We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock-hard beds!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of G Hotel Gurney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
G Hotel Gurney
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Rock-hard beds!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I don't usually post reviews of the many business hotels I stay in for work, on the basis that as I don't pay for it I'm not entitled to pass judgment. But the rock-hard beds at the G really need to be mentioned. Awful, awful sleep. And the so-called 'King' was actually two singles pushed together, leaving a big (and hard) ridge down the middle.

I was only there for <10 hours but in that time I also encountered the usual patchy Malaysian service - e.g. it took SIX phone calls to get one shirt pressed, each requiring me to get increasingly annoyed. And then the shirt was not back the next morning when I'd requested, nearly delaying my very tight timeline. Not great.

As others have said, the lobby is awesome but the rooms look fairly "un-funky" (though the bathrooms have some nice design touches). Pool is big, good for laps. Did not get a chance to use gym but it looks good too. Location is OK for tourists but a long way from the Free Trade Zone and airport for business travelers.

If I were going back as a tourist I’d definitely stay at one of the smaller boutique hotels that are springing up in the old town. Not much of shopaholic so proximity to the mall is of no value to me. And the beach, while pleasant to look at, cannot be swum in.

Had the bed not so rock-hard, and it not taken far too much of my limited time to get something really basic – a shirt pressing done – I’d probably be better-disposed towards this place. But as of now, I’d not return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    596
    161
    47
    46
See reviews for
364
384
82
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

As many reviews say- its a good hotel with all the facilities you need.
Located well with the mall next door and lots of opportunities to eat any type of cuisine. Markets are a few minutes walk for food and were always packed.
Breakfast was great- best we had on our trip around the region. Though if I want to b picky they could have had more continental cold meats.
We had a standard room which looked over the bay for a lovely view. I wouldn't bother upgrading as these rooms were large and had all that we needed. Im picky about beds and these were firm- no sagging !! Good choice of pillows as well. Toiletries nice and plentiful.

Room Tip: standard rooms are good if you get a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hamiriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
470 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here over Christmas for 3 nights. It is a little way out of central Georgetown but taxis are plentiful and cheap
I paid for a club level room. Not sure if it was really worth the money. It was very busy and I struggled to get a seat and there was only one of me! Then all the evening snacks had gone within 15 minutes and they were replaced by substandard food
However, my room was huge. Separate lounge and bedroom area. iPod docks were a nice touch. Their was a mini bar in the room and they quite happily filled it with Diet Coke for me! They soft drinks in the minibar were free - another nice touch
Bathroom was also excellent, large bath and separate large shower. I used the spa excellent treatments and good value
Pool area and bar also very good. It was decked and had an infinity pool. Good place to cool off at the end of the day
I had a great view out of my window out to sea.
The staff were very helpful and helped to make my stay.
There is a shopping mall next door and a selection of food restaurants, more chain restaurants but handy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The great part of staying in this hotel is the night market and the Gurney Shopping Mall are next to you. You have easy access to places to eat delicious Malay food. Breakfast in the hotel is great for the start of everyday.

Staff in the hotel are nice and helpful. We had airport transfer arranged, but our flight arrived few hours earlier than the schedule. We rang the hotel once we arrived and they rearrange a coach for us (It is a 8 ppl trip with my 80s grandma)

During our stay is during my Aunt birthday, a complimentary birthday cake (Chocolate cake) have been arranged. And it tastes really good.

** Complimentary Welcome ice-cream are a surprise for us.

Although the view of the hotel is not as great as other beachside Penang hotel, the internal design and clearness add mark for the stay. Overall, nice accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June0617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is located great, with amazing breakfast, probably better than most other hotels that I have ever stay in. I would pick this hotel for future stays only for its breakfast. However it was getting painted, so paint smell was intolerable at times, which could have been avoided.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the ocean would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
132 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

A superb hotel right on the "beach" and next to the Gurney Shopping Mall, with ahuge choice of western style diners, coffee bars and bars next door. Complimentary Ice Cream on arrival?? Mini Bar food and drinks is also free (but no alcohol)

Room Tip: Go for a sea view if you can. The suites are brilliant, but call the hotel for the best deal. They w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, NL
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

When you look at the map, the hotel seems to be at the seaside, but sea is often far away due to tides.
Swimming pool is on 3rd floor, next to is there are smaller pool, showers, Jacuzzi, bar and toilets with "eko-washer" (if you haven't seen it before it's something you must try, even if you don't need. I wish I've it at home).
Staff was friendly and helpful but their English (cleaning service) could be bit better, so we could avoid funny mistakes. Eg. I said them that I don't need more water because I've 4 bottles and .... I got another 4.
The choice of food for breakfast was good. There was Asian and European versions, freshly made waffles and pancakes and selection of fruits.
Parking was free for visitors. Internet as well.
Next to hotel there is big shopping center, where you can find a lot of restaurants if you don't want to eat in the hotel.
The only disadvantage was price, but quality was higher than in the other Malaysian hotels we visited.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 79 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 79 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#15 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
2.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 79 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Property: G Hotel Gurney
Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G Hotel is your urban thirst quenching oasis, prime for both discerning business and leisure travellers. Grand as it can be, the entrance lobby itself speaks volumes of the exclusivity of what lies within. Furnished with contemporary designs like the iconic Spoon Chair by Kartell, Felt Chair by Capellini and Shell Chair by Hansen, douse your senses with visual elegance and ergonomic comfort aimed at turning even the simplest act of waiting into a unique one. Rich in modern contemporary architecture and opulent interior designs, the 312-room hotel evokes a sense of grandeur, one which is left for you to experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, ACCOR, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing