We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
57
22
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
22
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslove lanelocal breakfastboutique hotelhome away from homeheritage areahotel is beautifulwithin easy walking distanceeach morningchulia streetnight staystrategic locationstreet artoliapomsuitefurnitureshophouse
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 86 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014

There's heritage hotels...and then there's You Le Yuen! Firstly, the fact that there's only 4 rooms is amazing and gorgeous as it keeps the 'traffic' in the hotel to a minimum, private and just very intimate. It becomes your home away from home. Couple that with location and the beauty of the place as well...it is truly mind blowing.

The service from both the chef and young entrepreneur See Kit...is the added icing on the cake as they are both very friendly, very helpful and See Kit is a world of information on his own who will see you safely to your next destination, give you the best eateries to go to and the best local shops to get a bargain from.

There truly is perfection in this world. It's called You Le Yuen!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank vavaxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Stumbled upon YLY...when searching for a quick get away! I understand that it opened in Feb on Love Lane, Penang and my friends and I just had a wonderful time. Simply put it....it is home away from home very private and quiet. An absolutely beautiful plc if u want to experience the heritage set up!! The room is spacious, clean and just very quint! The manager, Kit is just very helpful! They hv a private chef if u don't feel like going anywhere and just stay in....like my friends and I! But must tell them in advance so they can plan the menu for u. The food is simply delicious! Must try the muscle soup and duck curry!! Never had that before and I was impressed! I will definitely go bck again!! Everything else is just walking distance away if u want to grab a late night bite or just a drink. It was just simply great!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank CaroleTGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This B&B boutique is pretty new, and you feel like that you are back to your "home". Also The B&B owner and chef are also very sweet and warm, and I could have good time with them.

As for the location, it is pretty good for shopping, food and sightseeing. George Town has been officially designated as World Heritage Site, so there are lots of things to see, and just walking around the B&B is quite interesting.

As for the meal, if you like spicy food, I am pretty sure you can enjoy.

Everytime I am staying regular hotel when I come to Penang, but I thought "homelike" place is also nice. Am pretty sure I will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hakiko_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Prendre une chambre avec une vraie vue
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews