We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveler rating
29
135
112
43
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
135
112
43
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an older hotel breakfast room minute walk budget hotels breakfast is served simple breakfast quiet street red garden heritage area fridge tv georgetown bath penang wardrobe
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 342 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

This place has seen better days but has still got a lot going for it.
Large rooms with desk, sitting area, and fridge with bathroom having shower over the bath,
We had a corner balcony room at the front and it had good light and cross ventilation when the balcony door was open.
The best thing going for the place is the extremely friendly staff who make the place a lot brighter due to the happy,friendly greeting you get.
Rooftop breakfast area with free simple breakfast including real coffee, fruit juice and cereals and toast with spreads.
Good value if you are not to fussy about the surroundings.
We stayed 3 weeks and enjoyed Penang for the very friendly locals and the fantastic food.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
3  Thank CHight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

I have read many reviews on it which wasn't very encouraging. However I decided to try since it offers carpark. However it appears better than expected. Not as old as reviewed, perhaps some changes been done. Receptionist were OK. The morning breakfast was simple as expected. Couldn't ask for more with this budget price in squeezy Georgetown.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Jonathanlct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mingood, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mingood, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

You are an honest man

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017

I stayed a night in Aug, Hotel Mingood is basic but better than some new budget hotels from the point of cleanses, specious with balcony, TV, Wardrobe, fridge, safe box & good scent at lobby & room (cos one night I stayed at Tune hotel Penang, level7 room given us whole floor & room were smelly, they changed another room then it was ok). Best thing is very nice friendly staffs make simple breakfast yummy at rooftop, helpful & friendly house keeping & reception staffs, free flow of drinking water at lobby. if Hotel Mingood do renovation, room price will increase as well as it will increase it's value as excellent hotel in George Town. I recommend highly that Hotel Mingood is the best value you will get in Penang town.

Room Tip: room with balcony be nice
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhyuPhyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017

WE stayed in this hotel 3 times since 2013 and everytime is good . The location is very convenient as you can walk to the market , shop and local eateries in 3 minutes , its safe and offer many bus routes near by , so you actually dont have to use taxi to go anywhere . The price is cheap compare to other hotels yet the rooms are big and the breakfast is generous . There is a roof garden to enjoy also . The staffers are very helpful and personal like home folks . THere are a few very inexpensive and good Malay and Indian , Chinese restaurants nearby plus the market is only 5 minutes away . WE love this place and we will continue to stay here in the future . The only drawback is it does not have a pool , but even so its price and offer is a rare bargain in town.

Room Tip: Book online in the official hotel site and save 20% , no need to go thru agents
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sub C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2017

This is an older hotel and it's showing its age. That being said, we had a good experience there: the staff were friendly, the breakfast was simple but sufficient, Wi-Fi worked well, and they have free clean water in the lobby (points for being eco-friendly). It's a 15 minute walk to Love Lane and the tourist hotspots. The shower curtain was a little dirty and there was a persistent odor throughout the hotel. However, if you're not that picky, this is a good hotel for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms by the street can get a little noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews