael

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2019 via mobile

When this hotel was opened, it probably enjoyed a fantastic sea view. No longer, as the sea has been reclaimed and there is now a vast plot of land which eventually will be filled with residential and commercial developments. So what was a sea view hotel will become a city hotel with no sea view! Until then, enjoy the view of the reclaimed land!

There is still a lot of activity nearby the hotel mainly due to the large mall alongside it, and the famous street food venue which opens nightly.

The outstanding feature of this hotel were the concierge team. They go the extra mile to personalize your stay, by approaching us and checking that all is well and executing any needs efficiently and in a very warm and friendly manner. Kudos to them!

We occupied an executive suite and 2 deluxe rooms. They are modern and I liked the minimalist ambiance. However some of the seats are not well designed and are bad for the posture! Overall, very acceptable. The bathroom in the suite was spacious

We only dined at the executive lounge for breakfast. The spread is actually quite wide compared to other similar category hotels. Although the Taste Cafe offers a wider selection, it was so packed that it was not conducive to start the day in such environment. My only complaint about the executive lounge is that it does not manage to ask other guests who shout to quieten down during breakfast. Such loud behavior is not acceptable in small spaces!

If you want to be closer and within walking distance to the more interesting and older parts of Georgetown, then they may be better located places. Otherwise this is a good place to be

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank siglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney and posting your experience on TripAdvisor.

We were pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay, however your comments regarding the Executive Lounge has been passed to our Front Office Manager to ensure appropriate action will be taken for better crowd control in the future - our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to show you the correct service that G Hotel is renowned for.

Kind regards

Michael

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews