We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel on Gurney Drive, Penang”
Review of G Hotel Gurney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
G Hotel Gurney
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel on Gurney Drive, Penang”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

You get a welcome ice cream on arrival. Located on northern part of Penang island on Gurney Drive (4 km from city center), seaview rooms offer a good view of the strait. Pleasant staff, but a bit of a wait if there are many guests. The room is great, bed good. The minibar is free! Gurney Drive (road), is a favorite place for locals to come to with their families and friends at night to enjoy the breeze and local restaurants. Gurney Plaza next door offers a variety of restaurants and shops. There is a hawker center and many local restaurants along Gurney Drive.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms, especially on higher floors, offer a good view of the Northern Strait of Penang.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielChewMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    642
    173
    52
    49
See reviews for
401
414
87
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Lobby area is lovely as is the staff and the ice cream given to you when you check in. The gym was modern and excellent. The free juice in the mini bar was a nice touch.
The rooms are huge, but they are getting dated and need a really good scrub. My room felt tired and really dirty. Stains on the carpet and in the shower, and water marks on the walls.
I am guessing that when this hotel opened, and everything was new, the rooms were fantastic.
In all fairness, before my stay here I came from a spotless hotel in Singapore, so maybe things seemed worse than they really were, but I don't think so.
I stayed at the E&O a few years ago and would definitely prefer to stay there over the G next time I am in Georgetown.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happysun16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
154 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel 3 nights and enjoyed all aspects of it. The rooms are quite nice, particularly the Club level rooms, as is the Club Lounge. Breakfast is very good with lots of options. The lobby area is very comfortable and being next to a large mall with lots of food outlets and theaters is a plus. Very friendly staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Reumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

G Hotel is near to the famous Gurney Drive food centre and a shopping mall. If it rains, you can walk to the mall and eat in the food court. Room is spacious and clean. So is the bathroom. Only gripe is the wireless internet connection. Even though it is free, the connection keeps dropping and after much try, we gave up. G Hotel should improve on this.

As the others have mentioned, the minibar drinks and chocolates are free and you can ask for top-up anytime. Quite generous, I must say. Check-in service is very pleasant, staff are courteous and we were offered ice cream while we wait.

Overall experience is good, even though we were out most of the time and only came back to room late at night. It's comfortable enough for us to want to come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Overall it was a very good experience. The hotel gave us a free upgrade to L suite because our request for double beds rooms weren't available. Impressed! The toilet is spacious and room is very clean! The L suite is so huge!!! And what's best is that the bar item in the room is totally free! Free chocolate plus drinks.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank etan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Arrived at 11.30 am after a long flight from Melbourne and layover in Kuala Lumpur. Check in was quick and efficient and we got a room immediately although it was before the official check in time .

We booked into a deluxe room for 7 nights but got upgraded into a suite for the 7 nights. Nice.

The wi -fi is not great in the room, working only in the common areas. I took to sitting in the lobby to check my emails. However, when I mentioned it to hotel reception, he contacted their IT person and I had her on the phone for 10 + minutes to see if she could assist. She couldn't but the effort was appreciated.

Room is comfortable . I like my mattress firm and it was just right. If you prefer a softer bed, mattress pads are available on request.

Location is fantastic unless you are after a beach to sun yourself at and sea you can swim in. G Hotel is close to town, close to many restaurants and next door to a large shopping complex.

The Hawker centre down the road has awesome satays and oyster omelettes.

Forget Kenny Rogers restaurant in the plaza, incredibly rude staff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here when they first opened seven years ago and didn't like it but I'm happy to say they got all the kinks worked out so it's now my favorite place to stay. The rooms are big, the furnishings are very modern and artsy and the location is great being right next to the upscale Gurney Plaza Mall. Pros are the spacious rooms, location, free minibar (although it's limited to 4 cans of soda and 2 small kit-kat bars), good breakfast and friendly staff.
The bed is rather hard but if you ask, you can get a "mattress topper" which is a foam pad they put under the sheets to make it more comfortable.
If you don't like their selection of sodas for the minibar (coke, 7up, Soya and Lychee drink) you can ask that they stock it with other drinks (diet coke).
The coffee at breakfast is good but there's always a Starbucks just outside the door.
My co-workers did have problems that it took a while to fix: airconditioner did not work for 4 days leaving her room like a sauna and another complained of water dripping from the ceiling.
As I recall they did have a problem with a went carpet the last time I stayed so I guess it's going to depend on the room you get.

Room Tip: The view towards the water is nice but it's noisier than the back or pool facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grncab97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 84 in George Town
411 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,495 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,127 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
2.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Property: G Hotel Gurney
Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G Hotel is your urban thirst quenching oasis, prime for both discerning business and leisure travellers. Grand as it can be, the entrance lobby itself speaks volumes of the exclusivity of what lies within. Furnished with contemporary designs like the iconic Spoon Chair by Kartell, Felt Chair by Capellini and Shell Chair by Hansen, douse your senses with visual elegance and ergonomic comfort aimed at turning even the simplest act of waiting into a unique one. Rich in modern contemporary architecture and opulent interior designs, the 312-room hotel evokes a sense of grandeur, one which is left for you to experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing