We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“G Hotel is geelightful”
Review of G Hotel Gurney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G Hotel Gurney
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“G Hotel is geelightful”
Reviewed December 30, 2009

The location of the hotel is next to a shopping mall with a late night street food area minutes away. We swam in the horizon pool and warm towels are available! There's always taxis waiting outside the hotel. The trip from the airport to the hotel cost about RM42. It's a great location, with great facilities. We stayed on the Executive floor so we were able to print our boarding passes with the printer in the Exec lounge.
We liked the proximity to other eating places like Pulau Tikus and New Lane.
My wife loved the in-room ipod/iphone docking station.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staycation79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    649
    176
    52
    51
See reviews for
411
417
88
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2009

This is a hotel where people will talk about. Great service from all level. You wont miss home when staying at G hotel. It's only 3 minutes walk to Guerney Drive food centre and a stone throw away to Guerney Plaza Shopping mall. It reminded me of Princess Pratunam hotel where the maboonkrong shopping mall is only below the hotel.
Highly recommended to stay at G hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadespring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We were there for a 5-day stay and each and everyone enjoyed the hotel. When we arrived at the hotel, we were immediately served with your homemade ice cream. We had booked the 2 bedroom service apartment and a standard room. The rooms were huge and clean. However, there was no washer and dryer in the service apartment but I was told it was available. We had our rooms extended till 4pm at no extra charge as we were departing in the evening. Gym has a fantastic sea view so I enjoyed very much while I was there. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There was no washer and dryer in the service apartment as I was told.
The location is superb, next to it is a shopping mall, Gurney Plaza. The food center is next to the Gurney Plaza where you can good food. My favourite is the fried oyster omlette but the queue was quite long so be prepared to wait. Chee Cheong Fun is fanastic too especially with the prawn paste sauce (different from Singapore style)

Will definitely go back there again when my next trip to Penang.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Stayed at G Hotel Penang for 2 nights at Executive Suite and was upgraded to Duplex Suite upon check-in. Reached the hotel at 10am and was the room is ready for me. Duplex Suite was great and as the name suggests, it's double story. 1st storey was a living room with a bathroom and 2nd storey was the huge bedroom and bathroom. Towards the first night, the air-conditioning wasn't cooling and manged to get prompt attention of the technicians. Matter wasn't resolved and the room category was full and was again upgraded to the honeymoon suite, similar to g-suite. The highest category of G Hotel are honeymoon suite and G suite which there's only one of each. The honeymoon suite consists of big bedroom, big living area and big bathroom facing the sea. There is a outdoor jacuzzi too. Breakfast was quite okay with variety of choices. However, the downside was with the Executive Lounge. It's overcrowded and it should be renamed as Children's Playground or Coffee shop. It's rather noisy and rowdy. Feedback to the staff and they would mentioned to their senior management. I suggest having age restriction which many hotels do.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpphua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2009

We had a great time when we visited Penang Island from the 8th till the 12 th of December. Everything in this hotel was fantastic - from the rooms on the 17th floor to the lounge on the 15th floor to the gym and swimming pool, the restaurants and the staff. We were pampered, taken care of and enjoyed our stay at G Hotel Penang. The best of the lot - the staff - they had passion for their jobs and were great. Well done Miss Mary.
The location too was ideal as the children could wander off to the mall next door!
We will surely return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2009

“Excellent Hotel In Beautiful Penang Island”

My fiancée and I had a glorious time at G-Hotel Penang over our anniversary/birthday weekend and holidays celebration over the past 2 1/2 years.
Our stay at the G-Hotel Penang was a TRULY WONDERFUL experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and can say that it’s one of the Best Hotel's ever as far as the service is concerned. It was an absolute pleasure to stay there.

Our most recent stay at G-Hotel Penang was on 12 Dec 2009. I booked the hotel as a birthday celebration for my fiancée and it was more than either of us expected. From the booking of the room about 1 ½ month prior to the date, to the time we checked-in and out, everything was professionally & more importantly personally taken care of. Everything was beyond our expectation. We were more than impressed with the exceptional/superb personal service from the Front office Manager (Ms Adeline Roy and Mr Balan) and the Executive Club Manager (Mr Shah) from the moment we arrived until the time we walked out the door. The highlight was by realizing we were celebrating a special day and arranging a birthday cake, Christmas pralines, flowers and fruits basket on the day; whilst we were enjoying our spa at Danai Spa (3rd floor) next to gym, our suite room was decorated with rose petal as well.....


ROOM:
Our suite merited with 5 stars was huge, spacious, luxurious, modern and contained all the mod cons with exquisite furniture. The suite is facing the beautiful seaview across to the mainland. The walls were well insulated, we never heard anyone in the adjacent rooms.
We have our fantastic time even just staying in the room & ordering room service.

STAFF:
From the time you arrive, to the time you leave, you are "special" at the G Hotel with extremely impeccable service.
The staffs, beginning with the Concierge, to everyone were courteous, helpful and pleasant and were knowledgeable about your preferences, meeting your individual needs around the clock.

FOOD:
The food was excellent and not expensive.
The service at the Executive Lounge was exceptional (fabulous staff) with good quality wines (and champagne!!) available during the cocktail hours plus a wide variety of spirits.
There is a variety of restaurants just outside the hotel.

HOTEL:
The check in process was swift although the hotel was running at full capacity. Very elegant lobby.
The hotel common areas are very clean and attractive.
The gym, clean and well equipped, with generous opening hours.
The infinity-edge pool and spa is excellent, well-located on the 3rd floor.

LOCATION:
For location you simply cannot beat it. The most scenic areas of Penang Island are at your doorstep. The hotel is located at Penang's most famous boulevard "Gurney Drive", adjoining the most happening shopping mall Gurney Plaza and Gurney Drive's legendary hawker food enclave. You can just go at any time for food or shopping.

We live in Penang but we used to spent our special day or having our weekend urban retreat at the hotels.
Having stayed at many other 5 star hotels but G-Hotel Penang was the cream of the crop and worth every cent and never having anything other than good experience.

We look forward for staying in G-Hotel Penang again for our 2010 New Year Eve / Day celebration and I would recommend it to anyone visiting Penang Island, for any reason.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nobita-Shizuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2009

This is my 2nd time staying in the g and for both my visits the experience was superb!! The service was great, the rooms were awesome, the executive lounge was also really really lovely! I felt so at home in the g that I spend most of my time in the hotel! I really really look forward to my next stay and keep up the good work! cheers!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 84 in George Town
449 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,583 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
5.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,353 reviews
4.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Property: G Hotel Gurney
Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G Hotel is your urban thirst quenching oasis, prime for both discerning business and leisure travellers. Grand as it can be, the entrance lobby itself speaks volumes of the exclusivity of what lies within. Furnished with contemporary designs like the iconic Spoon Chair by Kartell, Felt Chair by Capellini and Shell Chair by Hansen, douse your senses with visual elegance and ergonomic comfort aimed at turning even the simplest act of waiting into a unique one. Rich in modern contemporary architecture and opulent interior designs, the 312-room hotel evokes a sense of grandeur, one which is left for you to experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing