We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quite a good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of G Hotel Gurney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
G Hotel Gurney
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quite a good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I went on holiday to stay at the G hotel. We had heard the Eastern and Oriental may be a bit dated so we thought we woudl try this one. This is not in the central part of Georgetown but only about 15MYR (3 pounds) taxi to Georgetown so not bad. The plus i that it is next to the main Hawker Street food stalls (where loads of people eat in Georgetown so it was a plus!). Also, its on the outskirt of the town which makes it easy (to avoid traffic) to go to any of the sights - batu ferrenghi, Kek Lok Si temple (amazing!). If you like your known chains as well, its essentially attached to to a mall. We didnt get the breakfast package because food in Penang is supposed to be amazing and handy to have a starbucks right next door for morning coffee :) The room we got - i think executive premier room was massive and although very modern, was VERY nice. A four poster bed and all. The service is the only reason we rate this down. Front desk and concierge staff were not all that friendly and not great at recommendations etc. The pool area is quite nice and clean and nice for an afternoon break. We did go to the E&O hotel for a poolside hotel and were well impressed...its beautiful and more of a leisure hotel than the business hotel that G was like. (but dont know what the rooms are like). Overall we had a good stay and since we knew it was a more modern business hotel when we booked, it met our expectations.

Room Tip: Premier executive with four poster was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radro2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    563
    157
    43
    44
See reviews for
341
365
79
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bukit Mertajam, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here with a friend during the recent Thaipusam festivities..... G-hotel is practically like a designer hotel, the lobby, the toilets and shops are all well designed and looks chic and savvy..... Check in was a breeze and the staff at the front desk were courteous and friendly..... The room well for the price we paid, i think it was rather steep, the beds were the below average as it was like rock solid and the king size bed was actually 2 super single bed tucked in together which makes the bed looks huge and good enough for 3 people to sleep on it..... the shower was good.... the pool was good and the breakfast there i can say is one of the better ones compared to the other hotels as it serves well for foreigners and locals..... Overall i would say this is avery good hotel but room refurbishment will need to be done soon as it seems to be getting a bit worn out..... Another plus point is the Gurney plaza next door which is super convenient and the the open air food court a few metres away... Food is definitely not a problem around this hotel..... Overall i would rate this hotel as good except for the hard beds!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you plan to drive to this hotel and have your car parked at their car park, please think twice. Recent experience was after payment was made to the paying machine, the balance was not returned. After trying to locate the security officer around the car park and through the intercom system to get back,the balance, I found that there was no security officer present. This has been the 2nd time this has happened. The hotel never bother to upgrade their paying machine nor have a security officer around for this matter or,even to ensure safety of the car park users. Please also,do not have any new Malaysian notes on hand to pay because the machine never takes them. Overall a very bad experience on parking and also lack of security especially at the car park area.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank fredtaney3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a business trip and even though I don't pay for it is on the expensive side. Taking into consideration the proximity to a shopping mall convenience and local street food court within walking distance, I would say that is the price to pay for the convenience. The room, facilities are all excellent and expected. The breakfast & lunch buffet however is a suprise, much better than most hotels of equal standards.
I liked the welcome ice cream. Perfect.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kadettkrawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I absolutely love this hotel. It is tucked along Gurney Drive and just beside Gurney Shopping Mall (set up by Singapore's Capitaland). Nearby is the famous Gurney food street with all the delectable Penang eats you can find. The hotel welcomes guests with ice cream (not sure if they still do) and the rooms and lobby are all new and modern. There is a McDonald's beside it - in case u need an early breakfast or late supper. Look out of the window to see the sea and at night, walk along Gurney Drive to find restaurants and makeshift stalls hawking different wares and food. It is also easily accessible from the heritage sites and beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I don't usually post reviews of the many business hotels I stay in for work, on the basis that as I don't pay for it I'm not entitled to pass judgment. But the rock-hard beds at the G really need to be mentioned. Awful, awful sleep. And the so-called 'King' was actually two singles pushed together, leaving a big (and hard) ridge down the middle.

I was only there for <10 hours but in that time I also encountered the usual patchy Malaysian service - e.g. it took SIX phone calls to get one shirt pressed, each requiring me to get increasingly annoyed. And then the shirt was not back the next morning when I'd requested, nearly delaying my very tight timeline. Not great.

As others have said, the lobby is awesome but the rooms look fairly "un-funky" (though the bathrooms have some nice design touches). Pool is big, good for laps. Did not get a chance to use gym but it looks good too. Location is OK for tourists but a long way from the Free Trade Zone and airport for business travelers.

If I were going back as a tourist I’d definitely stay at one of the smaller boutique hotels that are springing up in the old town. Not much of shopaholic so proximity to the mall is of no value to me. And the beach, while pleasant to look at, cannot be swum in.

Had the bed not so rock-hard, and it not taken far too much of my limited time to get something really basic – a shirt pressing done – I’d probably be better-disposed towards this place. But as of now, I’d not return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

As many reviews say- its a good hotel with all the facilities you need.
Located well with the mall next door and lots of opportunities to eat any type of cuisine. Markets are a few minutes walk for food and were always packed.
Breakfast was great- best we had on our trip around the region. Though if I want to b picky they could have had more continental cold meats.
We had a standard room which looked over the bay for a lovely view. I wouldn't bother upgrading as these rooms were large and had all that we needed. Im picky about beds and these were firm- no sagging !! Good choice of pillows as well. Toiletries nice and plentiful.

Room Tip: standard rooms are good if you get a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hamiriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#11 of 78 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 78 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 2,748 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 stars 2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 78 in George Town
5.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#13 of 78 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 78 in George Town
5.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Property: G Hotel Gurney
Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G Hotel is your urban thirst quenching oasis, prime for both discerning business and leisure travellers. Grand as it can be, the entrance lobby itself speaks volumes of the exclusivity of what lies within. Furnished with contemporary designs like the iconic Spoon Chair by Kartell, Felt Chair by Capellini and Shell Chair by Hansen, douse your senses with visual elegance and ergonomic comfort aimed at turning even the simplest act of waiting into a unique one. Rich in modern contemporary architecture and opulent interior designs, the 312-room hotel evokes a sense of grandeur, one which is left for you to experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing