We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, clean, friendly staff and great breakfast buffet”
Review of G Hotel Gurney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
G Hotel Gurney
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spacious, clean, friendly staff and great breakfast buffet”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

First a disclosure that we asked for a sea view in advance which we didn't get but were upgraded to a very spacious executive suite. So the review is coloured by that.
That said, it was a great hotel in a good spot. We caught the bus into town each day, which is a bit of a long trek, but very economical if you have the rapid penang passport ticket.
Lovely pool at the end of a hot day, and poolside drink service if desired. We loved the local food part of the breakfast buffet.
Overall, reasonably pricey, but a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mature_traveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from g Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I would like to apologize for not being able to provide you with the sea view even though you had asked in advance as our rooms are subject to availability.

I am glad to read that your overall stay was great and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    642
    173
    52
    49
See reviews for
401
414
87
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Location: next to a megamall and famous hawker... There is also a famous dim sum restaurant nearby...
Service: very good and allow late check-out
Room: spacious, clean and comfortable
Overall: a very good stay if you are looking for food and shopping...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowfish87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from g Hotel!

Thank you for your short yet precise review. I am glad to read that your stay was a good one.

Once again, thank you for your valuable review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We booked four rooms (14-17 Dec) and initially, thought it was a decent hotel. The entire trip was soured when one of our party (my aunt) had her document wallet stolen by housekeeping from inside her handbag. Thankfully, my mother was still in the hotel and went back to the room to look for the wallet. She then went down to the lobby to speak to front desk, then returned to the room a second time only to find the cleaners trying to dump the wallet in the safe (there was never any cash in the wallet--only ID cards and visas). Note that this particular document wallet was in my aunt's purse the entire duration of the trip and was never kept in the safe. My aunt called the hotel but the manager was completely useless. She left her number and asked for the GM to call her back within 24 hours. NOTHING was done. We left a complaint on their Facebook page as their continual refusal to follow up was frustrating. Again, the hotel has made no effort to respond and the post has since been deleted. We will never return and will most certainly never recommend this awful place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jwwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sending your feedback and firstly my apologies for the lack of response. The two contact numbers we have, i.e. a Singapore mobile number and a Kuala Lumpur land line, were un-contactable and therefore we had sent a reply to your Facebook message to ask for an alternative number however we did not receive any reply and I believe this might be a matter of miscommunication. We do take all comments given by our guest seriously and given the extreme importance of your feedback - a complete investigation was carried out by our Head of Security.

After carefully analyzing all the facts from the CCTV findings, staff statement and room door access report, our Head of Security has confirmed that no one had re-entered the room. Only after receiving the call to search the room, the Housekeeping Supervisor went to the room and found the purse in the corner of the safety box. Security and safety for all our guest and staff is of the upmost importance.

Once again, I am very sorry for any inconvenience caused and if you would contact me directly at the hotel or provide an alternative contact number, I am more than happy to discuss further.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

A great respite from the batu ferringi hotel strip. Great shops and restaurant surrounding the hotel. Loved this hotel. Staff were fantastic from the CEO to the porters all had great service ethics. Clean rooms with lovely facilities. Tea and coffee making facilities and lovely toiletries, little things are important too

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shockedanddismayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
358 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business a couple of years ago. The hotel has a very trendy, hip, and modern feel. As a executive business traveller, I was whisked up to one of the high floors for my own private check in experience. Rooms were very large and comfortable. Ver well located on the "strip" where lots of action is locate on the island. Don't forget to check out the lounge...The G spot!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Reagan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from g Hotel!

Thank you for your valuable review. I am glad to read that the you found the hotel trendy, hip and modern as we here at G Hotel is all about stylish living.

Once again, thank you for your time in writing this review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is next to shopping malls and hawker center. Room is clean. Overall the service is excellent. Will stay at this hotel next time.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dtran8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Coming straight from airport with a toddler in tow..check in took a while as reception is fully occupied. Did not feel welcome as staff gave us the straight face. Dat did not bother me as much compared with the stains on the vanity top in the bathroom. I remembered someone also shared this earlier. No turn down service which meant soiled diapers are left uncleared. One of the biggest let down...there is only fixed rain shower in bathroom. No additional shower head..so quite challenging when bathing toddler. Umm..welcome ice cream etc only applies to suite room booked? I saw some people are served.. a family next to me requested for it..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from g Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I would like to apologize for the service you had to experience and please be assured that the difficulties you experienced are certainly not reflective of our normal standards. I have personally spoken to our Executive Housekeeper who will ensure that the rooms are to be cleaned thoroughly including the bathroom. Apart from that, the poor check in is also an area I have highlighted to the team to ensure we live up to the service levels expected from our guests. In regards to the welcome ice cream, it is for all our guests during check in – however it seems that we have overlooked this during your check in which I apologize for.

Overall, I am very sorry your stay has been marred but all errors however I do hope you would give us an opportunity to make the amends and let us welcome you back.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 84 in George Town
412 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,495 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,127 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
2.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Property: G Hotel Gurney
Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G Hotel is your urban thirst quenching oasis, prime for both discerning business and leisure travellers. Grand as it can be, the entrance lobby itself speaks volumes of the exclusivity of what lies within. Furnished with contemporary designs like the iconic Spoon Chair by Kartell, Felt Chair by Capellini and Shell Chair by Hansen, douse your senses with visual elegance and ergonomic comfort aimed at turning even the simplest act of waiting into a unique one. Rich in modern contemporary architecture and opulent interior designs, the 312-room hotel evokes a sense of grandeur, one which is left for you to experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing