We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheap hotel,great location,friendly staff,free Wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mingood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mingood
Ranked #47 of 77 Hotels in George Town
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great cheap hotel,great location,friendly staff,free Wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the second time i have stayed here ,i find it to be a good cheap safe place to stay.
Although the hotel and rooms need a birthday ,the rooms are huge with good aircon,free wifi and some have a flatscreen TV.You cant expect too much for this price range in Malaysia .
The location is great,five minute walk to good bars ,restaurants and all the local food.
The breakfast is basic ,toast,cereal,nice coffee and fruit ,but the staff are great and they will cook you some eggs or sausages for a couple of Ringett.Great view from up in the restaurant too.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a look at the rooms,some are uglier than others,some have flat screen TV and fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    120
    94
    36
    20
See reviews for
37
98
51
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
south Wales
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

10 minute walk to just about anywhere in George town.
Good hotel very spacious rooms and well furnished.
wifi was a bit unstable but engineers out within the hour to solve the problem. Thought that was very prompt.
Breakfast basic but fresh bread and plenty of juice.
Staff were pleasant.
Restaurant directly opposite good value but far from authentic.

Penang / George town itself pretty underwhelming. Not pedestrian friendly at all extremely heavy traffic and difficult and dangerous to cross any roads.

Automobile rules are if you can get your bike or car on it. Its a road. Beware of motorcycleists travelling up the pavement on one way streets. Be prepared to spend most of your time walking along the main roads as cars park on the pavement that is divided by a network of open drainage.

I love street food, but hereChoose your dining based on the locals. We found some great places to eat but also witnessed Raw chicken being prepped directly on the pavement next to a stagnant drain. And I mean on the pavement. Just be wary of what facilities where you eat have to offer.

Butterfly sanctuary was very good and worth a visit.

Room Tip: room 112 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoyagerMV1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

As you can see, that the hotel is pretty old and a bit spooky for me. But the room was quite spacious and clean from bottom to top.
It's really worth the money for me, i choose this hotel because it has eleator even if the elevator is as old as the hotel. well, atleast it work :))
Do i want to stay there again? yep. i love the idea of breakfast on the rooftop.

Room Tip: i think every room is the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here just for one night - and it was fine just for one night - but probably wouldn't choose it again and wouldn't particularly recommend it. It does have quite a good location - walking distance from all the main attractions in Georgetown. However, the hotel itself is very basic and the rooms are very worn and outdated. The bedrooms are a good size but just felt really old and the bathroom could do with updating too. The breakfast wasn't great - just cereal and toast I think.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been recently updated (if there are any).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlouisedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ommen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Hotel doesn't need renovation, it need demolition. Price (around 50 euro's per night) was too high for this standard. Room was reasonably clean and very spacious though. Staff was friendly, breakfast was ok though there was very little choice. Bathroom was very old and not looking fresh at all. Toilet wouldn't flush properly, stains, very worn tap, etc. There was a couch on the entrance of the floor we were on that looked like it had to be thrown away 12 years ago. I would only stay here if the price is 20 euro's a night and you're on a tight budget, because the location is good. 5 minutes of walking will take you to Penang road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koba_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Budget Hotel which has seen better times. Relatively clean, large rooms and generous sized fridge, but no kettle provided.
Shop around to get best rates, rates on different sites ranged from RM100 to RM170 a night for the same room when I booked. (try hostelbookers )
Most of the staff were friendly and easygoing, except for one woman at reception who was more like a ticket inspector in attitude: when we checked out after a week's stay, her parting words were "ok, thats it, you can go" - and thanks for your hospitality too!!
Breakfast was basic, just muesli, toast and jam tea and coffee and cordial. You have to pay extra for eggs, etc... don't bother, just go across the road for Malaysian breakfast which is ten times better, and cheaper too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honestned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

PROS: Helpful and friendly staff.
Good location to Red Garden food court and shopping centre.
Clean spacious rooms with balcony.
They have a safe and large cupboard.

CONS: we paid €50/ 195MYR a NIGHT in low season.
Breakfast(toast&juice) is included, but eggs or ham are not?! So not worth getting up for at all.
The rooms are old and and a bit bleak (but clean). I would describe them as 'ghetto'.
Bathroom is only just acceptable.
The hotel is run down and needs to be repainted and updated.
And the noise from the side street restaurant opposite goes on till about 4am.
If the room was less than half of what we paid a night then it would have been an acceptable place to stay unfortunately it was the most expensive room I've stayed in travelling Asia for 4 months and not in my top 20 of 26 rooms I've stayed in, so for this I had to give 1 star. Found amazing luxury Hotel in kuala lumpur for a 3rd of the price: sentral hotel puda.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misskingable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#32 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Garden Inn
Garden Inn
#55 of 77 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#49 of 77 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
G Times Inn
G Times Inn
#48 of 77 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#30 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#25 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mingood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mingood

Property: Hotel Mingood
Address: Hotel Mingood Jalan Argyll, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 77 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mingood 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, stylish hostel living at the most affordable price! 5 star quality hostel! Located just a 2 minute walk to the chic area of the city! We are a licensed accommodation provider where secure quality accommodation and excellent services are our top priority. Free WI-FI, ISIC card welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Mingood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingood Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Mingood Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing