We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay at the G”
Review of G Hotel Gurney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G Hotel Gurney
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay at the G”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

we recently spent 3 nights here in a standard room.excellent choice as it turned out.the room was clean and spacious overlooking the sea (mud flats).furnishings were ok as was the bathroom with free mini bar (soft drink & a kit kat) that is replenished every day.lobby area is very spacious and stylish.plenty of seating so a good place to just sit and relax.a more than acceptable breakfast with a fairly good variety.freshly squeezed juices.air con worked well & bed was comfortable.all staff were great and helpful,with check in & out very quick with free home made ice-cream on arrival.newspaper on door every morning.
free wi-fi but doesn't work too well in the room so found we had to go down to lobby for good connection which was not so bad as lobby is a nice area to chill out.pool area is very good, though the pool itself is great it could be deeper as is only 1.2m deep only throughout with no deeper end.a minor thing only.
next door is the biggest shopping mall in penang so can be a busy road at front,but no noise once in room.gurney hawker centre up the road, ok but the long beach centre in batu ferringhi much better imo.to get to batu ferringhi was a rm30 taxi ride with rm15 to get to downtown georgetown.the hotel has restaurants and a night club.
overall a great location and would recommend this hotel,though a little more expensive than most in georgetown we thought it was worth it.a great stay,wish we could of stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alpha1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    649
    176
    52
    51
See reviews for
411
416
88
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Much more than we expected, in luxurious appointments, outstanding service, cleanliness and friendly, helpful staff. GREAT pool. It's the small things, too - like lotions and extras for the bathroom. Clean, oversized
room, comfortable bed, quiet A/C. Keyed access to the floors and in-room safe added to our sense of comfort and security. Adjacent to the (huge) Gurney Plaza and a short walk to the evening food market, the location is nearly ideal.
One downer was when we went to extend our stay from 2 to 6 days, the room rate quoted was substantially higher than our online rate - for an inferior room. (Not the first time that's happened to us.) I declined and booked online again, securing the better rate - and we kept our seaview room.
Great spot. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgary68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Ice cream at check-in, a wonderful breakfast, and nice views of the sea along Gurney Drive make this an excellent choice for a hotel in George Town!

One of the few downsides - although they offer free WiFi in every room, the speed is sometimes painfully slow.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yekatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

A very good 5* hotel in Penang. Great location on Gurney Drive, next to a sizable shopping mall, hawkers stall. Gurney Drive itself comes to life at night. It has all the amenities one expects for a 5* establishment. Outstanding and attentive service. Quite hard to fault. Nice sized room (deluxe). Will stay again if I'm heading to Penang.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anab85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I have stayed at the G 3 times over the past few years and on the surface, G Hotel is stylish, sleek and quite a cool place to be. However, my last visit really did not meet expectations, the checkin was slow and sloppy and staff seemed disinterested.
The hotel is directly opposite the ocean and next to a shopping mall and plenty to see and do outside the hotel.
Checkin - slow
Rooms - nice and large but not cleaned and rubbish in the bins.
Restaurant - Only had breakfast here this time and lacking in service, wait staff busily chatting behind a screen whilst tables were left with dirty plates etc as people left.
I stayed at Traders prior to finding the G but have now just booked The Eastin at Queensbay as closer to the industrial zone which is the purpose of my visits. Will see how I go.
I haven't written the G off quite yet but they do need to lift their game

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Good all round modern hotel. Very close to the hawker food centre and other great restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

My family & I recently stayed in the G Hotel in Jan 2012. We have been going to the G Hotel since it started operations. We are happy to add that on the whole we remained impressed with this centrally located hotel in Penang.
We were very pleased with the standard of the rooms- clean and spacious, the services of staff - housekeeping, bell service and the operator service. We feel that there could be some improvement with the reception service, during checking in and out of the hotel - we feel staff could be more informative and "receptive" to queries.

The G Hotel as many readers have commented is situated next to the Gurney Plaza, which is probably Penang's busiest shopping mall, and where many locals 'hang out' esp. in the evenings and weekends. The hawker stalls next to the hotel also served as an 'food' alternative to the mall's and hotel's restaurants & cafes. The G Hotel is an excellant hotel to stay, and used as a based to tour the island, shop, relax, and enjoy the local hawker food!

We will return to stay at the G Hotel in future.

Room Tip: Ask for standard rooms, as they have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe8168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 84 in George Town
449 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
3,583 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
5.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,347 reviews
4.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Property: G Hotel Gurney
Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G Hotel is your urban thirst quenching oasis, prime for both discerning business and leisure travellers. Grand as it can be, the entrance lobby itself speaks volumes of the exclusivity of what lies within. Furnished with contemporary designs like the iconic Spoon Chair by Kartell, Felt Chair by Capellini and Shell Chair by Hansen, douse your senses with visual elegance and ergonomic comfort aimed at turning even the simplest act of waiting into a unique one. Rich in modern contemporary architecture and opulent interior designs, the 312-room hotel evokes a sense of grandeur, one which is left for you to experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing