We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well trained staff made this visit a pleasure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of G Hotel Gurney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
G Hotel Gurney
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Well trained staff made this visit a pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

What a difference the staff made to our stay - without exception they were charming and efficient. We were on business and this was just an overnight stop with breakfast included (very good with plenty of choice and a delightful, newly appointed food and beverages manager who struck me as the sort of man who won't tolerate less than the best). The hotel decor is Asian chic which looks a little dated. The entrance overlooks the water and the rear of the vast reception/bar area leads out to a huge shopping centre with a large array of restaurants, mostly chains like Dome and Nando's. My only complaint was the bed which has a wooden shelf surround which is a devil if you need to get up during the night - you can't help knocking your legs against it. Would not hesitate to use the G hotel for a return visit to this delightful city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from g Hotel!

I would like to thank you for taking the time for sharing your opinion with us. It is our great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and was impressed with the service from our staff.

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise which I have highlighted to the team.

In regards to the bed, please be assured that I will look into it during our upcoming renovation.

Once again thank you for your valuable review and I look forward to the opportunity to be of service again.

Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    622
    171
    49
    48
See reviews for
385
401
85
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Amazing and excellent hotel whose staff are very polite,everyone makes you feel welcomeand will do anything to help. Excellent location in close proximity to all the shopping. Excellent service from staff at reception,concierge,executive lounge and throughout the hotel. Enjoyed our family stay at Executive Floor bteakfast and cocktail hour was fabulous. Rooms are beautifully appointed. Executive floor Supervisor Mr Lahkesh is excellent. He made our stay special for us and he is qualified as G hotel Ambassador. Will definitely stay at G hotel again. Would recommend friends to stay at this hotel. Well done,good job.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from g Hotel!

I would like to thank you for taking the time for sharing your opinion with us. It is our great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and impress with the service from our staff.

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. I have brought your comments to the attention of our team and also Mr Lahkesh, to let them know that his effort to provide excellent service is being appreciated.

Once again thank you for your visit and I look forward to the pleasure to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel is in a good location and the rooms are nice (although the bed was hard). The big problem with the G Hotel was that on Sunday Morning Feb 16, 2014, I awoke at 9am to the sound of banging hammers and the sound of my door trying to be opened on the outside. Why? Because the hotel management decided that Sunday morning at 9am is a good time to start remodeling the hotel's 6th floor by ripping out and replacing the carpets. I received no real apology from the front desk manger. He said he would bring the issue up to his manager. Also, my shoes were ruined by the adhesive from the carpet....really sticky like tar. But the desk manager didn't care. Anyway, I frequently go to Penang and usually stay at the E&O (which I highly recommend). This was my first time at the G Hotel. Don't make the same mistake. Stay at a hotel where the management cares about its guests. The hotel remodel is in the control of the management 100%, but they picked 9am on Sunday to do it. They did not even warn us in advance when the room was booked or during check in. I could have gotten another room or better yet another hotel. For a hotel that allegedly has style, it certainly has NO CLASS!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from g Hotel!

First and foremost, on behalf of our Management and Staff, I wish to extend my sincere apologies for the incident during your recent stay.

Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is clearly apparent which has failed in this regard. Please be assured that we have already taken the appropriate corrective measures in terms of our process implementation so that we may avoid such future occurrence of this nature. I offer you no excuses for our shortcomings and I assure you that the incident does not reflect our usual high standard of services. I do hope you will give us another chance to provide the proper service expected from our guest.

Once again our sincere apologies and thank you for your constructive feedback.

Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
348 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Probably my new favorite in Penang for convenience to the city.
I did not realize i booked an exec floor. Check in on the 15th floor lounge was nice. Showcases the seaview from the lounge.

I too liked the icecream and drink while waiting for my key. I realized after that the icecream is also offered for regular checkin. Still nice regardless.

Room is great, although only seaview is a small end of my room, where the sofa and tv was. Rest was view of the apartments or offices across. Not what i call a great view. But it was fine.

There are not enough electrical sockets (2 on the work desk), nothing near the beds.
I forgot my usb cable for my phone, and front desk had nothing to help me. no chargers to loan or to rent.
The bed, while big, was not as comfortable as the global chains like Hiltons, marriots, sheratons.
And yes, room is showing mild wear, need to update/fix to keep ahead of market. My shower had a leak in the ceiling just above the shower head, and water temperature was not consistent.

Gym and pool was just fine, no issues there with wear and tear.
Make your appointments for spa, as I could not get anything at night, nor the morning after.

Breakfast spread was awesome in the ground floor restaurant. Western, eastern, and local dishes to your delight. I tried in the lounge on the second day. Just as nice, yes a bit smaller selection, but still the key items were there. Western and local dishes. I would say, what was missing was the "filler" items, which i didnt care for anyway. There was also a cook to order egg, pancakes and french toast station. So Lounge breakfast is a big plus. Considering that most other hotel lounge breakfast is really just a conti brkfst.

Otherwise, very accommodating staff, very chic hotel for penang.
My preference would be a few nights here for town activities and eating in town. Then off to ferringhi for a few nights of beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pvcnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from g Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review to allow others to have a better perspective of G Hotel.

I appreciate the few areas you've highlighted which I will definitely look into how the hotel can improve to raise our standard of services. My apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback and I look forward to seeing you at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I booked and stayed at the Executive Floor. Would have to say the whole stay was pleasant. Enjoyed the ice cream presented upon check in - brilliant idea to buy some waiting time during checking in. The evening cocktail was good with a great selection of beverages - which included sparkling wine which is always replenished on time. Associates were all friendly. Spa was great and relaxing. Tried the breakfast at the coffeehouse - fabulous spread. Strategic location too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veena_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I have been staying at G Hotel for many years now - whenever I am in Penang, I am there..

My reasons for staying here aren't really as much about the hotel than about the location. The hotel is pretty "so so" but the location on the best end of Gurney Drive is really convenient. It's right next to a good hawker food court, and is virtually attached to Gurney Plaza which is a great shopping center with everything from restaurants to shops.

So why don't I rate G Hotel any higher? It's because of the "wear n tear" of this hotel.. for example:

- carpets, curtains, furniture of rooms are starting to fall apart/stained/worn
- gym equipment, though plentiful, is in need of upgrading
- swimming pool chairs/mattresses are looking sad & aged
- even the bathroom towels need to be renewed as these aren't fluffy anymore

However, as discussed, the location is really convenient (maybe the best location overall in the island) and if this is important, then stay here. Service is fairly good and the doormen are nice and helpful (though they should spend less energy & time telling cars waiting for hotel guests to shove off!).

Room Tip: Don't bother with Deluxe Rooms as the extra size is pretty useless.. Standard Rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Titillator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Thih is my favorite hotel in every trip to Penang island !
trust me you will be impressed... upon checkin we got an ice cream ..
Fast service and the room was excellent though only standard room.
Mini bar and wifi are free ! thats why I love to stay here again and over again... next to hotel is Gurney plaza, everything you need is there , at night you must walk a bit to Anjung gurney that is kinda a night market , u should try local dishes there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Property: G Hotel Gurney
Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G Hotel is your urban thirst quenching oasis, prime for both discerning business and leisure travellers. Grand as it can be, the entrance lobby itself speaks volumes of the exclusivity of what lies within. Furnished with contemporary designs like the iconic Spoon Chair by Kartell, Felt Chair by Capellini and Shell Chair by Hansen, douse your senses with visual elegance and ergonomic comfort aimed at turning even the simplest act of waiting into a unique one. Rich in modern contemporary architecture and opulent interior designs, the 312-room hotel evokes a sense of grandeur, one which is left for you to experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing