We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, clean and safe”
Review of Hotel Mingood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mingood
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Basic, clean and safe”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Not a mansion, but did us, myself and 2 girlfriends. We had two big rooms and own bathroom, good water pressure but not flash!! Staff friendly, room clean and very quiet at night. Basic breakfast but enough to fill you up. Good location for shops and markets. Did have to put a $50 deposit on for a kettle (got it back on return) and then had to ask for 3 coffee cups!!! We Kiwi's just couldn't drink the coffee over there and had brought our own. Staff happy to suggest eating places and where to get to places. We felt safe on our stay there and felt for the price it was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    127
    105
    40
    21
See reviews for
38
104
60
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sfax - Tunisia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I visited this place with my husband for three days and our stay was very refreshing and comfortable. I really felt like being in my own home. Every process was smooth from beginning till end. Staff is very friendly and went out of their way to help us. Rooms are good, spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Food was amazing and coffee was outstanding. No complaints. I will definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
245 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

It was a pleasure to get a rom that we could walk around comfortably; furnished with a small desk, table and sofa and usual appliances. Though looking rather old and a bit worn in places it is still a clean, good value room. We much prefer this to a modern shoebox. It is within walking distance of the CBD, the backpacker centre and plenty of cheap food outlets. Staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. The breakfast is a standard European one, cereals, toast & jams, fruit, juices and hot drinks. Eggs cooked in the standard ways are available for an small extra cost. Would recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwisnowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Hotel could do with a bit of a refurbishment but its still great value for money. Walking distance to most of the tourist attractions, shops and nightlife. Hotel is clean and you'll get a good nights sleep here. Would recommend if your on a budget

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveljunkieforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Have rated it very good but only for value for money. It's a budget Hotel that doesn't pretend to be anything else. The rooms are big and clean, has shower that works, faster wi-fi in the room than the last 4 star hotel I stayed in here, quiet a/c, its own balcony, mini bar & TV and a lift. On top of that it has a roof garden with the breakfast restaurant in it though limited choice for breakfast.
It's certainly not the Ritz but you are not paying Ritz prices. Have booked in for another because the room is suits my life style and the staff are friendly. Another plus: they have a landing library of English books (take 1, leave 1)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eagleeyePrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The reception area is clean and welcoming but the rooms are not!! I'm not one to complain about dirt but there was thick hair all over the carpet and the bed sheets were stained with blood, the toilet didn't flush and nobody came to fix it! The corridors were dirty and I found all the warning signs about burglars quite off putting! Loved Georgetown but don't stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

St Mary's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed here a few weeks ago, for a 2 night stay. Friendly staff. Big rooms. Hotel in need of refurbishment and renovation. Ok for the money. Would pay a little bit more and have a newer nicer room. Also dark on the way back to hotel better to get rickshaw or taxi just to be safe.
Breakfast limited continental.. umm ok but could do much better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScillyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.9 mi away
G Times Inn
G Times Inn
#53 of 84 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#33 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#49 of 84 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ink Hotel
Ink Hotel
#44 of 84 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mingood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mingood

Property: Hotel Mingood
Address: Hotel Mingood Jalan Argyll, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mingood 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, stylish hostel living at the most affordable price! 5 star quality hostel! Located just a 2 minute walk to the chic area of the city! We are a licensed accommodation provider where secure quality accommodation and excellent services are our top priority. Free WI-FI, ISIC card welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mingood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingood Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Mingood Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing