We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
G Hotel Gurney
Nearby Hotels
Seven Terraces(George Town)
$176
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$70
HotelJen.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
$133
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
$39
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,762)
Filter reviews
1,762 results
Traveler rating
767
702
186
54
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
767
702
186
54
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive floorwelcome ice creamshopping mallsea viewkit kathotel penangfree mini barfood centrebig shoppingmodern designbatu ferringhilocal foodupon checkhotel lobbychecking inextra bednight market
Filter
Updating list...
1,054 - 1,059 of 1,762 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Have stayed here on a few occasions, whenever I am in Georgetown for short visits. The entry into the hotel can be quite intimidating for drivers like me who have phobias of basement car parking. Its times like these, driving a car with power steering is a must. But once you have gotten past that, the lobby that greets you is dramatically the opposite. It is spacious and open, chic and has a degree of functional minimalist touch to it. I like that. None of the namby pamby appointments that could give you the impression of a boudoir rather than a luxury business hotel. Its decor says it is a business hotel and the hotel does it with style. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Just like the hotel lobby, its tastefully no fuss appointed room may be cold to some but I think it hits the mark. I did not try any of the F & B outlets as there are plenty of food outside the hotel. On top of that its conveniently located adjacent to a top notch mall e.g. Gurney Plaza. There is even a very good authentic Korean restaurant closeby. Plenty of night activities around the hotel with the numerous pubs located closeby. In short, the location of the hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HCLung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We like its location, really so convenient. It is next to Gurney Plaza and the local hawker food stalls at Gurney Drive. The hotel is very modern in design. The room is really huge, bright and clean. The bed and pillow are so comfortable. Its free wifi in rooms is really convenient for us, not to mention its complimentary soft drinks at the mini-bar. The gym is large and very well-equipped. We would like to come back to this hotel for its convenient location, and would recommend it to all travellers to Penang.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelholic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights over the Hari Raya holiday period. The hotel is very modern and the rooms are large with excellent amenities. Water and soft drinks are provided free in the fridge It has a large gym and nice infinity pool with loungers. We had the buffet breakfast which was excellent, and quite reasonably priced. Absolutely no complaints about the quality or service at the hotel.

However a word for the wise, do NOT stay here (or anywhere along Gurney Road) during any Malaysian holiday, as the location (Gurney Road) means that you are constantly stuck in traffic jams, it took nearly 45 minutes in a cab from Georgetown one evening. On another occasion it took us at least 10 minutes just to get onto the Gurney Road from the hotel entrance! In fact one night many cab drivers refused to take us to the G Hotel as they knew it was not worth their effort which was very frustrating. If you are going during public holidays its probably best to stay at the resorts at Batu Ferringhi, that’s what most of the cab drivers and locals were telling us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pies1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just completing my stay in an Executive room at the G Hotel and it's all good!
The executive lounge is worth the extra and snacks and drinks are very good.
Ideally placed with the massive Gurney Plaza shopping centre next door and local shops and hawker foodcourts on the doorstep you'll not find a greater contrast in many places,From thousands of RM for a watch to 5RM for a bowl of food it's all here. Please stay and enjoy!
Richard

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Richard1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was at G Hotel for 6 days in August 2012 for a 'foodie' holiday. It is in a great location, being on Gurney Drive, almost next to the Gurney Drive Hawker Centre (where the famous Swee Hoe Rojak stall is located). Right next door (2 min walk going through the rear) is the Gurney Plaza Shopping Centre. Good for shopping and nicely airconditioned. If I go back to Penang, I would stay there again. Now, about the hotel itself, the staff are very nice and friendly. The hotel had a complimentary ice cream on arrival. The pool is wonderful. Not crowded, but maybe it is because it is not a traditional holiday period. Anyway, it is a great pool and jacuzzi. The room is modern with all the usual amenities. We got upgraded to a King Size bed room which has a great large bathroom (with shower and a bathtub), and we got a sea-view! Or rather, we got "Silt-view". The beach in front of the esplanade is now getting silted up due to some tidal issues, not that it is any fault of the hotel. I do have a complaint - I wanted to have a plate and a knife and a couple of forks for some fruit I bought, but the hotel wanted to charge me a 'nominal' fee of Ringgit 9.90. I am not impressed with this, should be a free service. Next time, I will bring my own. Nevertheless, the G Hotel is convenient, and I like it. You can grab a cab out front easily. There is usually a row of cabs waiting. Ringgit 10.00 or 12.00 can get you into the foodie area of Pulau Tikus. Remember to bargain with the cabbie before starting the journey. All in all, a very good place to stay - for location, amenities and the pool.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room. It makes the stay much more special.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews