We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel...but one disappointing experience ruined it”
Review of G Hotel Gurney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
G Hotel Gurney
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel...but one disappointing experience ruined it”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great location, amenities & all. I've stayed here at least thrice now, and was upgraded on my 1st stay. I've had good reviews of the hotel until my last stay earlier this month. I had left on my room table, a stack of coins (Singapore currency), amounting to about S$3, to free up space in my coin pouch for local coins. It is a recent habit of mine whenever i travel & had no issues when i did this at other hotels. When i returned to my room at the end of the day, the stack of coins where missing. During lunch, i came up to my room (before housekeeping did) & the coins were still there. They were gone after that. I promptly reported this to the front desk personnel and they said that they will look into it. The next day noone got back to me & i enquired again personally at the counter. The Asst. Manager spoke to me & said that he had asked the housekeeping staff & they denied seeing the stack of coins nor did they take it. He offered to compensate me but giving me a G Hotel card holder worth RM$30 (he emphasized the value of the card holder). I turned down the offer & said that i just wanted to provide feedback to the hotel about the incident (& about the dishonest housekeeping staff!!) & not to solicit compensation. Anyway i said that it was just a couple of dollars worth of coins & it didnt really matter much to me. Just wanted to warn other travelers not to leave any attractive small, personal items in the room in case they get nicked too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to sharing your opinion with us. We are pleased to have the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

I was most concerned regarding the missing coins from your room and any misunderstanding that may have been caused in the way it was handled. Safety and security for our guest and team members is of paramount importance for us and when a serious issue such as missing items is raised, we conduct a thorough and serious investigation. After this in-depth process, we were unable to find where the coins had gone missing. As a gesture of good well – our Assistant Manager decided to offer you a small token of appreciation which was definitely not to compensate.

Once again, my apologies for any inconvenience and I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    635
    172
    52
    49
See reviews for
395
409
87
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

For its location, freebies (minibar, WiFi, parking) and room size on the island, this is perhaps the best value hotel we've been in. It's right next door to the Gurney Plaza (shares the same car park), the Gurney hawker center next door and about 50m away from the Paragon, a brand new (Aug 2013) colonial style luxury shopping center - giving you access to great food, a large choice of restaurants and huge range of shopping.

Furniture and fittings are not the most modern but the room sizes are great, clean with great water pressure (the single most disappointing feature in hotels we've been in has been weak water pressure n the shower). The water view is great but not so great during low tide as the exposed mud flats are a terrible off-putter.

Try to time you entry/exit from the hotel as traffic congestion can be a real killer.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hanra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our first time at the G hotel in Penang. The hotel suited our needs very well. Helpful staff and a welcoming and well stocked executive lounge . The rooms are large and comfortable ( although one of our rooms had a constant toilet problem - which was fixed more than once) The sea views are relaxing and the hotel well situated for mall shopping or a short walk to georgetown centre

Room Tip: avoid floor 15 close to the lounge if you want peace and quiet. although these are reasuring for lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sushaw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Checking out tomorrow after 4 nights here at the G hotel, We stayed in an executive room on the 14th floor with ocean views, the room is satisfactory although not big, we took a twin bed room as all other ocean view rooms were taken (after 43yrs married single beds for 4 nights was of no concern),we also had the benefits that come with an executive room e.g. free cocktails and canapés from 6-8pm in the executive lounge, free breakfast in either executive lounge or G café, you also get priority check in and check out.
We had our breakfasts in the G café each morning and it was very good with a wide variety of Asian and Western food, there was an egg station as well as a waffle and pancake station, service was very good throughout the hotel with rooms very clean as was the rest of the hotel.
It is positioned between 2 shopping malls, Gurney Plaza and Gurney Paragon so it is ideal for shoppers, there is a large food court in Gurney Plaza as well as a number of restaurants alongside the hotel, there is also a street food market 5 mins. walk away.
Overall I cannot fault this hotel and recommend it to other T/As.

Room Tip: go for executive benefits
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We just returned from a 5-day stay at the G, our 2nd in 2 years. We enjoyed it as much as the first. Curious about the negative comments as we did not see any of it. Our experience at the cafe and at the lounge was great as was the front desk. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superspots101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor.

It was great to hear you enjoy your 2nd stay with us and we hope to see you back in the near future for many more stays.

Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed as a family of four with two toddlers. My kids loved the pool but I thought it was a bit too cold and pool surface was a bit rough. The hotel service was good (especially the concierge, housekeeping and front desk). The location is superb as it is connected to Plaza Gurney, and today (23 July), another mega mall Paragon is opening next to the hotel, so its now in between two big shopping centers! We tried the nyonya food at ground floor of Plaza Gurney and the food was good. There is also a McD next door (you can see it from your check in counter, how convenient is that!), and there is also a salon called Aviation Professional that is behind the hotel - within 8 mins walk. For travelers that are meeting up with friends in Penang and would like to go to town to eat, this is a good place to stay vs Batu Feringgi beach which is further from town. We had a great 4 days in penang, and my kids didnt want to leave!

Room Tip: high floors with seafront view is superb. You wake up to a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing G Hotel as the preferred accommodation during your recent visit to Penang and I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It was great to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us in particular the location and service. In regards to the pool, we are carrying out resurfacing of the pool flooring next month so this has been addressed.

Once again, thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Many issues:

1. Front desk people are completely rude and not able to perform their jobs.
2. Room: 1) holes in curtains, dirty, AC not working correctly, cheap feeling.
3. Rude security

Don't bother staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesBay_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor.

By receiving guest feedback we are able to monitor our services and ensure we are provided the proper level, however on this occasion it appears we have failed. Guest service is our main priority and it was unacceptable that you have received such inconstancies from our Front Desk and Security personnel. I apologise on behalf of the team and I can assure you that action will be taken to ensure at this will not be the case in the future coupled with an in-depth re-training program of room cleanliness.

Once again please accept our apologises for the unpleasant experience and I do hope you will give us another chance to prove the usual high level of customer service expected from g Hotel.

Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,456 reviews
2.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,955 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Property: G Hotel Gurney
Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G Hotel is your urban thirst quenching oasis, prime for both discerning business and leisure travellers. Grand as it can be, the entrance lobby itself speaks volumes of the exclusivity of what lies within. Furnished with contemporary designs like the iconic Spoon Chair by Kartell, Felt Chair by Capellini and Shell Chair by Hansen, douse your senses with visual elegance and ergonomic comfort aimed at turning even the simplest act of waiting into a unique one. Rich in modern contemporary architecture and opulent interior designs, the 312-room hotel evokes a sense of grandeur, one which is left for you to experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing