We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky & Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of G Hotel Gurney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
G Hotel Gurney
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Funky & Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is a good 20 minute drive from the airport. The staff across the hotel; reception,restaurant,house keeping, and bar, are all very attentive and friendly.

I especially like the large downstairs bar, and spaciousness of the hotel in general.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisneville04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us. Your feedback is highly appreciated because guest satisfaction and comfort are our first priority.

I was delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable and our staff provided great service throughout your stay. Your comments have been shared with our team, to let them know that their efforts to provide quality service are being appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to have the opportunity personally to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    622
    171
    49
    48
See reviews for
385
401
85
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

G Hotel is perfectly located. Just far enough away from the main bustle of the city, yet near enough that a cab ride won't set you back. Just next to Gurney Plaza and a stone's throw away to the famous Gurney hawker. (Try the Penang laksa at stall 11!) Room is very spacious. I think a family of 5 can fit in. Staff is friendly and welcoming. The welcome ice-cream was a nice touch!

Room Tip: Face the sea at least partially.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darthfurbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us. Your feedback is highly appreciated because guest satisfaction and comfort are our main priority.

We truly appreciate your kind comments in regards to your recent stay, i.e. the location, the room and the excellent service rendered by our associates.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was the host for my company sales conference and we had a group of 60 participants who came from all over the country.

Besides on the great location, it was the excellent service rendered by it's Sales Director, Aldrin Loke that had made our event went smoothly.

My guests were impressed by the food quality (which is normally tasteless at a hotel), the extra free service given like the head and neck massage outside the ballrooom during the meeting break, the video games for the big boys to relax during the short toilet break and even an impromptu durian party requested by my boss at the 11th hour. And yet Aldrin managed to arranged that for us. Bravo to Aldrin.


All of my participants stayed at the executive floor and they were fully satisfied with the room and they also enjoyed the complimentary free flow drinks at the Executive Lounge in the evening.

We are highly satisfied customer and would definitely come back and have our future corporate events there .....if only Aldrin Loke is still there to take care of us.

Sam Koay
UMW Industries (1985) Sdn Bhd

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 298303Sam2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Sam,

I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us regarding your recent stay.

I was delighted to read that you were impressed with our strategic location, food & beverage and the activities provided during the coffee break of your meeting.

Your kind words regarding Aldrin are most appreciated and I have personally thanked Aldrin to let him know that his efforts to provide quality service are being appreciated.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed her for 4 nights. We wanted to stay somewhere out of the Georgetown cluster of hotels where everyone stays, but still within easy distance of all the attractions. G Hotel proved a great choice.

The hotel's public areas are very cool with a modern design. Our room was perhaps a bit too minimalist for our tastes and not quite as trendy as the public areas, but it was very spacious and the beds were very comfortable. We had breakfast each day at the ground floor cafe and it was very good with a wide selection.

The location is good. It is a short taxi ride to the UNESCO old town area, and a bus or hire car will easily take you to other sites of the island (we hired a car for just one day of our stay, which the concierge organised for us to be delivered and dropped off at the hotel for a very reasonable rate - this was a great way for us to easily explore different parts of the island). There is also quite a large shopping mall attached to the hotel.

There are a couple of hawker centres and quite a few restaurants a short walk from the hotel on Gurney Drive. More interesting eateries can also be found by walking just a few blocks back to the colourful Burmah Road area.

I enjoyed a treatment at the hotel's day spa, which again was very reasonably priced. The large infinity edged pool was big enough to do laps without disturbing other swimmers.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful. We left our camera in the room safe after we checked out and they were very helpful in getting it back to us.

Overall, G Hotel proved a great choice for us, and we would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotthumphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at G Hotel.

We were delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our hotel and services. Your gracious comments will serve as added inspiration to our team to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback which is highly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming back you in the future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in March 2013. I was in Penang for a short holiday with my husband. This is our first visit. The hotel is very modern and clean, while the room is very spacious and comfortable. The staff were efficient (e.g. fast check in and check out), friendly and were able to give us useful directions and advice on how to take public transportation to the places we wanted to go, as well as the opening hours of the famous char kway teow stalls in Penang!!

The only small problem we experienced was that there were no towels when we returned to the hotel one afternoon and wanted to refresh ourselves before our spa session. The chambermaid had forgotten to replace the used with new towels. However, this problem was speedily resolved with a phone call to the service center.

On the day of our check-out, the rooms division manager, Ms Punitha Mary, personally apologised to us for the problem and she left us with a very positive impression of how G Hotel takes it service seriously!

Room Tip: You can ask for the sea-facing unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HLCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your stay in our hotel. We are always glad to hear from our guests.

It is good to read that overall you enjoy the stay at our hotel and were happy with our team members. We were sorry however that the towels were not replenished as per our standard and it has been raised to our Executive Housekeeper.

Once again, thank you for your constructive and valuable feedback. We will always welcome the opportunity to improve our services.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here 2nd time for business trip, this is a fairly new and modern hotel with great service and room. It is next to a shopping mall and the seaside. The room comes with complimentary minibar. There's a lot of food around the hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Convenient location - next to shopping mall & Gurney drive street food (but food quality not as a good).
Ask local Penangites where they get their favorite street food.
Rent a car to drive around to check out their recommendations.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimchizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,320 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Property: G Hotel Gurney
Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G Hotel is your urban thirst quenching oasis, prime for both discerning business and leisure travellers. Grand as it can be, the entrance lobby itself speaks volumes of the exclusivity of what lies within. Furnished with contemporary designs like the iconic Spoon Chair by Kartell, Felt Chair by Capellini and Shell Chair by Hansen, douse your senses with visual elegance and ergonomic comfort aimed at turning even the simplest act of waiting into a unique one. Rich in modern contemporary architecture and opulent interior designs, the 312-room hotel evokes a sense of grandeur, one which is left for you to experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing