We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel”
Review of G Hotel Gurney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
G Hotel Gurney
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Stayed at the G for 7 nights, and loved every single night of our stay. The hotel was very clean, and the staff were amazing. We arrived early and could not get into our room, but the staff kept us informed of what was going on and at the earliest time our room was ready.

Breakfast was great, with a wide range of hot and cold foods, a dedicated eggs chef and waffle chef also. Did not eat at the hotel for lunch or dinner. The chicken and Rice shop on the btoom level at the Gurney Plaza,(right next door) is great for lunch, big meal for a couple of australian dollars. There are night food stalls just a couple of minutes up the road, all cheap and very good food. WE did not get sick once from eating at these places.

If you want brand shopping, the Gurney plaza is the best place in town. The night markets at Bata Fenguie is allright, not much variety, and some of the stall owners will not barter on their prices.

It is about one hour walk to the centre of Geroge Town from the G, a good walk, we did it a couple of times. There is a perfume shop in Geroge Town, on Chulia Street, opposite the fire station, oil perfume at great prices. Just take the brand you like and they make it up while you sit there. It smells great.

The G hotel has a great pool area, one of the best I have statyed at, huge pool, and lots of beds to lay in the sun. The gym is so huge, and has very good equipment and personnel on site to help with your work out.

The rooms are huge, and the free mini bar was great also. We are not smokers, so ask for a non smoking room, as we found out when getting off at the wrong floor, and it was a smoking level, the smoking smell was over the top.

The staff were great, if you be nice to them they will do anything for you. We obersved some guets being quite rude, and you could see that the staff reacted the same way.

Overall, a great place to stay, Penang hill was great, snake temple good, the shopping was alright.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,413 - 1,419 of 1,665 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2009

This is one of those very positive hotel with very little flaws and providing guests with a great stay experience

Overall the location is unbeatable. The shopping mall next to the hotel is the newest in Penang and provide a great shopping sprees with major brands represented and loads of good food and cafe places nearby

The restaurant options in the hotel were not tried but appear in line with the cool facade of the G Hotel and very well presentated.

Room #1013 / 1015 / 1017 / 1019 in these series give great views to the ocean and a must plus to the room . the free mini bar is a big plus and the room cleanliness is of international chain standards. The amenities are a little on the down side but not much to complain there.

the free wifi is a big bonus and the great gurney drive hawker stalls are a must try bearing the heat down...go in your te shirt and soak in the local atmosphere and the best food in Penang at prices very very hard to beat. Look out for the entertaining rojak man featured in the Malaysia Tourism advertisement....very very good food and very good entertainment

As for the attractions, the Penand Hill is well worth a visit although the humidity and the crampness of the tram ride may not be for everyone. The fruit farm, penang bridge and Gerogetown are all great spins to the history and cultural heritage of the city.

Not the cheapest hotel but the best dig in penang ...so splurge and pamper yourself to the G sense...you will not regret it ! Ohh...I forgot to mention the great pool scene !!!

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank TCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Some of the other recent reviews have been very detailed so I think the general idea has come across already.

The hotel is very modern and hip, not what you would expect in Asia but the room was very spacious and I love it when people get free internet, all hotels should have that, a much appriciated thing for most travellers. Also, free soft drinks, very nice touch.

Yes, we liked it and would definatly go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Very good and attractive hotel. Really cool.

Enjoyed my stay alot.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TahaAnwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in July. We were upgraded to a suite on arrival which was a pleasnat start to our stay. I found this hotel not as convenient for Georgetown - but if you love to shop it is next to a mall! We walked into the centre on the forst morning which took about 1 hour. The buses are pretty good and from then on we took buses to get about. There are 2 restaurants in the hotel - we tried the cafe - We found it awful - my husband's dish arrived as just a plate of rice with and mine was basically like eating cardboard. However, the hotel made up for all of this with its staff. We had an emergency at home and needed to get back to the UK at short notice. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and sympathetic and is the main reason that I would return to this hotel on any return trip

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bg205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

No complaints about the room which was spacious and clean. The onsite gym was well equipped and the pool was good. Two big negatives - smoking in the lobby and the hotel food. The buffet breakfast was very average and the wait staff slow. Only tried one evening meal on the night of arrival and it was disastrous,so we never ate at the hotel again. There are many excellent local eateries on Gurney Drive so good food is only a short walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oiler1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Rooms are Huge. The Superior room I got had enough space 2 extra beds, but work desk is in a corner behind the tv, so if u need fast cable internet connection, then you won't be able to watch tv while surfing. Otherwise Wifi is available everywhere else. Intermet is complimentary but if you don't have any surfing device there's no laptop or PCs provided. Not sure if biz centre is free to use.

Also no tub in bathroom (superior), but not a problem as I prefer huge shower stalls, water pressure was strong. No amenities provided, but there's a note saying if you require any just call and they'll be glad to provide. I always bring my own supplies so imo its a good cost-saving measure (for them).

Canned drinks in minibar are complimentary. When you check-in recep also will provide two scoops of ice-cream (diff flavours), which is a good welcome gesture.

3rd floor infinity pool is of decent size, with a jacuzzi on the upper deck and plenty of sun decks and lounge sofas. Even though the views are nothing to write home about (pretty close to mall and condos), its still a great place to hangout for hours. Gym (sea-facing) is very well-equipped.

The highlight of G is of course the 'hip' spacious lobby that turns into a pseudo-club complete with dance music and spotlights (not sure if its wkends only). People drop by mainly for drinks and its very popular with the locals. Breakfast wasn't too bad, but if you have to pay extra then its cheaper to eat at the mall.

There's also bikes which is free to use, but the area is always full of cars and pavement is bumby so not conducive for cycling. But if its the beach then will be fun. Plaza Gurney (mall) is just next to the hotel, with a good mix of tenants and F&B outlets. Not Whitefields but more like a smaller scale KLCC or Plaza Singapura or Times Sq HK. Oh incidentally there's also a Times Sq in Penang but we didn't visit.

My experience with G didn't start on a good note, as the hotel was close to full we were given a smoking room, which I didn't request for. Recep girl didn't ask if that was OK and when I enquired, she claimed there's only 2 superior rooms per floor so nothing else was available. But I insisted and found me something else but had to wait for an hour. They could at least be apologetic and upgrade the room or something.

BTW, its RM38 per cab from airport to hotel, takes about half an hour. There's no public transport in front of the hotel (Gurney drive), but its possible to take bus from the airport. 401E to Weld Quay then 101, 103 or 104 to a bustop somewhere near the mall. Only RM2 per ride. 101 also goes to Batu Ferringhi, otherwise its RM10 for a 20min cab ride.

Rapid Penang (bus operator) http://www.rapidpg.com.my

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t-puk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#13 of 87 in George Town
472 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,660 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
5.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,590 reviews
4.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $114 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G Hotel is your urban thirst quenching oasis, prime for both discerning business and leisure travellers. Grand as it can be, the entrance lobby itself speaks volumes of the exclusivity of what lies within. Furnished with contemporary designs like the iconic Spoon Chair by Kartell, Felt Chair by Capellini and Shell Chair by Hansen, douse your senses with visual elegance and ergonomic comfort aimed at turning even the simplest act of waiting into a unique one. Rich in modern contemporary architecture and opulent interior designs, the 312-room hotel evokes a sense of grandeur, one which is left for you to experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing